We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tom & Dee”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Ranked #4 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tom & Dee”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This was our second stay at the Cliff Bay and again we were not disappointed. We celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary with a week here this time and could not have wished for a better location. The staff were generous with their attention to all our needs and the standard of accommodation was excellent. Both the Rose Garden Restaurant and the Michelin 1* facility were most satisfactory with a very good selection and variety of food at all meals. The spa facilities were ideal for recovering from the exertions of the day on various trips. What a great selection Sovereign Holidays made for our celebration. We hope to be back for our 60th!!!

Room Tip: A floor 3 sea view room will not disappoint
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tgm423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,449
    316
    71
    10
    6
See reviews for
331
2,127
82
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,073)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

What a fabulous hotel. We were there for one week in February. We had the most fabulous rooms (on the 6th floor). The rooms themselves are spacious and well equipped.

The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful. If you need any help, just remember to pop and see the ladies on reception. Before our visit I had requested to have rooms near to each other and our request was met. When checking out we were phoned to ask what time we would be leaving - how nice to be asked rather than told what time we had to vacate our rooms!

I can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: It's worth paying the extra to be on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Philbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We needed a break and decided a another trip to the Cliff Bay was needed. How nice it was to be greeted by all the lovely staff who seem to remember all their returning guests. Lots of changes since November 2012. The weather was not so great but loads to do in the hotel or just lounge in lovely comfy settees. Thank you once again we will be back in the autumn.

Room Tip: All the rooms we have slept in are very large and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Viv E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
451 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 412 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We decided to stay in this hotel after reading reviews from Tripadvisor and were not disappointed. Prior to arriving to the hotel, ive been sending emails to check on babysitting services ( we had a 6 months old baby), bookings for the il garo restaurant and spa massage. When we arrived we were given early check in and all our queries and requests were met. I couldnt find fault in this hotel. The indoor swimpool was great. We also booked for the hot stone massage and it was relaxing. Extensive breakfast buffet and the other restaurants was just average. Location wise was ok, walkable distance to funchal town, or you can get on the complimentary shuttle bus from the hotel. Really enjoyed our 5 nights stay at Cliff bay, and would definitely return there again!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Zetster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed there at the end of Feb 2013.

Very good things about this hotel are:
+ very big rooms with a nice view (even standard room)
+ good facilities in the room (tv, dvd, desk, balcony, well equipped bathroom)
+ great staff
+ very nice and fresh breakfast
+ good food in bars and restaurants (high quality)
+ great location (at the sea and close to town centre - 20min walk)
+ sea level with sun beds and swimming pool
+ heated swimming pool inside/outside
+ jacuzzi
+ good choice of additional options (spas, trips, etc...)
+ life music in the evening in the nice bar
+ great cocktails
+ beautiful decorations in the hall, flowers, paintings etc...

The only things negative I could find are:
- terrible WiFi connection (sometimes works sometimes doesn't, if it worked it was very slow)
- a bit pricey (food and drinks are really good but they could be a bit cheaper)
- we saw a cockroach running on the floor. I don't know if it is just a bad luck but still disappointing for 5 star hotel.

Most of the guests in the hotel were above their 60s but we are fine with that. At least it was nice and quiet :)

Madeira is amazing place to visit, especially walks a long levadas and in the mountains are spectacular. Go to Pico Ruivo and Levada de Caldeirao. We went to Rabacal too but there was too many people.

Other places worth a visit: Sao Vicente, Porto Moniz

Room Tip: The best rooms are on higher levels, better view. Even standard room has a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank petersonpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in July 2012, having enjoyed two previous holidays there in 2010 and 2011. I wrote reviews following our previous visits so won't repeat what I said I them.

What I will say is that The Cliff Bay continues to deliver excellent service in luxurious surroundings, ensuring that you want to come back for more!

On each occasion we have paid a supplement to stay on the top floors where the views are great, there are complimentary soft drinks and fruit daily and breakfast can be taken in either the Rose Garden Restaurant or the Il Gallo D'Oro Michelin starred restaurant.

After our first visit we decided for future visits to book bed and breakfast basis, as there are many good restaurants in Funchal to try. You can buy flexible meal packages when you arrive at the hotel, which will enable you to eat some meals in the hotel, leaving time to sample nearby restaurants. Personally, we prefer the Il Gallo D'Oro to the Rose Garden restaurant so we ate there and in other restaurants in Funchal. Breakfasts in either the Rose Garden or the Il Gallo D’Oro restaurants are excellent!

The location of the Cliff Bay is superb, close enough to the centre of Funchal, but also on the coast overlooking the sea, with a sea level swimming pool and restaurant, as well as a Cliff-top level pool.

Since we visited we understand that many areas of the hotel have been refurbished, so that can only make this hotel even better!

If you are looking for a little luxury in relaxing surroundings with good food and service, we would thoroughly recommend the Cliff Bay.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Funchal Harbour get the morning sun, whereas full sea facing rooms get the afterno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank farrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for a week as a a treat for my friends birthday.
It is the best hotel I have ever stayed in, no two ways about it.
The location on a cliff with multiple levels, swimming pools and access to the ocean is amazing.
The hotel is spotless and beautifully designed inside. The staff go out of their way to help you.
The main restaurant serves excellent and copious breakfast. The Gallo d'Oro, which is a Michelin star restaurant in the hotel, is excellent (jacket and tie required).
There are few hotels like this in the world.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wojtek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.5 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 86 in Funchal
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 86 in Funchal
2,036 reviews
0.1 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
0.3 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Cliff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Cliff Bay

Property: Hotel The Cliff Bay
Address: Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#2 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#3 Business Hotel in Funchal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel The Cliff Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Ocean stretches as far as the eye can see at the foot of The Cliff Bay which is perched on the top of a natural promontory. The hotel is surrounded by gardens with innumerable secluded corners and centenary palm trees extending to the very edge of the cliff face. The panorama is completed by a magnificent view over the bay of Funchal to the left of the hotel.The most influential restaurant guide in the world, the Michelin Guide, has awarded a star to Il Gallo d'Oro, The Cliff Bay's gourmet restaurant run by Chef Benoît Sinthon. This is Madeira's first and only star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel The Cliff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Bay - Porto Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Porto Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Madeira
Hotel The Cliff Bay Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing