We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Ranked #3 of 85 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“The best”
Reviewed January 17, 2011

stayed at the cliff bay for my usual week in january.the hotel was up to its usual standards food excellent rooms and facilities fine spa and other similar items great.other people have went at length on how good it is and they are not wrong. its standards of service etc i dont think can be bettered but the impression i get over the years is that they are trying to do even better and i think they are even better than on my first visit.The staff are i think the real secret of the cliff bay the food accomodation etc are excellent but the staff are i think certainly the best in Madeira and maybye Europe. it is hard to pick out who excels the most the bar staff the restuarant people the ladies on reception and the rest of this great team.however i think Paula in the Rose garden is worth mention and also jan the general manager who makes sure everything runs well.i hope to return to the cliff bay in late sept all going well and no doubt the hotel will be still as good. I should also say the weather was great the best i have had in madeira for a long time and hope the weather in the summer is as good.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbarclay44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, January 26, 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your holidays with us. We always try to keep our hotel up to standards and search for ways for our hotel operation to be further improved through innovation. We are enormously proud of our staff members that do their very best to excel in guest satisfaction. I thank you for your kind words and will ensure that Paula Andrade will receive her much deserved praise. We very much look forward to welcome you back in September where I am sure you will have another memorable stay in Madeira.
With kindest regards,
Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,386
    303
    66
    10
    6
See reviews for
322
2,061
81
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,040)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2011

The staff were very friendly and attentive- nothing was too much trouble. We had a superior room on the 7th floor - well worth apying the extra for.The room was outstanding - a wonderful bathroom, excellent facilities and a great sea view. The furnishings throughout the hotel were of excellent quality and design, and there were plenty of places to relax in comfort. The New Year Gala Dinner was absolutely superb as were the other meals - hardly surprising as the hotel boasts a 1 star Michelin chef.
Can't wait to return !

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poole1932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, January 17, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent holidays and that you appreciated our staff and the services offered. You made a nice room choice as our superior rooms are located on the top floors of the hotel with great sea view. The New Year’s Eve and the gala meal is a special moment where we serve all residents in gala environment. Our team of chef’s under supervision of Benoit Sinthon together with the team of service staff under supervision of Luciano Marques do their very best to make the evening a most memorable experience.
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in a near future.

With kindest regards,
Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
66 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

We arrived just in time for the Gala Dinner and fireworks on Hogmanay and had a fabulous evening. The service is every bit as good as it was on our last visit 12 years ago. We love the welcoming ambience and the well-maintained grounds and excellent spa area. The rooms are very comfortable and the staff went out of their way to ensure that we had a lovely time. I slipped and injured my knee at the swimming pool the day before we were due to fly home and we could not fault the attention we received from the staff and management and our Sovereign rep. We won't leave it so long before our next visit. On another note we thoroughly enjoyed seeing all the spell-binding Christmas lights in Funchal and thought the Christmas lights evening tour was very worthwhile.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayHarriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, January 14, 2011
Thank you for your travel feedback. I am glad to hear that we managed to correspond to your expectations. I am glad that your misfortune did not ruin your holidays and I do hope that your knee is already much better. I very much look forward to welcome you back during any of the many beautiful periods in Madeira.
With kindest regards,
Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Cliff Bay for a week over the New Year. The rooms are comfortable with gorgeous views; the restaurants serve high quality food with excellent service, and the public rooms, bars, and outside seating areas are great, with very comfortable seating, especially nice in the Navigator Lounge with views over the sea and towards Funchal. The spa was super and again the loungers in the spa area and around the two swimming pools were extremely comfortable.

One special highlight for us was the marvellous New Years Eve Gala Dinner which was spectacular with beautifully decorated tables, excellent live music, wonderful food served so graciously with plentiful supply of wines and finally champagne on the terrace overlooking the fireworks at midnight. It was as if the hotel and their staff had sprinkled magic dust over the whole evening.

Special thanks to Carla, head of reception for her help with one aspect of our stay, which was very much appreciated.

This was our first stay at the Cliff Bay, and just like so many others, we are very much looking forward to returning very soon.

We took a guided coach tour of the eastern side of the island organised through our Sovereign rep, which included a short levada walk and lunch and a number of interesting stops at local villages. It was made especially enjoyable by the superb commentary and company of our charming guide Jacqueline and her considerate coach driver.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Menorcafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, January 12, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay of New Year. This is a fantastic period in the island where a lot of activities are crowned by the New Year’s firework. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our services and facilities and that our much appreciated Front Office Manager Carla Bacanhim was able to assist is such satisfactory way.
I hope of the pleasure to welcome you back again in a near future.
With kindest regards,
Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

We have just spent our fifth Christmas in Madeira, and our fourth in the Cliff Bay ….and it did not disappoint! As usual, it was like coming home to meet with old friends, in a very familiar location. Even arriving at 1 a.m., thanks to British weather.
Although tired, it must have been one of the best night’s sleep for a long time, in the huge bed.
Next day we were greeted by our Thomson rep, Jayne, who went out of her way to be helpful, although we were “old hands” at the Madeira holiday, she offered help in anything we needed or wanted.
Tuesday was a wild weather day, with high winds and rain squalls (but warm?), but from then on, it was good weather all the way for our Christmas week. Just being able to sit out on a pavement café at 10:30 p.m. without a jacket, made freezing UK seem far away.
It is also very good to see how the Madeirans have recovered from the terrible floods and mud slides from earlier in the year.
One small negative, was one of the new tours on offer from Thomson. It was called Magnificent Vistas (or something like that), but did not live up to its reputation. Otherwise, all of the normal activities in Funchal; the dancing, singing, brass bands and everything which makes the traditional Christmas week in Madeira, were there in abundance.
Cliff Bay was surprisingly quiet at the start of the week, but later many old friends returned, and it became a very friendly reunion.
I only wish we had stayed for New Year, as we did last year …but there is always next year!
Well done Cliff Bay management and staff, for making our holiday excellent …as usual.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, January 12, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to hear that we once again managed to correspond to your expectations. Christmas is a beautiful time in Madeira and the mild Madeiran weather is certainly a bonus. The city is dressed-up for Christmas with a special atmosphere. Your kind comments will be forwarded to our staff.
Hoping to welcome you back during 2011.
With kindest regards,
Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
204 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Stayed at the Cliff Bay for a week over the New Year, the biggest complement I can make is that I am a seasoned traveller, who never repeats a holiday. Well, with the Cliff Bay, that will now be broken and I look forward to returning in 2011. Staff and hotel are wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank curlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, January 5, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. I am delighted to hear that we managed to correspond to your expectations. The Christmas and New Year period is a magical period in Madeira we many beautiful tradtions.
I very much look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back during 2011.

With kindest regards,
Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2010

Just returned after a six day stay at this very special place.The location,the quality of food and accomodation were in my view all outstanding as too was the service from everyone who works there from the General Manmager down to the cleaners.Nothing was too much trouble and every day was a further delight.The Xmas Eve Gala Dinner was fantastic with great food and a constant flow of delectable wines.The weather was not that great but the poor weather kept us in the Hotel to enjoy more of the facilities and to further partake of the magnificent indoor/outdoor pool and the terrific spa.
There is not one single issue that I am critical of but I would have been most happy if an Ice Machine was available on the floor rather than have to ask via the reception.The reception staff,every single one of them,were most attentive and determined to provide satisfaction to all of our needs.My wife and I are global travellers and we agree that the reception performance was faultless and some of the girls absolutely beautiful.
We will return possibly in the summer but most definitely will return next year for Xmas and the New Year.
It was a most pleasent surprise to be issued with a Prestige Club card on departure that will secure some advantages on future visits.
A special mention is made of Jan Ringertz,General Manager,who would bend over backwards for us which helped to make our stay so very memorable.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chigwell2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, January 1, 2011
Thank you for your kind feedback here at Tripadvisor. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your recent holiday with us. Christmas and New Year is a fantastic period with much symbolism as it is a festive holidays. Our hotel changes quite a lot due to Christmas decorations. Our two gala dinners are very special moments in the hotel. The Cliff Bay offers great facilities even if there would come a rainy or cloudy day. It is with pride that I represent o hotel like The Cliff Bay and manage a team of very dedicated hospitality workers that do their very best every day to offer service excellence from the heart.
Wishing you and tripadvisor users a Happy New Year and a fantastic year 2011 when I look forward to welcome you back again.
With kindest regards,
Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.5 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 85 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 85 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Cliff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Cliff Bay

Property: Hotel The Cliff Bay
Address: Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#3 Business Hotel in Funchal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel The Cliff Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Ocean stretches as far as the eye can see at the foot of The Cliff Bay which is perched on the top of a natural promontory. The hotel is surrounded by gardens with innumerable secluded corners and centenary palm trees extending to the very edge of the cliff face. The panorama is completed by a magnificent view over the bay of Funchal to the left of the hotel.The most influential restaurant guide in the world, the Michelin Guide, has awarded a star to Il Gallo d'Oro, The Cliff Bay's gourmet restaurant run by Chef Benoît Sinthon. This is Madeira's first and only star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel The Cliff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Bay - Porto Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Porto Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Madeira
Hotel The Cliff Bay Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing