We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Ranked #4 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Thames Ditton
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“First class”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

First time we had stayed at the Cliff Bay - as Resident Owners at the Porto Mare, we had called in there on our shared coach down town & thought it looked nice..it was excellent. We paid a little extra for a sea/harbour room view which was lovely (except for the big palm tree right outside!).
Breakfast on the terrace was great, the heated seawater pool at sea level was lovely and the fish buffet night on Friday was magnificent.
The general service & comfort was excellent and we will always recommend this hotel to our friends but for us, if we had to choose, we would actually prefer to stay at it's sister hotel, the Porto Mare.

Room Tip: Pay that little extra for a room that faces both the sea & Funchal, as high up as you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,454
    316
    71
    10
    6
See reviews for
331
2,132
82
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,074)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
south shields
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

having not stayed at the reids palace hotel yet (but may i add my wife and i had a good look around the place whilst in madeira) i would say this hotel and the cliff bay are on a different level to the rest.
the cliff bay in a word is superb,the staff are magnificent,food excellent,rooms spacious and extremely comfortable,sea views from our balcony especially on an evening fantastic,but by far the best asset the hotel has is its totally relaxing laid back atmosphere and the staff especially the sun lounger attendants around the pools,nothing was too much trouble.
Funchal (A pleasant twenty minute walk downhill from the hotel) is a charming and beautiful harbour town with lots of restaurants and bars and shops for all .
already in the process of booking for next year,can't wait

Room Tip: sea view rooms are superb , levels 6 to 9. well worth paying the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigkev2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

This was our 3rd time of staying at the cliff bay. And we weren't disappointed. The hotel was just had we had remembered it 3/4 years ago. With a couple,of Improvments. The outside pool area has been extended and a jacuzzi put in and the spa area had also been changed. Both good additions. We travelled with friends this time and they too thought what a lovely,hotel it was. All the staff that we encounter were polite and helpful and very friendly. It is a very quiet hotel but this is what we like about it. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis so ate out each night at local restaurants. The weather was not as hot and sunny as we would have liked but still had a great time. We hope to maybe go back later this year

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank EssexTinaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for 10 days in June 2014 as a treat for our anniversary. On arrival the place looked very nice and check in was a breeze. Upon entering our Junior Suite #308 we noticed that rather than having a king sized bed, there were two doubles made up separately but pushed together. I was unhappy with this and spoke to housekeeping who immediately made it a zip link bed, ask for this if you are one that actually likes sleeping with your partner. The room was great, clean and spacious, with everything we needed. A separate tv in the bedroom and another in the sitting room so the husband could watch the football while I watched other shows. The English speaking channels were limited but in all honesty had more options than most hotels in Europe. Room 308 was a junior suite which looked out over the bay and Funchal. Great view even on the 3rd floor.
The wi fi could use improving, it works throughout most of the hotel but drops out quite often.
The hotel has everything, with many bars and restaurants the we could have quite happily not even have had to leave the hotel.
We had dinner at the Rose Garden on our first night there and it was a lovely buffet, with excellent service.
Breakfast in the Il Gallo D'oro was good though for most English the bacon wasn't very crispy but they will quite happily cook it longer for you if you ask.
We had dinner at the Il Gallo D'oro on two occaisions and found the experience well worth the price. The wagyu beef could literally be cut with a fork.
Afternoons at the Blue Lagoon, sharing a club sandwich and a pitcher of sparkling Sangria became our favourite past time after a sprint in the pool and hot tub.
Be sure to ask for a tour of the spa & sauna or you'll miss it, as it's within the spa and most think it is to be booked. There is a secluded hot tub, sauna and Turkish bath downstairs within the spa area that is free for all guests to use.
If you wish to keep the air conditioning on while out, you can insert a Tesco club card or Sainsbury Nectar card, both will do the trick.
Service at reception was impeccable.
The husband had dental problems while there and the staff at reception were wonderful in arranging an appointment for him.
Overall I could not fault the place or the staff, everyone was friendly and couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable. I seriously can not wait to go back.

Room Tip: Use Sainsbury Nectar card or Tesco Club card to keep air con on while out. Get a tour of the Sauna...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poohbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your kind and complete feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and the offer of services and facilities. I am glad that we could assist with your dental situation as sometimes it can be difficult to find the ideal solutions.
I hope to see you soon again in Madeira.
Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex Uk
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

A Short and sweet review, the hotel was superb, the room was fantastic, the food was gorgeous, the pool was delightful and the staff are a credit to the company. Carla on reception never stops smiling or working, she is lovely.

Only downside was the weather wasn't great, but that was hardly the hotel's fault!

First Class service.

Room Tip: Room 221 was the nearest to reception,very quiet and peaceful with a beautiful view of both the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pecanedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I can't remember if this was our 6th or 7th stay at the Cliff Bay because they have all been so great. I am always slightly nervous on arrival that something won't be a good as the previous stay or that for some inexplicable reason we won't enjoy our holiday. Happily that's never happened and each stay is better than the last. Many reviewers criticise the reception staff but we find everyone from reception, restaurants,pool,spa and management staff to be first class for customer service. They all seem to genuinely want every guest to have the best holiday possible.
And we do- every time! Looking forward to next May already.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are well appointed the view is a personal choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kittys64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Just got back from a two week stay and can honestly state that we have never experienced service of such high standard before..ever!Each and every member of staff we came into contact had a ready and genuine smile and always ready to go that extra mile.On completion of the hotels questionnaire we mentioned three as exceptional,but,on reflection,this wasn't fair on the rest..the management should be very proud to have such people working for them.It is a five star hotel which deserves every one!!
Our room overlooking Reid's and Funchal was enormous and very comfortable.One small gripe was the shallowness of the bath and it wasn't the easiest to get in or out of(we are not still in the first bloom of youth!!).Also,we were a wee bit disappointed in the lack of tv channels that we would like to watch.
These are minor complaints as I can think of a better place to stay in Funchal and thoroughly recommend it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view room with views of Funchal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank glennaberdeen_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Spot on…! I am very proud of all our staff members that do their very best to offer guest service excellence.
Regarding the TV channels, the Satellites covering Madeira doesn’t hold British TV channels any longer. This causes difficulties as it is a much appreciated facility.
I hope to see you soon again at The Cliff Bay

Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.5 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 86 in Funchal
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 86 in Funchal
2,039 reviews
0.1 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
0.3 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Cliff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Cliff Bay

Property: Hotel The Cliff Bay
Address: Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#2 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#3 Business Hotel in Funchal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel The Cliff Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Ocean stretches as far as the eye can see at the foot of The Cliff Bay which is perched on the top of a natural promontory. The hotel is surrounded by gardens with innumerable secluded corners and centenary palm trees extending to the very edge of the cliff face. The panorama is completed by a magnificent view over the bay of Funchal to the left of the hotel.The most influential restaurant guide in the world, the Michelin Guide, has awarded a star to Il Gallo d'Oro, The Cliff Bay's gourmet restaurant run by Chef Benoît Sinthon. This is Madeira's first and only star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel The Cliff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Bay - Porto Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Porto Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Madeira
Hotel The Cliff Bay Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing