We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Nearby Hotels
$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$578
$371
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$263
$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa(Funchal)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$138
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Porto Mare Hotel(Funchal)
$210
$203
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,237)
Filter reviews
3,237 results
Traveler rating
2,783
361
76
10
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,783
361
76
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrose gardenil gallo d'oromichelin star restaurantpollofunchal viewle cliff barsea levellower poolpool stafftop floorwonderful hotelreturning guestssea waternothing is too much troubledress codespa treatmentsspa area
Filter
Updating list...
1,877 - 1,882 of 3,237 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The best on the island. Top quality every thing will come again next year food in bistro fantastic every thing about this hotel is the tops Brillenant. Brillenant wonderful wonderful the staff are always there to help you just fantastic

Room Tip: Side sea view
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you for your very generous feedback. I actually don’t know what to say but – Thank you and that we are very proud that we managed to correspond to your expectations.
Hoping to see you soon again.
Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Recently spent a week at the wonderful Cliff Bay, excellent in every way. Bedrooms are large and well appointed, we had sea view facing east. This gives a good view of the harbour and town and gets the morning sun. Breakfast and dinner were always very good, and all the staff were first class. Although it is a 20 minute walk from the town centre, the hotel has a shuttle bus service, taxis are immediately available and public buses only 100 yards away. We chose to take a private taxi tour to the Botanical Gardens and Nuns' Valley, which cost no more than booking the same destinations with the tour company.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carole3216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you for your kind feedback. I am very proud that we managed to correspond to your expectations. Madeira is a beautiful island with much to see and visit. The Cliff Bay has a favorable location close to the center but still with a very calm location and beautiful views.
Hoping to see you soon again.
Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I am half way through a week at Cliff Bay but enjoying it so much I wanted to post early! I just ADORE this hotel...The staff are lovely, very kind to a solo traveller, and the surroundings are exquisite. I particularly enjoy the beautiful flower displays everywhere.
The accommodations are first rate and extremely clean. Internet coverage is excellent and free throughout. The gym and spa are first rate too.
There is nightly entertainment and the bar and library are very welcoming.
The hotel caters to a mainly elderly clientele but that is no bad thing if you want to quietly relax....as I do. I came here after 5 demanding months in Afghanistan and can think of no better way to unwind....
Highly, highly recommended..Really can't think of a bad thing about it. I will be back!!

Room Tip: I booked a mountain view but got upgraded to a ground sea view. Wish I had booked a sea view for a higher elevation. The view from this side of the hotel is lovely.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank abi0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you for your nice feedback. I am very proud that we managed to correspond to your expectations. Madeira is certainly very different from Afghanistan and a great place to find rest peace and quiet. We are now closing in towards the summer months with the Atlantic Ocean offering unique bathing possibilities from our sea access.
Hoping to see you soon again.
Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Truly a fantastic place to stay. Following our 7th consecutive holiday at the Cliff Bay in May, we thought it was about time that a review was in order. On stepping from the taxi, through the foyer to the reception, you are always greeted by the very pleasant staff with warm friendly recognition. Our room, on the 8th floor was immaculate and luxurious with fabulous views over Funchal and the harbour. The facilities in this hotel are numerous, spa, fitness equipment, sports activities etc., there are 2 pools, one at upper level which is indoor/outdoor and one at sea level which is salt water, both are fabulous and attendants are so helpful with sun beds and parasols. As for the restaurants and bars, the service and quality of food are excellent with a wide variety of world dishes by way of theme nights. The whole hotel has a feeling of relaxation about it which is due to the wonderful management and entire staff.

Now for the downside, THE FACT THAT YOU HAVE TO PACK YOUR SUITCASES AND LEAVE THIS WONDERFUL ESTABLISHMENT.


Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
6  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you for your very nice feedback. I am very pleased that we managed to correspond to your expectations. Regarding the downside there is nothing that we cannot find a solution. If advising in advance we can surely assist in packing your suitcase. Regarding leaving that is the only way to give space for new visitors and to be able to return and becoming a prestige guest… so there is actually an advantage in leaving… just make sure you don’t forget the address to return…
It is a great pleasure to have you staying in our hotel.
Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This was our sixteenth visit and it was as enjoyable as all the others. The staff, service a hotel ond amenities as good as ever. It is quite clear that this is a hotel that attracts a very high percentage of repeat visitors and as such almosts feels like a club as you see so many people from previous visits and rarely do the staff fail to recognise you on arrival. With this in mind you must remember this is a high quality holiday hotel NOT an International hotel of the Burj Al Arab or Savoy ilk and should be judged accordingly; some reviewers seem to expect lots of freebies and slaves rather than attentive staff before giving favourable comments.
As I mentioned last year it has plenty of facilities for young children, play room and pool but overall it is really a place for the pre and post family generation as Madeira Island itself is.
It is not the place for the penny pincher as you have to pay for quality and service but it is excellent value and its current programme of upgrading the spa, restaurants and rooms is probably coming at just the right time as after close to twenty years everything and everyone show signs of age.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Funchal town are the most relaxing with a wonderful view.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. You are so right…! Our objective is to offer quality service in a European, Atlantic resort environment. Our very dedicated staff is doing their very best to offer kind and unobtrusive service that comes from the heart. We are proud to be part of a very successful hotel group but we are not a worldwide hotel management company.
Please come to Madeira and enjoy our beautiful island and friendly people.
It is a great pleasure to have you staying in our hotel.
Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews