We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“" The Cliff " has the edge !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Cliff Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel The Cliff Bay to your Saves list
Hotel The Cliff Bay
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special 5%OFF
Ranked #3 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“" The Cliff " has the edge !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a week at this marvellous hotel where attention to detail is the essential ingredient that sets this hotel apart from the other hotels in Funchal. Even before we arrived at the hotel I had e-mailed to request feather pillows and a hard bed...not only were these requests met but I received an e-mail PRIOR to our arrival confirming that our requests would be attended to.
Our room was No. 721 and it is certainly worth requesting a room on a higher floor and paying a supplement because the views over Funchal and the harbour were spectacular. We also received fresh fruit each day as well as free soft drinks from a continuously replenished refrigerator. From the housekeeping staff to the spa attendants , from the restaurant staff to the reception staff, everyone took pride in their work and when we were faced with just a couple of genuine niggles the management were quick to take note and address the issues which, to me, is a sign of an excellent organisation.
The food in The Rose Garden was consistently good though I must advise that any guests not used to eating rich food ought to moderate any temptation to guzzle enormous amounts of the gustatory feasts on display at the buffet.
It isn't too far from Funchal and only took us a medium paced 20 mins to get to the centre on the few occasions we did not avail ourselves of the courtesy transport which needs to be booked at reception for the outward journey. Reception staff also sell tickets for the cable car to Monte and it is a good idea to buy your tickets at the hotel so you don't have to queue too much at the cable car entrance.
I took a jacket and tie with me to dine in the evening but in The Rose Garden Restaurant, smart casual wear is generally the order of the day so packing a suit really isn't necessary unless you intend to eat at the Michelin starred restaurant. We ate breakfast there once but I'm afraid that neither the service nor the warmth of the food compared to the excellently high standards of The Rose Garden.
Just one word of warning to travellers; though the guide books say that the water is fit to drink it does have a very high mineral content and for those with sensitive stomachs you are better using the bottled water even to make tea and coffee in your room. This is in no way a reflection of the hotel but rather a factual statement about the water in Madeira.
This hotel is very conveniently situated for a Travel Bureau which is one of the cheapest reliable places around AND picks you up at your hotel! We stupidly booked through our tour rep and two trips cost us almost £100 extra.
I must thank all the staff but especially Fiona and Carla from The Porto Bay group who facilitated our pre-arrival requirements with little fuss and a lot of professionalism.
We will most definitely be re-visiting this hotel but because I couldn't resist temptation with the food on display I think we will have to go for bed and breakfast next time. I am not usually so gushing about a hotel but this one really does go just that extra mile .....or should that be kilometre?!!

Room Tip: We had room 721 and had no noise at all with spectacular views and plenty of storage. The lifts are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ciaran32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback. I am pleased to hear that we managed to correspond to your expectations. Many times a good preparation can enhance your holiday experience. I am glad that you enjoyed the facilities that we offer and that your overall experience was a positive one.
I hope to get the pleasure to welcome you back…
Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,967
    244
    55
    9
    6
See reviews for
252
1,700
70
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (861)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have just returned from a week in Madeira and we are so glad we chose this hotel. It is very well located, just far enough from Funchal centre and just before the Lido area which for us is just a characterless busy street with big hotels. Our 2nd floor sea view room was spacious and comfortable with a wonderful balcony overlooking the ocean and Funchal harbour which was very pretty at night. We woke up to the sunrise and quiet sound of the waves in the morning. Could not have been nicer. Breakfast iwas excellent and on warm days one can eat outside in the rose garden overlooking the sea. The other hotel bar/cafes were also good and nicely located. It was a cool March vacation so we loved the indoor /outdoor heated pool The service and cleanliness was impeccable and the attention to detail outstanding. The staff could not have been better and the atmosphere was quiet and refined. Before going we had read reviews that commented that the hotel is expensive but frankly we thought it was worth it and would go back any time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank justusSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our hotel is having a privileged location close to the city but still very calm. We are very proud of our staff that do their very best to correspond to any guest request. The sunrise and the sound of the Atlantic Ocean is something magical. I am very pleased that you experienced this.
I hope to get the pleasure to welcome you back…
Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Other review are eloquent testament to the opulent splendour of this fine hotel.But it is the people who work there that make the difference. From booking to departure they have the knack of making you feel special and that you re valued as a guest. The Manager, a Swede, is evident; having a meal in one of his dining rooms; personally hosting the weekly drinks party and so on. A question raised to him at the latter resulted in a detailed letter and printout in our room that same evening; and it was only about the falcons which harry the rock doves on the cliff face. The Boss's eye makes the cattle fat, - indeed! Superb.

Room Tip: 6th Floor, if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SirmooriSomerset_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback. I am pleased that we managed to correspond to your expectations. We do our very best for all our guests to have a memorable experience. Diamantino Fernandes doesn’t only lead our spa and pool operation but also tries to find solutions for any doubts that might occur. I am pleased to hear that he clarified regarding the beautiful birds you can see sometimes at the hotel.
I hope to the pleasure to soon be able to welcome you back to Madeira and The Cliff Bay…
Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was our first visit to Madeira and was for a special occasion being our wedding anniversary and my wife's 'big birthday'. The hotel was recommended to us and we were not disppointed. The hotel made us feel very welcome from the reception arrival and for the full week. The staff even presented a cake to my wife for her birthday. The hotel is excellent, breakfast selection to suit everyone and the service and friendliness of the staff absolutely brilliant. We will definitely return to this hotel. Congratulations to the management for a well run hotel and the champagne reception evening was an excellent touch.

Room Tip: High floor with view of the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback. I am pleased that we managed to correspond to your expectations especially since you were also celebrating a special event. Madeira is actually a beautiful destination for celebrations. A suggestion can be our private dining that we do in some of the special locations in the hotel and gardens.
Hoping to see you soon again at The Cliff Bay.
Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

It was our second visit to the Cliff Bay and have already booked to go back later in the year. The rooms, food, facilities and service are all excellent, we cannot fault this hotel at all - just lovely.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PamPO57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
570 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

An 'excellent' hardly does this place justice. The whole place is almost without fault and is as good a hotel as I have ever encountered.

Thye room itself is huge and I mean HUGE! The top floor rooms allow you to have breakfast in the fine dining restaurant as well as the Rose Garden. They also top up free juices and soft drinks from the minibar and have a welcoming bottle of wine and fruit on arrival. We thought it was worth the extra.

The sea view and balcony was superb and the service excellent throughout.

The only fault I could find in the room was the absense of a clock to see the time during the night. The bathroom was fault free. I could have stayed in my room all holiday, it was so nice. Good air con and free wi fi, and great bathroom toiletries.

We ate in the Rose Garden, both a la carte and the buffet and the evening food is wonderful, as is the breakfast.

There is a free shuttle to Funchal centre and frequent offers on Spa services.

A simply wonderful place, with a high level of service with really well trained staff.

Room Tip: Top floor4 rooms are worth the extra, and west or south facing is best. N ot the east facing rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HabLeaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback. I am pleased that hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Cliff Bay is fortunate to have spacious rooms where most offer brilliant sea view overlooking the Atlantic.
I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Rose Garden restaurant with our thematic buffets. Now we also serve meals in the bistro and light snacks and sandwiches in Le Cliff Bar.
I hope to welcome you back to Madeira in a near future for more memorable occasions.

Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Hotel itself is well maintained and all general areas are nicely furnished and comfortable. We had a top floor room which entitles you to a lovely breakfast in the Il Gallo D'Oro restaurant, wide range of hot and cold food, it also includes fruit/flowers which in our case consisted of one banana and a kiwi fruit, a rather tired orchid plant plus a nice bottle of local wine. As another reviewer has said the buffet was not great and we also gave it one try but did not return. We had room service on the first night which was good as was the lunch on the last day at the pool/sea level restaurant. The ream gem is the Il Gallo D'Oro restaurant in the evening which saved our holiday. Sadly, we too arrive just before the storm and what a storm it was, taking more than a few days to move through. I think the hotel informed us really well of just what to expect with regard to the weather putting a red weather warning information in each room the evening before the storm hit which was extremely efficient and posting weather warning on other day in reception.

The main problem was our room, we had requested a room with a sunny balcony from around mid-day, obviously the hotel on booking said they would do their best to provide this, the day we arrived was not really sunny so we had no real idea of how much sun we got on balcony, the bottom line the smallest amount of sun possible I would guess in any room in the hotel. The Sunday storm really hit our room with water came under our balcony door as our room faced toward the full force of the wind, we informed the staff and asked for the problem to be dealt with their solution was to bring up towels and place them by the door, we pointed out that we really didn't want a room that was leaking rain water at an alarming rate and wished to change room their solution was to showed us the room next-door which obviously had the same problem, unsurprisingly we turned it down and got more towels which the lovely housekeeping staff provided in quantity we must have used at least 20 stemming the flow of water over several days. In reflection we should have complained more but the staff were stretched as to leave the hotel was unwise in such bad weather so had many guests to deal with and they were rightly concerned themselves for the town and hotel area which was hit so badly both this time and in the past. The sea level pool was full of sea water plus and the area unsafe for 6 days which meant the indoor pool and other general sitting areas were understandably packed.

Room Tip: Not 733 if you want sun on balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ManleyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am sad that your holiday was affected by the extreme weather experienced during the week. It is very rare that we have this type of weather when we have to brace and enjoy more indoor facilities.
In case you decide to return to Madeira and The Cliff Bay please feel free to address me an e-mail and I will ensure that you get a room allocation in exact accordance with your preferences and needs.
I hope of the pleasure to welcome you back to Madeira and The Cliff Bay.

Yours Sincerely,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Quinta Jardins do Lago
#2 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 967 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 692 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#8 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#12 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,550 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#7 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Cliff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Cliff Bay

Property: Hotel The Cliff Bay
Address: Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#3 Business Hotel in Funchal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel The Cliff Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Ocean stretches as far as the eye can see at the foot of The Cliff Bay which is perched on the top of a natural promontory. The hotel is surrounded by gardens with innumerable secluded corners and centenary palm trees extending to the very edge of the cliff face. The panorama is completed by a magnificent view over the bay of Funchal to the left of the hotel.The most influential restaurant guide in the world, the Michelin Guide, has awarded a star to Il Gallo d'Oro, The Cliff Bay's gourmet restaurant run by Chef Benoît Sinthon. This is Madeira's first and only star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel The Cliff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Bay - Porto Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Porto Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Madeira
Hotel The Cliff Bay Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing