We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you expect” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pizzaria Luigi

Pizzaria Luigi
Ranked #411 of 598 Restaurants in Funchal
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Littleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“You get what you expect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

As we usually stay nearby at the Hotel Quinta do Sol (closed for refurbishment at the date of our recent visit) this is a convenient eatery which offers a change from the traditional local cuisine.

We tend to opt for pasta dishes which are tasty but not too laden with cream. The starters are simple but tasty.

There is always a friendly front of house service from the helpful Dercia.

It is mainstream food which does not pretend to be of gourmet standard.

You get what you expect.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KBofLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    58
    54
    18
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
138 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“friendly and convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We usually try and visit restaurants traditional to the country we are visiting, but next door to our hotel (Pestana Miramar) this Italian pizzeria was just too convenient to ignore.
Greeted by lovely chatty Dercia , on our first night (Monday arrivals night) everyone seemed to have the same idea and it was bustling and noisy.
Bruschetta starters were unusual (figs were involved) but good, and the crepe with shrimp was absolutely delicious. Huge portions and couldn;'t eat a dessert. Later in the week when the place was much quieter, tried the tuna pizza which was also very good.
Grao vasco deo wine was sharp and fruity and a good choice if you like dry white.
It is part of the Pestana group of restaurants and quite expensive for a pizza place, but was conveniently situated and very pleasant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jabManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

To be honest we only used this restaurant for a late night take away on our first night and It was the obvious choice as it adjoined our hotel (the Pestana Village Resort and Miramar Gardens - lovely hotel by the way). I am not one who likes an Italian pizza, in fact my favourite ones can only be found high in the French Alps!

As far as pizzas go this was a very good one and my other half thought her's was lovely (salmon and something). I wanted Parma ham on mine and they rightly asked me if I wanted it put on after the rest of the pizza was cooked which shows a good knowledge of their ingredients.

Apart from the price we had no complaints at all but we didn't eat in choosing instead to chill out in our room. Can't say anything about the pasta dishes, sorry. One thing was handy though because we were staying at a Pestana hotel we could get a 10% discount and charge it to our room (the is a reward point system in Pestana Hotels and points mans free nights - so if you can afford them use them!).

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DoctorLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stumbled on this pizza restaurant opposite Reid's hotel on the main road. Just fancied a pizza and it looked clean and attractive inside. Didn't notice the prices on the menu as the manager came out and invited us in. My husband had a fig based brioche as a starter and I had soup - my husband found his pretty much inedible. Two ordinary pizzas, a bottle of house wine and a couple of V&Ts to start came to over 72 euros with the pizzas about 14 euros each. But the price aside, the food was not great and our waiter was popping out regularly and returning smelling strongly of smoke - which is rather offputting for non smokers - we were there less than an hour and as soon as we paid the bill the staff switched the music off and left us sitting in silence to finish our wine.

We didn't try pizza anywhere else in Funchal but we did try some of the restaurants in the top 10 on Trip Advsior and a few others ranked 25-30 in Funchal and found them all of excellent quality. At Olives a three course absolutely excellent meal with fillet of beef, roast rack of lamb, wonderful starters, brilliant deserts, a bottle of good house wine, coffee and madeira came to 65 euros - which is food for thought....

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Webberley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Garston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Reliable but not without faults”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

After 10 years of visiting Funchal and this restaurant a review is due. It's an OK pizza/pasta restaurant convenient to the area. The staff are friendly and the menu predictable and OK. We still go there for convenience but there are better 10 minutes away.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaqal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzaria Luigi also viewed

Madeira, Madeira Islands
 

Been to Pizzaria Luigi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing