We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm and elegant retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Ranked #3 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We have visited this hotel 3 times now and will defiantly return again.
Lovely pools and view across the bay, beautiful spa area and good food.
Large well appointed rooms and super public areas with lots of space.

Room Tip: Ask for. Funchal view on the side to hear the sea and see the twinkly lights at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,972)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,370 - 1,376 of 2,972 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is a phenomenal property. It is incredibly beautiful and well maintained. The gardens are a delight, the pools fabulous, and the rooms large and comfortable. We loved our view over the water from the balcony. What really sets this hotel apart is the staff. Everyone we encountered was pleasant and eager to please. We loved our three nights at Cliff Bay. We would not consider staying anywhere else on Madeira Island.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank liveoak33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We have recently returned from a weeks half board stay. You cannot fault this hotel. We went for a superior room with a sea view which was on the 6th floor and well worth paying the extra.
The room was spacious, large comfy bed and pillows. Lovely large private balcony with furniture overlooking the sea and Funchal which was pretty when lit at night.
We were able to take breakfast in the Il Gallo d'oro which was quiet, very relaxing and very enjoyable with the staff were very obliging. We also enjoyed an afternoon tea.
We would definitely return to this hotel though would only return on a bed & breakfast package as we felt, and I am sorry to say, that the evening buffet in The Rose Garden restaurant really let's this hotel down. Every thing was luke warm. The only night the food was ok, just ok, was the meat feast when meat was being carved for you.
We did mention our disappointment to reception on the first night, on the second night we were met by the Maître de who while taking us to our table apologised and said she would bring us a bottle of sparkling wine. This turned out to be a glass each. We would rather have had hot food.
We did look at the a la carte meals but Cauliflower soup with Brussels sprouts petals followed by Iberian pork, chocolate and curry sauce with coconut jelly costing an extra €19 each, just did not appeal. The cauliflower soup was then on offer in the Rose Garden restaurant included in the half board package.
Whilst you expect to pay a premium at a 5 star hotel, a bottle of Chardonnay at dinner cost us over €30 each night which is a little steep.
We certainly do not cut corners when booking holidays and I feel the hotel does warrant the cost, it is a beautiful hotel, plush luxurious surroundings with very pleasant obliging staff. I have to be honest we were bitterly disappointed with the evening meal. We would certainly return but as I said earlier we would give the evening meal a miss!
Reception staff were very nice and gave information for the local buses. We went to Nunn's valley by local bus, straight forward, beautiful scenery, a lovely lunch at Sabores du Curral and the bus ride was about €6 each way, for two of us. Excellent value with buses running on time.
Our weather was not very good but overall we really enjoyed Madeira, make sure you do the cable car, take the toboggan down which only goes half way, taxi's are then waiting for you, €10 in to Funchal, the taxi driver said the bus would cost us €8. We said we would wait for the bus as there was one due in 5 minutes, this was €2 each.
I hate to grumble as this hotel really is lovely and many people are giving good reviews for the food but I have to be honest and speak as I found!!
We will return!!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roypaul2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Have just come back after our 3rd visit to this superb hotel. The position is excellent with fine views of Funchal and it is very handy for the town. Also the hotel runs shuttle buses to and from Funchal throughout the day. One tip - the 10.00 am one gets very crowded so it is best to book the night before.

The hotel is big and spacious and never appears crowded.The rooms are large and very comfortable with a huge bed and all the equipment you could wish for, always very clean and quiet.

The food in the Rose Garden restaurant which is buffet style caters for every possible taste and is extremely good. One tip - if you are booking a meal package beforehand then ask them to reserve you a table as it can get busy

Probably the best feature of the hotel is its staff. They are all incredibly polite, helpful and efficient.

I can thoroughly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Its worth paying the extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AYL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

We stays for 5 amazing days at this beautiful resort. Service was superb, the room amazing ( we were upgraded to a Jr. Suite), we had the biggest and one of the most comfortable beds in all our travels while here, maid service awesome. The spa treatment ( I had the age defying facial) was one of the best facials I ever had. Every amenity you could imagine. Top notch all around. The Porto Bay resort chain knows what they are doing!!
The only concern I might warn travelers about was the age demographic at the resort. While my husband and I are parents, (we are 49 and 52) the vast majority of guests were definitely GRANDparents. Kinda felt like we were staying in a retirement community. Also there was no night life to speak of. Definitely need to go into Funchal or leave the resort for any after dinner activities. We went across the street the the English pub "hole in one" which was a lot of fun with live music and very reasonable prices. Plenty to do around so it really wasn't an obstacle. The sister resort Porto Mare was just a few minutes down the road. Lovely 4 star resort. We stopped in and took a look around and I felt the demographic was more in line with our age group. It was a bit larger, seemed to have a lot more going on. If you are 30-50s I would recoome a Porto Mare. The Cliff Bay is definitely more for those retired.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank LynnmarieLINY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We spent three nights at the Cliff Bay Porto Bay in December and it was a wonderful, beautiful break. The hotel majestically sits over looking the ocean, sitting on the balcony watching the world go by was in itself a most relaxing experience. The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and quiet, no noise from our neighbours, the pool was well maintained and well designed - half indoor, half outsdoord. Because of the landscape the hotel has an outdoor elevator down to the sea level where you can laze away the days and enjoy the island surroundings. Although possible to walk into town, we took a taxi and enjoyed walking around the streets. The hotel offers good dining options but the local area is filled with restaurants of all types and prices. It was a great place for a nice relaxing break and we would definitely return if the opportunity presents itself.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms ocean view may cost a little more but well worth the relation value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank airlinesimulation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Once again my wife, a friend and myself had a holiday at the Cliff Bay which was excellent in all respects. One of the things our friend likes is that although she travels alone she is not pushed away into some small single room but enjoys the same size room as couples. The meal deal in the Rose Garden is excellent value. The staff throughout the hotel are excellent as is the service provided. Since our last visit 2 years ago there is a Bistro which serves excellent food and it is a change from eating in the Rose Garden. Once again a thoroughly enjoyable stay and as we misses out in 2013 we are returning again in August. It was my wife's birthday and our Wedding anniversary while we were there and whilst I had arranged for some flowers to be delivered to the room for our anniversary there were also flowers from the hotel and a cake for my wife's birthday an excellent thought and this helps show the quality of the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea or side sea view.The rooms facing Funchal Bay receive sun in the morning an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GrahamY690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I am glad that you had a nice birthday celebration… where a cake and flowers make it even more special.
I hope to see you soon again.

Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.5 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
0.4 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#8 of 88 in Funchal
2,135 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Cliff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Cliff Bay

Address: Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#2 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#3 Business Hotel in Funchal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $185 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel The Cliff Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Ocean stretches as far as the eye can see at the foot of The Cliff Bay which is perched on the top of a natural promontory. The hotel is surrounded by gardens with innumerable secluded corners and centenary palm trees extending to the very edge of the cliff face. The panorama is completed by a magnificent view over the bay of Funchal to the left of the hotel.The most influential restaurant guide in the world, the Michelin Guide, has awarded a star to Il Gallo d'Oro, The Cliff Bay's gourmet restaurant run by Chef Benoît Sinthon. This is Madeira's first and only star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel The Cliff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Bay - Porto Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Porto Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Madeira
Hotel The Cliff Bay Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing