We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cannot fault the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Ranked #3 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cannot fault the hotel”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was our sixth time to the Cliff bay, so they must be doing something right.
Everything about the hotel I cannot fault, from the staff to cleanliness and the breakfast buffet, which is to die for, including champagne if that is what you want for breakfast.
Overall I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room and you get sunshine from mid morning till evening on your balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jestot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback and loyalty towards our hotel. I am delighted that we once again managed to correspond to your expectations.
Looking forward to see you soon again,
With kindest regards,
Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,383
    298
    66
    11
    6
See reviews for
323
2,056
81
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,038)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We have just returned from a 10 day stay at The Cliff Bay. Fabulous! Room spacious with a beautiful view of the rose garden and the sea. We got the sun in the afternoon and evening which is perfect for us. The beds are so very comfortable with lovely feather pillows. All spotlessly clean, and I'm fussy.
The sea pool is wonderful, warm and quiet late afternoon.The pool staff are so friendly and helpful; my husband went snorkelling in the sea and they advised and watched over him every time.
After our early evening swim we would go to the Spa for a sauna and a sit in the steam room before going back to our room to change for the evening.
Food choice and presentation was amazing, the only problem being what to choose as it all looked so good. Staff in the restaurants and bars all very friendly, watchful and helpful. We came home feeling very relaxed, it was just what we needed. Thank you Cliff bay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stagecoach_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback here at Tripadvisor. I am pleased to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Madeira and The Cliff Bay has much to offer including a wide variety of food and beverage options.
I hope to see you soon again in Madeira, where we today have beautiful spring day.
With kindest regards,
Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Rightly so, The Cliff Bay is consistently ranked as one of Madeira’s best hotels.

The Cliff Bay is unique in our view. In terms of interior design, the hotel manages to elegantly blend the modern and the old and it does so effortlessly. Recently refurbished, the Cliff Bay is much lighter and more modern in feel when compared to Reid’s or The Savoy and we prefer it as a result.

The rooms are modern and well thought out – super comfy beds – all the mod cons you would expect from a leading 5*hotel. All the rooms have a balcony – some overlooking the gardens – some overlooking the pool – some overlooking the cliffs and the bay on which Reid’s Palace is built.

The food at the Cliff Bay is simply magnificent. We have stayed at hundreds of 5* hotels all around the world and I can say with confidence that the buffet breakfast and themed buffet dinners here are excellent. The themed dinner buffets (30 Euros a head) really are superb with a massive selection of soups, breads, salads, mains and deserts. Of course, drinks are extra!

And then there is ‘Il Gallo d'Oro’, the hotels Michelin starred restaurant – the only eatery on the whole of Madeira with a Michelin Star. As one expect, the food here is superb. Guests on a Half Board package can simply upgrade to eat here one night for a small premium (14 Euros per person). The upgrade is affordable and well worth it. We always eat here on our last night in Madeira and it never disappoints.

But aside from the excellent food and the superb service (the staff are excellent here – attentive without being at all intrusive), the hotel’s best feature are its nooks and crannies where you relax in peace and quiet. Choose from the gardens near the main restaurant, the upper level pool, the indoor pool, the lower lever pool (by the sea) or a series of areas dotted around the cliff itself.

There has been significant investment of late in the hotel’s spa facilities with a new spa lounge for couples to receive treatments together. The treatment menu is extensive and the prices are reasonable for this standard of hotel.

On the lower level, there is also a lovely sauna area with a brand new sauna, large steam room, rain showers and hot tub. This area is free for all guests to use without charge. There is also a separate sauna area for people on treatment programmes – this cannot be accessed unless you have bought some sort of spa treatment.

Our only minor criticism of the Cliff Bay is the gym, which although good, could be better. The resistance machines are rather out of date – with more space the hotel could bring in more rowing machines and bikes and a larger stretching area.

The Cliff Bay is an excellent hotel and somewhere we will definitely return to. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Captain_H_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback here at Tripadvisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we managed to correspond to your expectations. The Cliff Bay offers a wide variety of food and beverage options with hopefully something for everyone. You are a seasoned traveler in five star hotels and therefore your comments are much appreciated.
Thank you for having chosen our hotel and we hope to see you back in a near future.
Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We have just got back from a 5 night break in Madeira, we stayed at the Cliff Bay Hotel which has a very good reputation and we have stayed nearby in other cheaper hotels and thought it would be nice to try the Cliff Bay.
The room was rather dated and in our opinion not as good as rooms in other hotels that we have stayed at, we were looking forward to swimming in the advertised heated pool, well if thats heated i hate to try unheated! the pool was freezing, hardly used by anyone. The breakfast was good but i got a sense that the hotel may be struggling as they were pushing some sort of time share deal owned by there owning company (porto bay) which was a bit crass.The food and drinks didnt come cheap either! 9 euros for 2 small glasses of Aqua con gas with lime cordial seemed bit over the top. The hotel was very clean and the staff were not impolite altho rather distant. It wasnt a horrid time but we sort of felt rather dissapointed. Madeira is lovely!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bernard_webb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am sad to hear that we didn’t manage to correspond to your expectations. Certainly there are cheaper hotels than The Cliff Bay but also some more expensive. When choosing to stay in five star hotel some things are previously understood. We are very proud of our staff and our general feedback is excellent. Porto Bay offer the possibility for interested in regular visits to Madeira to purchase an interval ownership apartment at The Residence – Porto Bay. I can assure you that this has absolutely no connection with the “hotel struggling” as we are fortunate to have good occupancies with many returning guests.
I hope that one day we might have the opportunity to welcome you back and if so please let me know previous to your arrival so that we can make all necessary efforts for you to have a most enjoyable stay and change this first impression.
Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teesside
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

This was our fourth stay here and it lived up to our expectations in every respect. The Cliff is a chance to have an unhurried relaxing and luxurious break with the opportunity to explore a little of what's on offer in Madeira when you wish to! Each time we have had a different room on a different floor , but always we've been n more than happy. The side sea views are excellent as are the sea views, and the rooms are verbatim ly the full 5 star, with all the luxuries you'd expect. Staff are helpful and yet not over fussy , which is just as I prefer. Food is very good and you have plenty of choice about where and when to eat. There is a really pleasant ambiance about the Cliff which is probably why so many people choose to return. I just wish there was a Cliff in the UK! I must mention that the pools and facilities are excellent and there is good access to the sea too. Madeira has a perfect climate all year , rarely too hot or cold- which is also why it's likely that we'll return again sometime sooo I'm sure. The Cliff is definitely where we'll be staying .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maisyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you have stayed with us many times before. Madeira is a beautiful destination with a good travelling distance from the UK. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back in a near future.
Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had a garden view room which was perfect as we enjoyed evening sun on our balcony. The staff were very professional but also very friendly. We had mixed weather so we enjoyed the gym and the spa on the rainy days. It is within walkin distance to the main square in Funchal where you can sit and enjoy a meal listening to live local music which was very enjoyable. There is not one aspect of stay which we were not happy about.

Room Tip: The garden view rooms have evening sun therefore you can enjoy an early evening drink on your balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayneC567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our garden view room pleased your expectations. We have many different room categories but they all have in common being spacious and fresh.
I am sad that the weather wasn’t excellent but we are fortunate to have good facilities that offer alternatives if the sun is not shining.
I hope that we will be able to welcome you back in a near future.
Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed at the Cliff Bay with a friend last September (2012) and still thinking about it. It is very well run with friendly staff and terrific facilities. We had what they term a "side sea" view which turned out to be a room overlooking the sea, Funchal and the gardens of the legendary Reid's Hotel. I fully recommend the "side" sea view... The bedrooms are very well appointed and spacious. The Cliff Bay is one of a small number of hotels that has direct access to the sea and this is one of it's many attractions. At the hotel level there is a fresh water pool with indoor and outdoor ends and as it is on top of the cliff, there are great views of Funchal and the mountains from the pool itself. There is a lovely terrace with plenty of sun loungers and staff to bring you refreshments. They serve the most yum iced-coffee, make sure to indulge if you are a coffee fiend.

There is also an "interim" terrace at this level with about 14/16 sunloungers right on the edge of the cliff. From the loungers at this level all you see is the sea and Funchal. That was my favourite spot and I am reluctant to share this knowledge!

There is a lift as well as steps down to the sea-water pool, again with extensive terracing and a couple of further steps brings to down to the jetty from which you enter the sea. So lovely to have a refreshing dip in the sea at the end of the day. There is a restuarant beside the sea-level pool.

Breakfast on the terrace is one of the highlights of the day. I have stayed in a lot of places and I have never had a better selection of lovely fresh food.

Another highlight is the twice weekly aqua-aerobics with a terrific teacher. They last a hour and there is no additional charge. The same teacher also takes Pilates classes in the gardens. Very enjoyable way to pass the time.

The hotel is at the near end of the Hotel Zone, ie closest to Funchal. It's about 20-25 minute leisurely stroll into town and the hotel also offers a complimentary shuttle bus. Taxis aren't expensive and are plentiful.

Would thoroughly recommend this hotel and I hope to return very soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over Funchal, the view is better and they are cooler as the sun moves off the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback. September is one of my favorite months in Madeira. Our Sea Access (now further improved) is a much appreciated facility that allows sea bathing when in good conditions all year round.
Recently we made many improvements in the hotel and I hope to be able to welcome you back for another memorable stay.
Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.5 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Cliff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Cliff Bay

Property: Hotel The Cliff Bay
Address: Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#1 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#3 Business Hotel in Funchal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel The Cliff Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Ocean stretches as far as the eye can see at the foot of The Cliff Bay which is perched on the top of a natural promontory. The hotel is surrounded by gardens with innumerable secluded corners and centenary palm trees extending to the very edge of the cliff face. The panorama is completed by a magnificent view over the bay of Funchal to the left of the hotel.The most influential restaurant guide in the world, the Michelin Guide, has awarded a star to Il Gallo d'Oro, The Cliff Bay's gourmet restaurant run by Chef Benoît Sinthon. This is Madeira's first and only star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel The Cliff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Bay - Porto Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Porto Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Madeira
Hotel The Cliff Bay Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing