We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect!”
other travelers have booked this property
Absolutely fantastic,  just for our guest´s use
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Absolutely fantastic,  just for our guest´s use
Enjoying a cool beer by the pool, great ....
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
67 reviews
Absolutely fantastic,  just for our guest´s use
Enjoying a cool beer by the pool, great ....
Jasmim, cozy living room with comfort and taste...
Spacey and tastefully decorated this place....
All you need at Jasmim apartment ...
A whole sight of the place at Jasmim...you will love it...
How nice this small detail at Jasmim bedroom...
You will love to sleep here, so calm and quiet...
Your meals at Jasmim dinning area...smells good....
The place for you to prepare your own meals...
Entrance of Jasmim,  among fruit trees and vine yards...
In front of Jasmim apartment, a nice detail...
Beautiful and typical banana tree by the pool...
Blooming flowers in front of the apartments...
Smells good in this kitchen (Magnolia)
Magnolia´s modern bathroom
After a long day, enjoy your rest in front of the apartments
Fantastic place with a unique view ....from the terrace...
Orchid´s comfortable sitting room for your leisure
Enjoy your meals in this dining place (Orquid) ...
So calm and quiet at Orchid´s bedroom...
The best Orchid´s dreams in this place .....
A global look of the Orchid´s apartment...
Private modern WC inside the apartment Orchid
The private balcony just for the Orchid apartment...
Enjoy the view while having your meals at the Orchid...
Brethtaking view over the city and harbour...
So private and nice staying here...
Uau, fantastic ocean view from your balcony...
What to say about this...??Unique...
You will never get tired of watching this view...
Pitangas and the Orchid´s archades on the top of the house...
Such a traditional entrance from the Quinta Esperança...
The view from the gardens...sea all around...
So nice, what´s this ??
Let me introduce you Lavender apartment...!!
Bright, beautiful, comfortable, what else??
A single bed that can turn into a double one...
Soft colors makes your rest even deeper...
Uau, it is looking gorgeous...
What to say, absolutely gorgeous...
Details and ...
Details...
Hummmm....
Missing words...
Everything matches here....
Brightness everywhere...
So nice and colorful...
Simple but comfortable sitting room...
Another nice details...
Sitting room and kitchen, all you need is here...
Totally equipped kitchen for your meals...
The door connecting directly to the gardens...
Very well organized this Lavender apartment...
So nice...
Lavender´s bathroom..
Another detail from there...
Outside Lavender´s apartment for your meals and rest...
A tipical details from Madeira houses...banana tree..
The main entrance of the mannor house...
There it is, so nice this area outside ...
The whole house, with Lavender on the ground floor and the Orchid apartment on the top floor...
The Quinta seen from outside and the main gate
Lavender apartment prepared with a double bed
Airy and bright apartment with double bed
The outside area private to Lavender apartment
Great view from Lavender apartment
So nice this exterior area....
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
HayleyESu...
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed September 18, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed in Orchid for one perfect week on the island of Madeira. We will definitely stay here again when we visit next time. It is a beautiful historic building and our room was on the first floor reached by a spiral staircase. Helena was very welcoming and helpful but her and her husband have other properties and do not live on site. You are given a key for the gate into the property and left entirely to your own devices, as I like it and why we always choose self catering holidays.
I couldn't have been happier staying here, I am so glad we discovered it!
It is only a short walk to the old town but a steep walk back. We had a hire car and I am so glad we did! Parking very cheap so we found it easier to drive and it meant we could freely and easily explore the rest of the island.
We would so highly recommend and cannot wait to return again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2016
Thank you so much, look forward to heaving you back.
Meanwhile wish you the best.
Helena and Roberto.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithling
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just lovely!”
Reviewed June 29, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

When booking Helena could not have been more helpful, it was a shame we did not get to know her as after welcoming us she and Roberto were away for few days, but we were left with email, telephone numbers and assurances that if there were any problems to contact her and someone would be with us straight away, but everything was fine.
We stayed in one of the three studio apartments 'Magnolia' it was very prettily decorated, clean and very well equipped with everything you need, all apartments had use of a separate garden room with washing machine, iron etc and bbq for guests use.
The gardens and pool area are lovely with plenty of sunbeds and nooks and crannies to sit and enjoy the stunning views over Funchal and the harbour where you can see the cruise liners coming in.
It is a steep 10/15 min walk down to the sea and old town, we are both 70 and did not find going down a problem but didn't feel like walking up so hopped on a bus, which stops outside or took a taxi for 5 euros, check bus times though as they can be an hour apart but they are on time and go past the Quinta to the Botanical Gardens.
There is a small supermarket with a butchery and the best bakery and coffee shop just a short walk away ( and we noticed what could be made a short cut from Helena and Roberto's garden in the future! ) also a small bar is 5 mins down hill.
The one tiny drawback - there is a dog that tends to bark nearby ( we worried that it is left on its own ) but that could happen anywhere.
We really loved our stay and could not believe how welcoming,helpful and friendly ALL Madeirans are.
We will be back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howie0114
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heavenly Quinta”
Reviewed April 25, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Lovely, comfortable, clean and fully equipped cottage with own swimming pool and garden area. Helena and Roberto were so welcoming and helpful. They even arranged transfers to and from the airport. 10 mins walk from old town, which is lovely, and bus stops outside the Quinta. We would fully recommend this renovated and heavenly 200 year old property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 1, 2016
Thank you so much, your words are so encouraging for us to continue our work and improving every detail.
All the best and see you soon,
Helen and Roberto.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen B
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Balm for the Soul”
Reviewed January 12, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I am just getting organised after returning from a fabulous Christmas and New Year at Orchid Apartment. I echo everything that Fergus R had to say in March 2015 including the bananas!
There is an amazing feeling of calm about Orchid as it sits alone on the 2nd floor at the corner of the Quinta. It is however accessed by an external spiral staircase so really not suitable for the frail although I am a pensioner and have no problems with it. The private veranda, facing south with panoramic views from dawn to dusk, is my favourite place. When I can finally tear myself away I walk down or catch the bus into town for lunch at one of the many good restaurants. I much prefer the reality of this side of Funchal just above the old town to the soulless hotel zone on the west side. This was my third visit to the Quinta - need I say more?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, Condition, Space
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
henri p
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect place”
Reviewed January 7, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The decor , the view , the host , and the confort everything is perfect
So quiet but not far from Funchal dowtown
So get there you will enjoy

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Superb views!”
Reviewed October 6, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We booked the Orchid apartment as we liked the views shown on the website. These were not disappointing and well worth the spiral staircase for access. The Quinta is clean and tidy with a good pool and beds in large, well maintained gardens. The Orchid apartment is very nice and roomy with good facilities. The shower room is spacious but suffering a little with damp in the shower and the room could do with a little more storage space for clothes. The shared balcony is large and well furnished and a great pace to watch the sun go down - with a drink. The walk down into the town is around 10 minutes and although steep, is quite manageable. You need to keep your wits about you as the traffic is quite erratic and the streets narrow. A taxi ride back is easy and not expensive - around €5. The only, and biggest drawback is the occasional noise from the traffic and the continual barking/howling of the local dogs. It seems each property in this residential area has at least 2 each and they love to spend all day and night making noise! By the end of the week we were glad to be leaving which was such a shame as this is not the owners fault.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The barking dogs!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus R
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing Place”
Reviewed September 30, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Stayed at the Quinta Esperanca March 2015. A perfect place to stay in Maderia. The apartment was clean, well furnished and set out. It was lovely to be able to open the door and windows and look out onto (and sit in the) the beautiful and well kept garden. A perfect place for breakfast/ evening glass of wine. The owners were v friendly and always helpful (providing lots of tips for places to visit/eat).

Handy parking nearby and approx. 15 min walk to the city (town?) centre. The fact that the apartments are located in the old part of town was perfect for us, away from the big hotels and amongst the locals and a fantastic bakery (also serving amazing coffee). Local shop is small but has all you need and v friendly.

Only point of warning being that the walk into town is v steep, we are not fit but the walk was fine (sharpened the appetite), however for elderly/disabled this may be an issue.

I have never felt inclined to leave a review on Tripadvisor until now, which tells you all you need to know.

Oh and the local bananas are the most bananary bananas you will ever eat. Delicious

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing