We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of Cliff Bay Hotel - excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Ranked #4 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have just returned from a 10 day holiday at the Cliff Bay Hotel in Funchal. It was a truely excellent experience in all respects and we wanted to congratulate the Cliff Bay Hotel on exceptional performance in all areas: the quality of hotel building and facilities , catering at all the restaurants at all meal times, pool areas, all reception areas in the hotel and especially the friendliness and professionalism of all the staff that we met. This was a truly exceptional experience and one that we will remember for a long time. We have stayed at many very high quality hotels around the world and believe that the Cliff Bay is amongst the best. Thanks to all the staff who made our stay so enjoyable; we will definitely be returning! The hotel is also in a very good location, around 25 minute walk from Funchal with a regular courtesy bus to the city. There are many excellent restaurants in walking distance of the hotel and also in the city centre - we highly recommend the following restaurants: Med, the adjacent Pizzeria to the hotel , Armazem do Sal in the centre. We also highly recommend that you pay for a sea view room - this is a truely excellent experience! Thanks again Cliff Bay - for a wonderful holiday! SC

Room Tip: definitely go for a sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sydney256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,007)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,617 - 1,623 of 3,007 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was our 5th trip to this hotel and once again we had a fantastic holiday. On arrival it was lovely to be greeted by staff who remembered us (Manuel in the Cliff Bar especially, what a welcoming smile!!). It is wonderful to find a hotel where you don't have to fight to get a sunbed, there are so many areas with wonderful views you are always guaranteed a relaxing experience. Again we ate in II Gallo D'Oro twice, absolutely wonderful. If you are after a totally relaxing holiday, or if you wish to be more adventurous, then Madeira is the place....The Cliff bay is the place to stay. A huge thank you to ALL the staff for making us feel so welcome once again and for making our holiday so enjoyable.

Room Tip: A sea view is a must...the views over the harbour are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We've been here 6 times now and it is consistently excellent. The percentage of returning guests speaks volumes so not really much more I can say except to pick some of the detail.

I especially like is the pool area. The different levels mean that you can always find a bed in a reasonably quiet spot and you are not lined up and sat on top of other guests. Also, every bed has a parasol.

Most hotel rooms have a little corridor between the main room entrance and the sleeping area. Normally with wardrobes and the bathroom entrance. Cliff Bay rooms have a door at the end of this corridor so that there are 2 doors between the bedroom and the main corridor. This keeps out the noise of people slamming doors that you always get in hotels. Why don't all hotels have this. Great idea! Also the rooms all have carpets not tiles so you don't get noise from upstairs.

The staff are friendly and helpful. The food is OK, with a good selection at breakfast but, like most hotels of this type, the cooked breakfast is not up to the standard of a comparable hotel in the UK. I had a problem with my bill in Il Gallo D'Oro (see separate review) but the food there is as good as any I've eaten in Michelin Star restaurants anywhere. We had booked our first 7 days as part of a Porto Bay package which provided 2 meals in the main restaurant. We were pleasantly surprised to discover we were able to claim a cash alternative against our bill in Il Gallo D'Oro.

If you want to go to Madeira and the Cliff Bay is in your budget stay here.

Room Tip: They recently changed the room descriptions so check when booking. There are a few rooms that look b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DuncanAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

When you write a review about a hotel or a restaurant, you often want to either praise or trash because of one particular customer experience (being very good or very bad) and there are always small things that could be better, even in a great hotel. With The Cliff Bay in Funchal it is really a great vacation but more than that, I was impressed with the willingness of the staff to correct the little that go wrong, the constant presence of management at breakfast, food & beverage, etç and the speed at which your wishes are answered even they may seem a bit unusual.
I have only praise for the management team and the whole staff. The fabulous location, the pier where you can jump to the ocean, the great salt water pool, the spa and indoor pool, the great breakfast, the cool pool restaurant, etç etç.
Really, one of the best places I have ever stayed in, we loved it and we will be back!

Room Tip: X25, facing old Reid´s and the Harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abilio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Back here in cliffe bay for the 4th time ,
Absolutely the place to be , service is out of this world , food brilliant , suits a bit older generation
We are mid 50 s , loads of local restaurants nearby too

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank UkjohnL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Writing on 10th August 2013. Colin F had the following to say...

Just returned from a stay at The Cliff Bay, which is an all-round, excellent Hotel. I have visited this Hotel several times and have never been disappointed. The facilities on offer are superb, the setting is wonderful and the rooms and the general areas are of an extremely high standard.

All of the staff are eager and willing to help, their attitude and manner, really did you the impression you that they did want to look after you to ensure you enjoyed your holiday.

The Hotel has several restaurants.
The Rose Garden restaurant which offers a superb buffet selection both at breakfast and in the evening with the option of either indoor or outdoor seating.
The Blue Lagoon is aimed at those looking for more casual dining.
Le Cliff Bar offers Lunch and a superb Afternoon Tea.
Gourmet dining can be found at the Il Gallo D'Oro restaurant which has achieved a Michelin Star rating, so expect something wonderful!

All in all, a wonderful hotel, with excellent amenities and superb staff.

Cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We have just returned from the Cliff Bay In Madeira this was our 4th visit to the Island
On our last visit we stayed @ the Porto Santa Maria one of the sister Hotels on the Island
this was a very good Hotel and we planned to return however with the extensive flood defences
taking place on the sea front in Funchal we decided to stay @ the Cliff Bay.
What an inspired decision from the very moment we entered the Hotel it was very impressive
All the staff wanted to help make our stay special and they did!!
The rooms were very spacious and very comfortable.
The restaurants were excellent and the choice was varied the Rose Garden Restaurant
was our favorite you could sit outside with a amazing views of Atlantic Ocean
We will be definitely returning for another Holiday very soon!!
The prestige card we had signed upto on our previous visit to Porto Santa Maria was a real benifit we recieved 10% of all drinks & food and @ the world famous Blandys Madeiran Wine Lodge in Funchal.
You would not be disappointed if you decided to visit Madeira and stay @ this fantastic hotel
Tony B-Mrs B

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
931 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
1.1 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.4 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 88 in Funchal
2,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Cliff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Cliff Bay

Address: Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#2 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#3 Business Hotel in Funchal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $182 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel The Cliff Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Ocean stretches as far as the eye can see at the foot of The Cliff Bay which is perched on the top of a natural promontory. The hotel is surrounded by gardens with innumerable secluded corners and centenary palm trees extending to the very edge of the cliff face. The panorama is completed by a magnificent view over the bay of Funchal to the left of the hotel.The most influential restaurant guide in the world, the Michelin Guide, has awarded a star to Il Gallo d'Oro, The Cliff Bay's gourmet restaurant run by Chef Benoît Sinthon. This is Madeira's first and only star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Splitty, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel The Cliff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Bay - Porto Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Porto Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Madeira
Hotel The Cliff Bay Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing