We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Another perfect holiday at this stunning hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Cliff Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Ranked #3 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Belford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Another perfect holiday at this stunning hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have just returned from another holiday at the cliff bay hotel. This hotel is in a perfect setting, fantastic sea views, beautiful gardens and easy access to the town. The staff go out of their way to make your holiday wonderful, the breakfast is first class and the rooms are sheer luxury, especially when you have a sea view, we sat on the balcony drinking tea watching the world in peace and quiet. We will be visiting again, and again and again.

Room Tip: Have a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank outandabout99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,018
    252
    55
    9
    6
See reviews for
267
1,738
70
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (881)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greater london
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Other reviews tell you how good the hotel is. All the staff are very well trained and those spoken with seem to be proud to be at Cliff Bay. The management look at every detail and try to be the best. We tried to book the IL GALLO D'ORO restaurant for my wife’s special birthday which was fully booked. This was no problem for Roberto the F & B Manager who arranged a private magical evening outside overlooking the bay with our own waiter and it was a gastronomic delight, I won’t say any more it would spoil the surprise.
We booked with Sovereign who provided a courtesy afternoon tea and spar voucher and private cab for transfers. Hint! Book the forte restaurant in Funchal and get collected from the hotel in one of their 3 beautiful old cars for another lovely evening. See my review.

Room Tip: I doubt any rooms suffer from noise, the whole place is very quiet even when the music is on. The be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoodieGreaterlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We visited for afternoon tea. The staff were stunningly helpful and nice. It was raining so offered the Atlantic room to ouselves. Semi circular overlooking the sea. Truly stunning panorama. Each afternoon tea we have had is different and all good in their own way. Offering gluten free was really kind. Good value as well. Really enjoyed the afternoon.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank NickBlaireLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

A hotel for a very relaxing holiday.The entrance was very plain and not awe inspiring but on entering the foyer you were aware of the antique and marble areas on show.Large flower displays were elegant enhancing Madeira's botanical nature.
Our bedroom was high class with top range bedding ,an excellent bathroom and some British channels.However, we were given a bedroom overlooking the hotel's entrance.Poor air conditioning

Breakfast was good with some choice but not the best that we have had in a 5 star hotel.
The pools were adequate and at different levels but the areas to sunbathe were varied ,giving lots of choice with good beds and mattresses.The staff in all areas of the hotel were very helpful but the reception staff seemed to look down their noses at us on occasions(Only one or two).
We did not eat or drink in the hotel as the prices were very high.There are plenty of supermarkets nearby ,so we bought our own to enjoy.
We went on two local bus tours and enjoyed but there is not much to see.
Prices on the island are high but the restaurants we ate at produced high class food.Two of our favourites were"Beef and Wines" and "Olives".Both are about 300yards from the hotel.
If you like shopping ,Madeira is not the place for you.The shops were either rubbishy or high end with prices to match.
The range of flowers on offer were varied and beautiful.Thomson will let you send some home.
We had good weather for the two weeks.Lovely hotel but the island is not for us.
By two welsh ladies.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view. Ask for a high floor as you will have a better view of Funchal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

4th time here and we can't wait to come back next September! The hotel must be doing something right as you see the same people here every time you return! The rooms are so well located either overlooking the gardens or looking out to sea towards Reids palace either way you wouldn't be disappointed. We have always been half board but next time will do bed & breakfast as you do feel abit tied to the hotel,there are so many top restaurant's around it's a shame not to venture out.before I finish up I would like to say how helpful Nicole Faesel was whe we asked to look at the top floor rooms she is an asset to the hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank BobbieTrowbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We booked through a Travel company, but emailed the Hotel for an upgrade to an Upper Floor Room. Quite an expensive upgrade but worth it - 7th Floor - fabulous view and so quiet. There are "Flowers, Fruit and a Bottle of Wine on arrival" for these rooms - thought the "fruit" bit was a bit sparse -One nectarine and One orange! Given the lovely array of fresh fruit for breakfast I thought two pieces each might be nice!!

We did have a slight issue on our first day, but after requesting to speak to the manager, which was arranged within the hour, the issue was resolved in a very professional and satisfactory manner.

The sun-decks are very specious, never a problem of getting a sun-bed. The pools are wonderful, as are the staff.

Slightly disappointed with the fact that the basic menu didn`t change or have specials. There was a difference themed Buffet each evening in the Rose Garden, but the A la Carte remained the same, as did the Le Cliffe.

If we could pick up the Hotel and move it somewhere more interesting we would stay there again, but Madeira was not to our liking - The Marina and front are a building site, the "Hop on Hop Off" bus goes nowhere you would want to "Hop Off", Monte looked unkempt, though the views from the Cable car were lovely ( providing there was no cloud),the road through Porto Bay and else where are manic. Lots of Restaurants, but who wants to sit by a noisy road, and if I`d seen another version of "Scabard Fish" on a Menu I would have screamed!! Not the food capital by any means.

So "Thumbs up" to Cliff Bay Hotel and "Thumbs down" to Madeira - smarten yourself up.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Welshwhitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This will be a short review as I just say excellent a lot! Everything is excellent, rooms, staff, food, ambience, location. We have been three times now and every time has been perfect, in fact we are going again in about 4 weeks.

Just go don't even think twice.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fennyiom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.3 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 709 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#14 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,671 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#8 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Cliff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Cliff Bay

Property: Hotel The Cliff Bay
Address: Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#1 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#3 Business Hotel in Funchal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel The Cliff Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Ocean stretches as far as the eye can see at the foot of The Cliff Bay which is perched on the top of a natural promontory. The hotel is surrounded by gardens with innumerable secluded corners and centenary palm trees extending to the very edge of the cliff face. The panorama is completed by a magnificent view over the bay of Funchal to the left of the hotel.The most influential restaurant guide in the world, the Michelin Guide, has awarded a star to Il Gallo d'Oro, The Cliff Bay's gourmet restaurant run by Chef Benoît Sinthon. This is Madeira's first and only star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel The Cliff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Bay - Porto Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Porto Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Madeira
Hotel The Cliff Bay Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing