We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another excellent visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suite Hotel Eden Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Ranked #8 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Another excellent visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

This is the second time this year that we have stayed for two weeks and cant wait to return again.It really is like a home from home with friendly staff and wonderful service.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keijan30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,005
    265
    28
    7
    3
See reviews for
224
898
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

We booked one of the large suites as it offered 'ample veranda with view over the Atlantic Ocean' according to the website. We paid a hefty supplement for this suite. It turned out there are only six of these extra large suites and they start on the ground floor. We were allocated ground floor suite 1041. The windowless very dark corridor leading to it made me feel as if I was underground - it was so dark we couldn't see to get the key in the door. Inside the suite was very good until we opened the curtains and stepped outside. The 'ample veranda' was barely 6 feet wide, cramped in to the space were two sunbeds and a small table and 2 chairs, this left barely room to move. We looked out over rows of sunbeds, one row was directly in front of our veranda so it was noisy all day, it was also the cut through from Eden Mar to the next door hotel so people were passing by from early morning to late at night. We felt we had no peace or privacy. We had to keep our curtains closed which made the suite very dark and depressing. The sea view was a 'Fawlty Towers' sea view - if I stood on a chair I could just see it.
We would have put all this down to the luck of the draw if we'd been in a basic room but to have paid so much extra for this suite we felt conned.

After complaining at reception and also to the Thomson rep we were moved after 3 days to Suite 1241. The difference was unbelievable - huge veranda-wonderful sea view-complete peace and privacy, everything we expected for our money. I can't believe they charge the same price for 1041 and I feel it should be pointed out when booking that the lower 2 suites have far inferior outside space.
I have to say that the rest of the hotel complex is excellent - we were on a B&B basis as we planned to eat out at night in local restaurants but after dinner our first night in the hotel we ate at the hotel every night, the variety and quality of the food was superb.

I have to say if we'd been in suite 1241 or above from the start I would give this hotel top marks but sadly our first 3 days were such a let down.

Many reviewers mention getting special treatment for birthdays and wedding anniversaries. The reason for our visit was our 39th wedding anniversary and the hotel were aware of this but we didn't get any special treatment.

Having said all that if we ever returned to Madeira we would consider this hotel but we'd make very sure we were on a high floor.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank amber49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

This was our first time in Madeira. The Eden Mar is a lovely hotel: we stayed in a standard room on the third floor, which had a nice view of the pool, garden and sea. The room was clean and spacious with a small, but well equipped kitchen area. We were B&B and the breakfast was more than adequate with a good selection of fruit, meats and cheese, hot traditional type fare and pastries. The hotel complex has a courtesy bus to the town of Funchal, which is very handy after a long day wandering around the town! We could use the whole Porto Bay hotel complex which includes 5 pools, gym, spa, restaurants and gardens. Hotel entertainment and activities changed on a daily basis and we picked up a "What's On" hotel newsheet every morning at breakfast. We didn't eat any evening meals at the hotel, but prefered to try other restuarants. We did try the Old Town for dinner, but had a look at prices etc earlier in the day to avoid being "commandeered" into them! For a cheap and cheerful meal try Pingo Doce supermarket near Four Views Monumental Hotel: you pay per weight of the food you choose - they weigh your plate!
It's well worth doing some trips on Madeira but we did think the toboggan ride at Monte was overpriced and over-rated. The scenery is absolutely stunning and it's amazing how they have fitted in all the roads and tunnels. A visit to the market in Funchal is a must - especially the fish hall downstairs, where you can see them preparing the famous espada fish. The Eden Mar is a great central location to holiday from and the staff are very friendly and helpful. They never ceased to amaze us as they slipped from English to German to Potuguese with ease! A lovely place to spend a relaxing two weeks!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank smartie38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your review about your first holidays in Madeira. I am really happy that you had a good time and hopefully give us the opportunity to welcome you on a second visit.


With best regards,

Muito Obrigado

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanarkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

My husband and I have just returned with friends to the Eden Mar. It was our first time in Funchal . I sent an email to the hotel to let them know that it was both our silver wedding anniversaries and also to request a high floor as we both booked a junior suite. Unfortunately we didn't get any of them. We were on the 2nd so we had a little sea view to say the least.
I cant fault the hotel everything about it was lovely. The pool side bar for lunch was a bit expensive. If you go out the front of the hotel take a right go downstairs and you will find the barracuda cafe next to the jewllers.The guy that owns it is called Deano and he will look after everything you need and great value for money.
We were on BB so we had to do the trial and error routine. I would stay away from the Grannys house at the top of the road what a rip off don't be fooled by the lovely man outside that tempts you in like we did !! Run a mile its awful, and was very expensive. Also the Indian outside the hotel we should have known when there was no one in it.
The best restaurant we found was across from the Melia Madeira Mare it was called Petiscos and also the Indian at the top of the hill called Sabor da India which is number 8 on trip advisor.
We did walk into Funchal on our 2nd night what a disappointment and whoever said it takes 20 mins to walk they must have been on a skate board.
We got a taxi the 2nd week got off at the Fort and headed for the strip of restaurants well never again it was shocking getting hasstle right left and centre trying to lure us in to everyone. we coudn't even look at prices as they were pouncing on all of us, we eventually ran for cover and found a fantastic one up some side street, cant remember the name as we were all in shock from our great escape. That was and will be our last time in the cente of Funchal. We were quite happy sticking around the Eden Mar area so if we come back we will know from now on where to eat I must say !!!!!
The Hotel is one of the best iv'e been in and will go back , and will know where to eat next time.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cgm1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for the review about your first visit to Funchal.
We are glad to know that overall you had a positive holiday experience and it is good to know that you consider a second trip to our island.

Hope to welcome you in a near future and please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any special arrangements you might need as it seems we were not 100% effective on the requests made.

With best regards,
Muito obrigado,

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

We have just returned home after our fourth holiday in Eden Mar and our ninth trip to Madeira.The hotel rooms have recently been refurbished to a very high standard with well equipped facilities for preparing snacks (2 plate hob and microwave oven) and air-conditioning that is flexible and quiet. This was important this September as it was unusually for this month. The staff are friendly and welcoming and always helpful. There are plenty of reasonably priced places to eat near by, in addition to the very good restaurants in the hotel. There is also a very good 'Pingo Doce' supermarket just below the hotel. We particularly enjoyed the range of swimming pools available set in the beautiful extensive tropical gardens that suuound the whole complex. We will certainly be back for more.

Room Tip: Higher floors have best views .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank douglas m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Dear Guest,

First off all thank you for the loyalty to Madeira Island and to our hotel in particular.

Secondly also thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor your opinion about the Eden Mar hotel and its facilities.

I really hope to meet you on the 10th visit to Funchal.

With best regards,
Muito obrigado,

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

having just spend a week at this hotel complex it was without doubt the best hotel we have ever stayed in. From initial reception who were polite and attentive, cleaning maids, bar resturant and pool staff could not do enough for you. The quality of food was outstanding and facilities throughout the complex were excellent. The gardens were outstanding and the location of this hotel was perfect. Will definately return. Just one small point could do with more w.c. around the pool area has you had a long walk to use the conveniences and there was only two toilets. The courtesy bus into funchal was well organised. Normally when you have entertainment in hotels its not normally very good, but we found it very professional. Its a pity we have already book out holidays for next year otherwise we would be returning again here. Looking forward to going again. I will just like to point out from what a previous review as said. The restaurant staff at the Altantia we could not fault them as soon as you had finished your meal they were there to take your dirty plates away all the time.

Room Tip: all rooms faced the sea which was a definate plus
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trish042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Thank you for your kind review about your holidays in Eden Mar hotel and to let us know that you enjoyed the time you spent with us.

The “negative point” raised it is a valid comment as we have already planned to built a toilet near the pool area.

Also thank you for the comments about the service that I will proudly share with my team.

Hope to meet you in a future visit to Madeira.

With best regards,

Muito obrigado,

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

After reading the reviews were very optimistic whether the hotel stood up to the high standard provided - did not need to worry!!

Staff were extremely helpful and polite. Hotel was a place to be able to relax however, within easy distance to Funchal and the harbour either by walking (approx. 30 mins) or alternatively by taxi (remember to check meter is on beforehand).

Room was a Junior Suite with ample space and a kitchenette - only item I would change are the chairs felt these were uncomfortable and not in style with the hotel.

Smoking is not permitted within the actual building however, one slight word of warning people are able to smoke on their balconies - not segragated into non-smoking/or smoking wings.

Excursions only went on two as wished to chill around the pool this holiday. Went on the Catamaran for 1/2 day and saw some dolphins (fantastic) and swam in the sea. The Nuns Valley tour as a further 1/2 day, only thing to note on this excursion is when you visit the souvenir shop on your first stop take care to note the price as we did pay 5 euros more ...

Would definately return to this lovely island of Madeira and stay within the Eden Mar.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda070311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Dear Sirs,

Many thanks for the trouble of sending us your feedback through TripAdvisor and happy to learn that you had a positive holiday experience.

It is also rewarding to know that you are thinking about a second visit so thank you for that and I sincerely hope to welcome you soon.

With best regards,

Muito obrigado,

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,673 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,926 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#11 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Hotel Eden Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Hotel Eden Mar

Property: Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Address: Rua Gorgulho 2 | Porto Bay, Funchal, Madeira 9004-537, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#10 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Hotel Eden Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divided into studios, superior studios, junior suites and suites, this four star hotel's 146 spacious rooms have been redecorated with textiles in warm pastel colours, completely new furniture and LCD televisions. The kitchenettes have been completely renovated and are equipped with a stove, fridge and microwave oven. The Suite Hotel Eden Mar belongs to the Vila Porto Mare resort, and shares facilities which are also common to other outlets – Hotel Porto Mare and The Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Suite Hotel Eden Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Hotel Funchal
Eden Mar Madeira
Suite Hotel Eden Mar Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing