We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Tranquil and comfortable”
4.5 of 5 bubbles
other travelers have booked this property
Absolutely fantastic,  just for our guest´s use
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Absolutely fantastic,  just for our guest´s use
Enjoying a cool beer by the pool, great ....
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
57 reviews
Absolutely fantastic,  just for our guest´s use
Enjoying a cool beer by the pool, great ....
Jasmim, cozy living room with comfort and taste...
Spacey and tastefully decorated this place....
All you need at Jasmim apartment ...
A whole sight of the place at Jasmim...you will love it...
How nice this small detail at Jasmim bedroom...
You will love to sleep here, so calm and quiet...
Your meals at Jasmim dinning area...smells good....
The place for you to prepare your own meals...
Entrance of Jasmim,  among fruit trees and vine yards...
In front of Jasmim apartment, a nice detail...
Beautiful and typical banana tree by the pool...
Blooming flowers in front of the apartments...
Smells good in this kitchen (Magnolia)
Magnolia´s modern bathroom
After a long day, enjoy your rest in front of the apartments
Fantastic place with a unique view ....from the terrace...
Orchid´s comfortable sitting room for your leisure
Enjoy your meals in this dining place (Orquid) ...
So calm and quiet at Orchid´s bedroom...
The best Orchid´s dreams in this place .....
A global look of the Orchid´s apartment...
Private modern WC inside the apartment Orchid
The private balcony just for the Orchid apartment...
Enjoy the view while having your meals at the Orchid...
Brethtaking view over the city and harbour...
So private and nice staying here...
Uau, fantastic ocean view from your balcony...
What to say about this...??Unique...
You will never get tired of watching this view...
Pitangas and the Orchid´s archades on the top of the house...
Such a traditional entrance from the Quinta Esperança...
The view from the gardens...sea all around...
So nice, what´s this ??
Let me introduce you Lavender apartment...!!
Bright, beautiful, comfortable, what else??
A single bed that can turn into a double one...
Soft colors makes your rest even deeper...
Uau, it is looking gorgeous...
What to say, absolutely gorgeous...
Details and ...
Details...
Hummmm....
Missing words...
Everything matches here....
Brightness everywhere...
So nice and colorful...
Simple but comfortable sitting room...
Another nice details...
Sitting room and kitchen, all you need is here...
Totally equipped kitchen for your meals...
The door connecting directly to the gardens...
Very well organized this Lavender apartment...
So nice...
Lavender´s bathroom..
Another detail from there...
Outside Lavender´s apartment for your meals and rest...
A tipical details from Madeira houses...banana tree..
The main entrance of the mannor house...
There it is, so nice this area outside ...
The whole house, with Lavender on the ground floor and the Orchid apartment on the top floor...
The Quinta seen from outside and the main gate
Lavender apartment prepared with a double bed
Airy and bright apartment with double bed
The outside area private to Lavender apartment
Great view from Lavender apartment
So nice this exterior area....
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Visit100
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquil and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Stayed in Lavender apartment, very comfortable. We enjoyed the lovely private terrace and swimming pool. The Quinta has a very interesting history and is being lovingly restored by Helena & Roberto who are friendly hosts. We enjoyed the views across the bay from the top floor. Buses stop outside the Quinta for easy access to the town and Botanical gardens - but they wont disturb you. 10 mins walk down the hill takes you to the sea & restaurants, the walk back is uphill! We enjoyed our stay very much. We suggest providing some up to date brochures on Funchal attractions would be useful. However if you take your iPad/tablet with, there is wifi.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Sun terrace and pool
Liked least: need more up to date info on attractions in Funchal
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 7, 2013
Thank you for such nice words... we are happy to se that you enjoyed your stay at Quinta Esperança...
Your detailed description shows the reality about our place, location and view....surely will help other guests too...
Hope to see you again in the future, maybe coming along with some friends.
Wish you both all the best,
kind regards,
Helena and Roberto.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather23...
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful house,beautiful grounds, lovely swimming pool.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

The house is lovely our apartment fairly compact with lovely bathroom. Beautifully decorated. The outside of the property is magnificent, your own outside areas with table and chairs,views out to sea, watch the boats as you eat breakfast. Have a swim and relax on the loungers by the pool. Walk up the hill to the fabulous bakery and do try the custard tarts. Helena and Reberto are working very hard to improve and develop this lovely old property. Had a lovely relaxing time.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The outside areas, gardens,pool,patio area.
Liked least: The return walk up the hill. But just take the taxi
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 7, 2013
Dear Ladies...
We did love meeting you both, always so nice talking to you about your holiday experiences and also about our plans in Quinta Esperança.
We are happy to see that Lavender apartment suited you and you enjoyed staying there...
Sincerely hope to meet you again in the future to see all our improvements.
We wish you both all the best,
Kind regards, Helena and Roberto.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter2008
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay in Funchal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

My wife and I stayed one wekk in the Orchid apartment on the top floor of this lovely old building which was once a private house and then a hotel. The view from the terrace was wonderful (and the town put on a fireworks display on our first night there) and we never tired of it.

The apartment was nicely decorated by our hosts, Helena and Roberto, who arranged transport from and to the airport and saw us settled in.

The walk into town is an easy downhill stroll but the frequent bus service has stop right outside the gate and the fare is very cheap. The streets of the town are the steepest we have seen on our travels, so making use of the buses is recommended as a car is not really needed.

The Orchid apartment has the best views of the four and is recommended. Just one thing to note before making a booking: access to the top floor apartment is only by a 30 step spiral wrought iron staircase which is narrow and not suitable if you don't like heights.

Take the hosts' advice and make sure you keep all your food in the fridge, because if you don't, ants will find it for sure.

The Orchid apartment was an ideal place to stay for a week in Funchal, and if we didn't live on the other side of the world (New Zealand) we would return for sure.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location and the wonderful view.
Liked least: Ants getting into the food.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea M
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolute delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

It is such a joy to read the reviews of all other people as they only reconfirm what we have experienced during our week's stay in Quinta Esperanca. It all starts in our case with very kind, caring and generous Helena & Roberto who made us feel very welcome and at home at this beautiful house with wonderful sea and town views, spacious garden and most of all, very comfortable and delicately decorated rooms. Me and my friend, we invited our mums for a holiday and this place was a real treat for them. Staying at the Orchid and Lavender rooms, meeting up at the garden seating area in front of our room or in the terrace, we could share a nice time together and rest, watching beautiful sunsets above Funchal. The location was perfect for exploring old town Funchal as well as venturing to other places in Madeira. The clear instructions made it easy to find it. Actually the whole process of booking, arrival, stay and departure went as smooth as possible with prompt email reply from Helena when necessary. Dear Helena and Roberto, thank you very much for this 'absolute delight'. We hope the competition on Sunday went well for Roberto. We hope to see you again at our next trip to Madeira. Andrea & Danka & (grand) mothers :-)

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: 'Personal touch'
Liked least: There was not such a thing
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
docwasp
Sawbridgeworth, UK
1 review
“We will be back; wonderful location, property and hosts.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We stayed in the Lavender appartment which is the smallest of the 4 appartments and is on the ground floor. The room itself is small but perfectly adequate as you will not need to spend much time inside. As described you will spend most of the time outside. There is a table and chairs outside the appartment and although there are 2 other appartments on the ground floor this feels like your own space. There is a 2 storey spiral staircase outside the appartment which takes you upstairs to the covered terrace. This has comfortable chairs to sit, read and drink while taking in the stunning views out over Funchal below. There are large gardens surrounding the house with flowers and fruit trees throughout. We had a large banana plant outside our appartment and there are mangoes and passion fruit as well in the garden. There is an unheated pool which was a little chilly in February!!
The apparments are fantastically placed within Funchal. It is an easy but steep walk down into Funchal old town with its restaurants and bars. It is a stiff walk back but there are plentiful buses back up the hill with 2 routes stopping right outside the house with another 3 routes stopping about 200 yards away near the bakery (The bakery is fantastic with fresh baked bread available from 7am to 11pm 7 days a week).
Helena and Roberto, our hosts, could not have been more helpful. Booking the and paying for the appartment was easy and they arranged a taxi for us to collect us from the airport and take us to the appartment. The property is a labour of love for the owners. The property is a nineteenth century hotel and was then a private house within the family. The property had been in a severe state of disrepair but is gradually been restored room by room. There a big plans for future developments and we look forward to returning to see how they continue to restore the building to its former glory.
Mr Alves, the taxi driver recommended by Helena was also very helpful. He took us to and from the airport but also took us out to start points for walks when the bus service did not suit and he was a mine of useful information.
Thank you again to Helena and Roberto for a wondeful holiday. Keep up the good work in restoring this beautiful house. We look forward to returning to see how things progress and would also like to try out on of your other properties at some point.
Best wishes.
Mark and Wendy

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The gardens and the views.
Liked least: Coming home.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siegburg
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012 for a stay in November 2012
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$357
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing