We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Funchal
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,765)
Filter reviews
3,765 results
Traveler rating
3,233
412
96
17
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,233
412
96
17
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rose garden il gallo michelin star restaurant pollo funchal view le cliff bar sea level pool staff top floor wonderful hotel sea water returning guests nothing is too much trouble sea view room every member of staff third visit spa area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 3,765 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We’ve been going for almost 30 years. That sounds pretty boring and might put some people off but we go because this is a great hotel and never rests on its laurels, constantly seeking to maintain and improve an already sky high level of performance. Totally faultless.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BILL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCliffBayTeam, The Cliff Bay Team at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the time you spent giving us your opinion of your experience at our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

The Cliff Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is the best we've stayed in, it ticks all the boxes as far as we're concerned.
All staff are polite, helpful & attentive to your needs.
From the time of arrival to the end of our stay, we felt completely relaxed, knowing that every detail is covered.
We required an upgrade to a better room, (although they're all good), & the lady sorted this out within 10 minutes, even though they were obviously nearly full.
We couldn't think of anything that needed altering, even the weather was better than expected for that time of year!
We've booked again for next year.

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank Adventurer91857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCliffBayTeam, The Cliff Bay Team at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for choosing our hotel. Your opinion is very important to us - thank you for sharing it. We are very pleased to hear that our hotel and team were able to meet your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again.

Regards,

The Cliff Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is in a beautiful setting on the cliff edge with lots of bathing area's and plenty of sunbeds and brolly's looking out to sea. It is spotlessly clean throughout with lovely flower arrangements in public area's. Breakfast is very good with plenty of choice. We stayed in a room looking out to sea and over Funchal, well worth the extra charge. The staff were all friendly and efficient, nothing too much trouble for them making for a perfect holiday. Will definately return here

Room tip: Funchal view
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sue m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCliffBayTeam, The Cliff Bay Team at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Cliff Bay hotel for your stay. We were very pleased to read your message about our hotel and team.

Yours faithfully,

The Cliff Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2019

This was our 7 th stay at Cliff Bay and again it never fails. The staff are superb. The good is superb and the hotel itself is worth every star,. We celebrated our wedding anniversary while we were there and the staff made it so special. Long may we continue to stay there.

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank Fairygodmother123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCliffBayTeam, The Cliff Bay Team at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Cliff Bay hotel for your stay once again. Your comments are very valuable for us and for our future guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2019

Just returned from our annual stay at the Cliff Bay Hotel.
It was amazing once again, and the hotel continues to stay at the top of its game.
We stayed for three weeks this year and enjoyed every minute.
The staff are absolutely wonderful and are a credit to the Cliff Bay, many of whom have been there for years.
Once again the food was wonderful and we had three meals in Ill Gallo D'oro restaurant all of which were memorable.
Breakfast buffet was plentiful and set us up for the day.
Rooms are very large and a turn down service is offered in the evening. Spotless every day by housekeeping.
Lovely pool areas and the pool staff are helpful in putting up and moving umbrellas about. Good service for coffee/drinkies during the day.
Speaks volumes when they have such a huge number of return guests every year.
Restaurant staff are knowledgeable and courteous.
We booked for next year during our stay.
Cannot recommend highly enough.
Simply the best hotel we have ever visited.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCliffBayTeam, The Cliff Bay Team at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good afternoon,

Thank you for sharing your experience here. We are sure this will help many other guests to choose this hotel for a future stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

The Cliff Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews