We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel position and facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Ranked #3 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hotel position and facilities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

We booked this hotel for a break between Christmas and the New Year and were overwhelmed with the ambience and the general courtesy given by the staff. The room we booked was on the seventh floor and gave us a beautiful view of the bay of Funchal and the harbour. The room was tended to a couple of times a day, which gave us true luxury. The pillows on the beds were probably the best we have ever had as there was a choice in types on a provided brochure. The breakfasts were plentiful and as we were on the upper floor we had the choice between self service in the Rose Garden restaurant or silver service in the restaurant off reception. The world famous firework celebrations for New Year were truly amazing as they lasted for at least 8.5 mins and came after we had a reasonable Gala meal, but I would say that the ambience of the room could have been more enthralling.

Room Tip: Go for a 7th floor sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Geronimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,342
    295
    66
    10
    6
See reviews for
318
2,019
80
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,018)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

We have just returned from another year of festive cheer at our favourite Madeiran Hotel at Christmas .
Once again, returning to the Cliff Bay for the fifth successive year was like coming home, from the simple “welcome back” from the girls in reception on arrival, to the welcome smiles (and hugs) from the waiters in The Rose Garden Restaurant at breakfast. Even finding that we had the same room as last year, with the same excellent view over the harbour of Funchal. Our taxi driver on the way in from the airport was a little reticent about the changes this year, saying that the Fireworks had been cut back for economic reasons (by one minute!!). We were soon settled in and looking for old friends, and finding them, and making new ones, who were visiting Cliff Bay for the first time.
The Festive programme at the hotel was as good as ever, with activities almost every day within the hotel, as well as free excursions within Funchal. You MUST take the kitchen tour, if only to marvel at how Chef Benoit can create the menus for a Michelin Star Restaurant from such a tiny kitchen, while also supplying a huge choice of fresh food daily, for the Rose Garden Buffet. Both the Christmas & New Year Gala dinners were excellent with entertainment to match and the Fireworks display this year easily lived up to its reputation, with 12 Cruise ships in the bay to help bring in the New Year. We look forward to many more visits to Cliff Bay and say “thank you” to ALL of the staff who do so much to make the holiday in Madeira and at The Cliff Bay such an enjoyable experience.
Keep up your great work!!!

Room Tip: If you are interested in ships ask to see over the Harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sion, Switzerland
Level Contributor
261 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

Deuxième séjour à Madère, la première fois au Quinta das Vistas. Nous avons beaucoup apprécié l'île, qui offre une belle ville, des villages typiques, la mer et des paysages fantastiques en montagne. A savoir: l'automne, c'est souvent nuageux et même pluvieux en montagne, ce qui rend les excursions difficiles et parfois décevantes (surtout l'après-midi!).
Nous avions réservé une "Superior top floor room", au 7ème étage, et cela vaut la peine: les coûts additionnels vous donnent droit à manger au restaurant Gourmet le matin (avec une terrasse fantastique et reposante!), à vous faire remplacer toutes les boissons non alcoolisées tous les jours dans la chambre, et à une chambre rénovée offrant une vue magnifique sur Funchal et la mer (à préciser toutefois dans la réservation). La chambre est excellemment insonorisée, très grande avec 48m2 environ, munie d'un beau balcon et avec tout le confort nécessaire.Tout cela était presque parfait.
Nous avons mangé 3x au restaurant Gallo, l'établissement Gourmet: une excellente nourriture y est proposée, avec des portions toutefois petites et un prix pour les bons vins exhorbitant.
L'espace bien-être est de qualité et vous y trouverez toutes sortes de soins.
Une salle de fitness haut de gamme est gratuitement à la disposition des clients et exclusivement à la disposition des clients de l'hôtel.
Le parking est gratuit, une bonne chose aussi.
Le site est magnifique, à la fois proche du centre ville et sur un promontoir surplombant la baie, comme si vous étiez en pleine nature.
Quelques déceptions toutefois: une qualité inégale au service (surtout à la réception), l'absence de personnalisation due à la taille de l'établissement, l'aspect froid du lobby, le manque de charme dans les parties communes, l'ambiance un peu "cantine" du restaurant principal.
Nous avons visité le "Reid's Palace", supposé être le plus luxueux de Madère, et situé à 300m de distances: il ne nous a pas convaincu! Les chambres étaient petites et l'accueil plutôt froid, presque guindé, alors que les prix sont exagéremment élevés.
Nous avons aussi été au "Choupana Hills", que nous déconseillons fortement: situation trop éloignée, aspect défraîchi, alentours pauvres et déprimants.
Actuellement, il n'y a pas à notre connaissance un hôtel qui répond parfaitement à nos attentes sur lîle, qc'est à dire qui combine tous les services (y compris fitness et bien-être), la proximité de la ville, le calme, la vue, des alentours soignés, les terrasses, la décoration et le charme d'un établissement "boutique": le Cliff Bay n'en est pas loin, mais il faudrait améliorer sa déco et lui donner la personnalisation qu'il n'a pas aujourd'hui. Heureusement, nous avons trouvé ces valeurs inestimables sur la terrasse du restaurant Gallo, accessible seulement pous les Suites et Top Floor Rooms, au petit-déjeuner!

Room Tip: Superior Top Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Olympicchampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

We have just returned from Cliff Bay Hotel after a week there for Christmas. it was excellent. a beautiful hotel- fantastic cuisine at dinner and breakfast-- and even more so at the Gala Dinner which was a memorable dining experience with live music suited to fine dining. -- Before dinner we were entertained by a local choir with festive music and carols-- they were very good. On the previous evening there were was sparkling wine with the manager and he took time to welcome all guests which was appreciated by all.. Santa left surprises which will be enjoyed later to remind us of a lovely time in this hotel.All the staff were very nice and enthusiastic about being part of this lovely hotel. the views from our room were terrific and the room itself very comfortable. The only slight;ly negative point would be the price of drinks but then in a five star hotel you would expect this .. cant wait to return

Room Tip: go for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank steiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

We wanted a holiday in a quality hotel, somewhere warm and not over developed. The Cliff Bay hotel in Funchal exceeded our expectations. A super hotel, spacious well furnished room, friendly attentive staff, excellent food in the Rose Garden Retaurant, which is self service for both breakfast and evening meal. We didn't try the hotel's Michelin starred Golden Cock. The hotel has lovel;y gardens, a fresh water inside and outside pool and a sea water pool at the base of the cliff, accessible by lift. You can even swim in the sea from a ladder on the short pier but rather cold in November! Pointers to help you enjoy your stay:- don't book half board for every day of your stay, there are numerousr restaurants nearby and down in Funchal, about 20 minutes walk away. As long as you are comfortable driving on very hilly, twisty roads, hire a car for at least 3 days, the island is absolutely stunning. We used Budget Rent a Car, who are 5 minutes walk down the road and they offered to collect the car from the hotel after we had finished with it! The rooms have DVD and CD players so bring your own discs if that is your thing. Avoid the Funchal waterfront if there are several big cruise ships in, but they soon sail off again leaving a peaceful town. Everywhere you go you will see beautiful flowers. If you enjoy walking, take your boots and warm clothing, the mountains are easily accessible but it gets quite cool at 6000 feet up. Go to the market, you will see a fabulous range of wonderful flowers, fruit and vegetable artistically arranged and strange fish in the fish market. A lovely hotel on a stunning, rugged island.

Room Tip: Worth paying a little extra for a room with a balcony and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John_on_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

The Cliff Bay has an excellent location on the western side of Funchal next to Reid’s Hotel in the Hotel Zone. Funchal is a 25 minutes’ walk, or a free shuttle ride, from the Marina/Bus Station/Cable Car in the centre of Funchal. Bus or taxi access is also easy. The Hotel Zone with shops and restaurants – and the Promenade to Camara dos Lobos – is equally accessible. The latter is a 4-5 mile walk, but worth doing especially as there are plenty of refreshment opportunities en route. Reception was always helpful and never too busy, and a PC in Reception (and 2 more in the Spa) provide free internet access. The room was large and spacious with a large comfortable bed, separate bath and shower area, and chairs. The TV has a range of channels including BBC and ITV plus a DVD player. All facilities were clean and in good working order. Most rooms have a sea view as the Hotel follows the coastline. Spa and swimming pool are very good. Breakfast in the Rose Garden was good quality, and could be taken inside or outside even in December; the Rose Garden also offers a range of themed buffets for half-board guests. The Cliff Bar snack bar is also available, while the Il Gallo d’Oro is a Michelin starred restaurant and worth trying.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TonyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

Our 12th visit since the hotel opened in 1995. A guest visiting for the first time told me she thought the hotel had just been built whic h is a real compliment to the high est standards of decor and maintenance throughout. A more critical observer would be aware of the increasing ly uncomfortable dining chairs in the Rose Garden Restaurant and the willingness , doubtless in the name of progress ,to accept a lowering standard of dresscode in the first class Gallo d'Oro restaurant.There is a professional management ,very responsive to any constructive comment to ensure guests are relaxed and wish to return each year.This is the first occasion I have written a review of Cliff Bay but we feel the staff at all levels are particularly, friendly and go out of their way to be helpful. We have already booked for 2012.

Room Tip: rooms facing the harbour are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank objective_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.5 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Cliff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Cliff Bay

Property: Hotel The Cliff Bay
Address: Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#3 Business Hotel in Funchal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel The Cliff Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Ocean stretches as far as the eye can see at the foot of The Cliff Bay which is perched on the top of a natural promontory. The hotel is surrounded by gardens with innumerable secluded corners and centenary palm trees extending to the very edge of the cliff face. The panorama is completed by a magnificent view over the bay of Funchal to the left of the hotel.The most influential restaurant guide in the world, the Michelin Guide, has awarded a star to Il Gallo d'Oro, The Cliff Bay's gourmet restaurant run by Chef Benoît Sinthon. This is Madeira's first and only star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel The Cliff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Bay - Porto Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Porto Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Madeira
Hotel The Cliff Bay Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing