We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A marvellous hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suite Hotel Eden Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Ranked #8 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A marvellous hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We've just had our third holiday at the Eden Mar and we had a fanastic time. We had five meals in the hotel's Med and Basilico restaurants (there are 4 to choose from) and they were excellent - delicious and well cooked. All of the the staff are helpful and friendly. The hotel is extremely clean and well-maintained. The gardens are magnificent - a free garden tour is available and well-worth attending. It's also worth going on the kitchen tour (fascinating), and the free Madeira wine tasting is a must! The facilities in the room are great. We had a junior suite which has two interconnecting rooms (a bedroom and a sitting room with kitchen area) as well as a bathroom and balcony - in the kitchen there is a fridge, microwave, two ring hob, sink with all cutlery, pots and pans - so we made a few light meals of our own and ate on the balcony with a lovely view over the gardens and out to sea. The large supermarket located in the basement of the hotel is very handy (don't worry - it's not part of the hotel and you don't know it's there until you discover where it is). The hotel has four pools two of which are indoors and heated with spa pools close by. In fact the hotel is part of a larger complex with a huge range of bars and facilities on offer - it tales a few days to realise just how much there is! Eden Mar guests are free to use all of the facilities. We enjoyed the evening entertainment which was mainly Madeiran groups and performers with dancing available on some evenings -not at all loud or obtrusive - but there were some talented people amongst those we saw. Jarkko manages all of this with a real hands on approach and he deserves a special mention for his enthusiasm. The receptionists too were very friendly and helpful. Very hard to find fault with anything. And I haven't even mentioned how amazing the island of Madeira is .....

Room Tip: High rooms have a more extensive view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for your stay at Eden Mar and for such a positive review shared with so many other holiday makers.

Sincerely hope to meet you in a future visit to Madeira,

Best regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,005
    265
    28
    7
    3
See reviews for
224
898
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

THis is our 9th stay at the Eden Mar and every holiday is excellent ,the staff are great ,we had a lovely room 1431 what a view . We always go for two weeks b&b but we also eat in the hotel sum nights as you can get a good deal three nights or five nights .

Room Tip: Any room from 1315 to 1331 on any floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ronald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your 9th visit to Eden Mar hotel and for “another great holiday” review shred with so many other holiday makers…Muito Obrigado!

Looking forward to welcome you back on the 10th visit to our property and I will be most pleased to assist you on anything you might need.

Best regards,
. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a week at the Eden Mar having stayed at the adjacent property last year.
Hard to fault the overall service and value for money. Stayed on a b&b basis so we could try local other eateries which we did. That said due to a bit of inclement weather we ate in 2 of the hotels a la carte restaurants, the med and the alfama, both great, the clams in the latter were to die for.

Book here, you can't be disappointed, even when the weather didn't play ball...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank m8oro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on tripadvisor about your stay at Eden Mar. Sorry about the weather, but as you mention even with some rain you can enjoy yourself in Madeira.

Sincerely hope to welcome you soon and if possible with some more sun!

Best regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Just returned from Madeira were we stayed at the Eden Mar complex. The hotel was spotless and kept to a very high standard as were the rooms. We had an excellent room (1533) with a partial view of the sea and a good sized balcony. The service at all times was first class from all the waiting staff in every area of the hotel. We did feel that a little more time taken at check-in to tell us about all the facilities that were available throughout the complex would have helped. However, the excellent Thompson rep (Kati) did take care of this the next morning.
Unfortunately, my wife did catch the dreaded Norovirus in the midle of the first week which resulted in a doctor being called to prescribe medication to allow us to return home to the UK.
Apart from this we found the hotel and location excellent and would recommend the Eden Mar complex to anyone traveling to the lovely Madeira.

Room Tip: High floor, sea view and not above car park at rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all I regret that for your wife illness. Hope she is now fully recovered.

Many thanks for your feedback about your stay and happy to know that overall you had a positive holiday experience.

Sincerely hope to welcome you soon,

Best regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Having been a regular visitor to Maderia since 1990 we feel we are able to compare this hotel and apartments with those we have stayed in on previous visits.

When we were staying at the 5 star hotels that are in the vacinity we were always doubtful about stopping in a 4 star hotel.

We have now stayed in this hotel twice and we can say without reservation that we seriously underestimated the hotel and its facilities. We do not know how the hotel rating system works and can only say that the Porto Mar/Eden Mar hotels, in our opinion, deserve a 5 star grading.

The staff, decor and food are all excellant and cannot be faulted. We have never stayed in a hotel where the grounds and pools are so sypathetically laid out which gives an air of calmness and relaxation and because of the spaciousness of the faciliities you never get the impression that the hotel is full, which it was on our last visit. We would like to add that the facilities are second to none.

Although we only returned in May from our first holiday at the Eden Mar we booked to return in September and we have now booked to return in January 2013. I do not believe any hotel could get a better recommendation.

Room Tip: The suites numbered 1541,1441 and 1341 all have very large balconies. The junior suites all have tel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1946monroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all many thanks for your support by staying in our property and for such a positive feedback shared on tripadvisor.

I am really happy to learn that you have enjoyed your holiday stay with us and I will be most pleased to assist you on anything you need for future visits.

Best regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.E. England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Visited the Eden Mar for one week commencing 8th October. Our first ever visit to Madeira. We chose half board in a superior room, emailed our request for high floor, and were not disappointed. Huge lovely room on 5th floor, which we could not fault. The staff at both the Eden Mar and the Porta Mar(where we ate dinner every night) were delightful, genuinely friendly and very professional. The food was of a consistently high standard, and again could never be faulted. Sorrounding gardens in the entire complex were stunning and extremely well kept. Pools - lovely. Sunbeds plentiful, including sunshades. We especially loved the wicker sunbeds on the grassed area overlooking the promenade, very relaxing and peaceful. Ten out of ten for everything, and eleven out of ten for the food! :o)) Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 1531 Superior Room is huge with very large balcony which gets the sun ALL day. View of the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JimJoyceN_E_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Sirs,

Really happy to know that you “loved it” and thank you for sharing it on tripadvisor.

My chefs team will be most pleased to read your thoughts about the food.. OBRIGADO.

Looking forward to welcome you on a future visit to Madeira,


Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yatton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
296 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have recently returned home from an 11 night break at Eden Mar, and if I could have mark out of 10 it would score 9+.
Situation and Welcome. Slap bang in the 'hotel zone', therefore well sited for the promenade, lots of restaurants (a number of which I have commented on), shops, tour outlets and the like, being about one mile (say a 20 minute walk) from Funchal centre. Lots of eye contact and smiles from the friendly and knowledgable reception staff.
Suite. We stayed in Room 1135, a 'superior' suite overlooking the Eden Mar gardens and outside dining area. Reasonably roomy, with a pleasant balcony, flooded with light in the mornings and kept immaculately clean by our maid. Useful small 'kitchenette' with fridge, hot plates, and basic crockery and cutlery.
The Hotel. Part of, and next door to, the Porto Mare (slightly posher than Eden Mar) which is, in turn, next door to the third arm, The Residence - a timeshare operation. The Eden Mar and Porto Mare share the same gardens, pools, restaurants, bars, on-site gift shops and other facilities. As it's such a large complex, it's well worth while listening to your receptionist when you first arrive to 'get a handle' on the extent of the 'estate', then to orientate yourself at an early stage with the map you are given.
Gardens. Extensive and superb. The hotel are very proud of their gardens, and there are weekly trips around them, with trees, cacti and flowers from all over the world.
Facilities. Comprehensive. Indoor and outdoor pools...Numerous sunlounger areas (with no towels on the lounger reserving allowed)...Poolside bar...Bars...Indoor and outdoor restaurants...Gift Shops...Wine store...Themed evenings...Visiting musicians...the list goes on.
What could be improved? Very very little, but I think the managament are missing a trick or two with the bars. (1) One evening my wife and I dropped off at one of the bars for cocktails before venturing out for a meal. There was no atmosphere and service was slow. However, we'd have been happy to stay for two (prices are OK) but before I could ask I was presented with the bill to sign! I did, and we left. (2) The poolside bar staff keep the sunlounger tables clear by removing empty glasses and generally tidying up as they go along. Fair enough, but why wasn't I asked if I'd like another beer at the same time? 9 timesout of 10 I would! Nil cost to the hotel (the staff are on duty anyway) but increased sales for the bar. .
This was our first time on Madeira, but it won't be our last. It is a delightful island with superb scenery and lots to do and see. Wherever we went (and we did three trips out and walked round Funchal a lot) the locals were smiling and friendly. Last but not least, it somehow seems to have missed out completely on the stag and hen brigade and the crowds of young, same sex holiday makers. The Tourist Board have obviously found a niche which works for them. Long may it continue to prosper, We'll be back - to both Madeira and Eden Mar.

Room Tip: We stayed on B & B terms and had breakfast in the Porto Mare restaurant, it catches more morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Sirs,


Many thanks for your feedback about your holiday at Eden Mar hotel. Thank you also for the constructive way you pointed the bar service issues that will be taken in consideration and presented for discussion to my F&B team.

I really hope to welcome you on your second visit and be pleased to assist you on anything you might need.

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,922 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,668 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#11 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Hotel Eden Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Hotel Eden Mar

Property: Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Address: Rua Gorgulho 2 | Porto Bay, Funchal, Madeira 9004-537, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Hotel Eden Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divided into studios, superior studios, junior suites and suites, this four star hotel's 146 spacious rooms have been redecorated with textiles in warm pastel colours, completely new furniture and LCD televisions. The kitchenettes have been completely renovated and are equipped with a stove, fridge and microwave oven. The Suite Hotel Eden Mar belongs to the Vila Porto Mare resort, and shares facilities which are also common to other outlets – Hotel Porto Mare and The Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Suite Hotel Eden Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Hotel Funchal
Eden Mar Madeira
Suite Hotel Eden Mar Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing