We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Thank you so much and we can't wait to be back 😊”
other travelers have booked this property
Absolutely fantastic,  just for our guest´s use
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Absolutely fantastic,  just for our guest´s use
Enjoying a cool beer by the pool, great ....
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
67 reviews
Absolutely fantastic,  just for our guest´s use
Enjoying a cool beer by the pool, great ....
Jasmim, cozy living room with comfort and taste...
Spacey and tastefully decorated this place....
All you need at Jasmim apartment ...
A whole sight of the place at Jasmim...you will love it...
How nice this small detail at Jasmim bedroom...
You will love to sleep here, so calm and quiet...
Your meals at Jasmim dinning area...smells good....
The place for you to prepare your own meals...
Entrance of Jasmim,  among fruit trees and vine yards...
In front of Jasmim apartment, a nice detail...
Beautiful and typical banana tree by the pool...
Blooming flowers in front of the apartments...
Smells good in this kitchen (Magnolia)
Magnolia´s modern bathroom
After a long day, enjoy your rest in front of the apartments
Fantastic place with a unique view ....from the terrace...
Orchid´s comfortable sitting room for your leisure
Enjoy your meals in this dining place (Orquid) ...
So calm and quiet at Orchid´s bedroom...
The best Orchid´s dreams in this place .....
A global look of the Orchid´s apartment...
Private modern WC inside the apartment Orchid
The private balcony just for the Orchid apartment...
Enjoy the view while having your meals at the Orchid...
Brethtaking view over the city and harbour...
So private and nice staying here...
Uau, fantastic ocean view from your balcony...
What to say about this...??Unique...
You will never get tired of watching this view...
Pitangas and the Orchid´s archades on the top of the house...
Such a traditional entrance from the Quinta Esperança...
The view from the gardens...sea all around...
So nice, what´s this ??
Let me introduce you Lavender apartment...!!
Bright, beautiful, comfortable, what else??
A single bed that can turn into a double one...
Soft colors makes your rest even deeper...
Uau, it is looking gorgeous...
What to say, absolutely gorgeous...
Details and ...
Details...
Hummmm....
Missing words...
Everything matches here....
Brightness everywhere...
So nice and colorful...
Simple but comfortable sitting room...
Another nice details...
Sitting room and kitchen, all you need is here...
Totally equipped kitchen for your meals...
The door connecting directly to the gardens...
Very well organized this Lavender apartment...
So nice...
Lavender´s bathroom..
Another detail from there...
Outside Lavender´s apartment for your meals and rest...
A tipical details from Madeira houses...banana tree..
The main entrance of the mannor house...
There it is, so nice this area outside ...
The whole house, with Lavender on the ground floor and the Orchid apartment on the top floor...
The Quinta seen from outside and the main gate
Lavender apartment prepared with a double bed
Airy and bright apartment with double bed
The outside area private to Lavender apartment
Great view from Lavender apartment
So nice this exterior area....
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thank you so much and we can't wait to be back 😊”
Reviewed November 24, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Helena and Roberto,
Thank you so much for making our holiday so very special.
We booked a week away to celebrate Andrew's birthday, just nice enough, warm and conformable. We were blown away by Quinta Esmeralda, amasingly beautiful building and gardens you are so lovingly restoring to it's former glory. You two are amazing and we feel very privileged to have spent a week in Quinta Esmeralda enjoying your wonderful hospitality. The birthday cake was fantastic, hopefully one day I will be able to steel the family recipe. We can't wait to be back and thank you so much for everything ❤

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth J
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Funchal, Madeira Magic”
Reviewed November 18, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

A real gem within 15 minutes walk of Funchal, albeit, downhill. A very comfortable apartment (Orchid) that has all required amenities and glorious views over the harbour and sea. Helena and Roberta are very congenial hosts, full of local information about things to do and where to eat. The apartments are on a bus route which is a very convenient and cheap method of travel back from Funchal. We will be returning no doubt.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 20, 2017
Thank you so much for your kind words and
See you soon!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBRIPHIL
Paris
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Quinta with amazing view and plesant location”
Reviewed September 2, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Pleasant location and beautiful view of Funchal, this historical quinta also benefits from a pleasant swimming pool, other facilities and in particular, the gardens are still being restored, in addition to the flowers and trees already planted.
The rooms are pleasant to live in, it sometimes only needs some small finishes to go towards comfort and practical sense undeniable.
The owners, Helena and Roberto, can only be congratulated for having undertaken these conversations, and thanks to their perseverance, they have managed to revive this delightful property.
Thanks also to Helena for her advice on sightseeing, good restaurants nearby or a bit further afield.
Close by is an excellent bakery, snack bar and a grocery store nearby, with a bus stop right next door very convenient

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainerz37...
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Really a place meeting all requirements for spending great holidays”
Reviewed June 4, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

A well-tended park welcomes behind a big iron gate leading to a manor house and passing a nice swimming pool. Wrought-iron corkscrew stairs bring up to the apartment Orchid on the second floor. The perfect view on downtown Funchal and the harbor invites to stay on the little covered terrace before stepping into a charming 1-room apartment lovingly decorated. There is a large and comfortable bed and a big wardrobe. The bathroom is new and just perfect. The kitchenette contains all one needs. Three large windows one of which opens to a little balcony perfectly match the plastered white ceiling decorated with an appealing lustre. Cable-TV provides many foreign programs, and there is a WLAN router in the apartment enabling very strong and stable Internet-access.
The Quinta Esperanza is just a 15min walk away from downtown Funchal and a bus stop at the gate provides additional comfort.
Finally, he landlords, Helena and Roberto are genial, personable and their hospitality is just great!

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 4, 2017
Thank you so much for your detailed review and we were honored with your presence. Wish you all the best and hope to meet you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karolina...
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful quinta with stunning views”
Reviewed May 28, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We have just came back from our holiday in Madeira. We stayed in Lavender apartment which is on the ground floor with a stunning views over the city and the sea. Our apartment was very spacious and had well equipped kitchenette. Shower was very powerfull.

Upon our arrival Helena welcomed us with complimentary breakfast as we arrived in the morning. We were provided with pool towels also.

Apartment is situated in very attractive location - 10-15 mins walk to the old town and about 20mins walk to city centre.

There is a supermarket and lovely bakery nearby and free car park if you would have a car. Very easy access to motorway.

We would definitely come back to Quinta.

The only reason why we (a couple) didn't give 5 starts is that we had 2 twin beds instead of a double and it felt like we are sleeping in the separate bed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 4, 2017
So sorry for that...you arrived at the same day that new mattresses were replaced and our linen didn't fit them properly. Now everything is fine and beds can be prepared both for single or double bed.
Hope you will be back and enjoy this extra sized 1.80x200 bed.
All the best from Madeira.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreeams...
Paris, France
1 review
“A dreamy place to spend your holiday”
Reviewed March 20, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

I spent 4 nights in Orchid flat, my comment is simple: if you want to wake up smelling the Madeira flowers, have an amazing view over the ocean, have Carla offering you one of the best cakes I have ever tasted, have a wonderful exotique garden only for you, have a beautiful swimming pool who waits for you, a great view over Funchal, a romantic dinner on a big terrasse having a great view over everything, don't hesitate any book Helena's appartment. It's the best place you can book in Funchal. It may seem a bit too much what I say, but it's just our feeling ! It was perfect!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynn431
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous apartment”
Reviewed March 6, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We have just returned from a week staying in the Orchid apartment in Quinta Esperanca. Helena and Roberto have created a beautiful place to stay and they have a wonderful knack of making their guests feel right at home, they are so friendly and inclusive. The apartment is very well appointed and on the top floor affording spectacular views from the private terrace and perfect for viewing the sunsets. Everything from the ceiling downwards is well thought out (I loved the ceiling)! This apartment is one of five in the Quinta which makes for a lovely atmosphere, with all the guests getting along if wanting to even though each is very private. The pool area is within the well kept gardens and is available to use any time day or night. It is up a hill but this is to be expected on Madeira. There is a bus stop right outside the property gates which takes you directly into the centre of Funchal in a few minutes in one direction, and to the Botanical Gardens in the other for under 2 euros. Being close to the old town, you get the best selection of places to eat too if you don't want to always self cater. All in all, it was fabulous and we would definitely stay again if returning to Madeira

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 7, 2017
Your description to Orchid apartment will for sure help future guests in their decision for staying there.
Thank you so much for being so lovely guests and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Wish you all the best,
Helena and Roberto.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing