We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well worth the cost”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
5 reviews
Sitting Room/Hallway
Dining Area
Sitting Room
Sitting room
Bedroom
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bathroom
Outlook
Outlook from Kitchen
Kitchen
Breakfast table in kitchen
Patio table and chairs
The entrance
sitting room wall
sitting room wall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
urs58
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well worth the cost”
Reviewed April 11, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

For a budget apartment it is fairly well equipped. The location is ideal to travel to either end of Funchal, using frequent bus services if needed, from a bus stop 5 minutes away. I walked everywhere, including to the 17th century Santiago Fort at the far eastern side of town. You can enter it for free and climb to the top for fabulous views. One of my favourite places is still Santa Catarina Park, looking down into the harbour and across the bay of Funchal.

The apartment is located off a side road, down a footpath that accesses 4 private houses. It feels very safe and secure for a solo female traveller. The narrow path you can see in the photographs, allows for about 5 to 6 hours of sitting in the sun.

The local housekeeper provides a friendly welcome and you are given her contact details, which I didn't need to use, but is nice to have. The best and cheapest supermarket is a 12 min walk away, supporting your budget holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Dark living area
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrmailman...
Ludlow, ma
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Adorable apartment, close to downtown Funchal,”
Reviewed March 10, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

This is just the cutiest old world appatment in a great location near the center of Funchal. Given the low cost of the rental i was completely supprised on how really nice the accomodations were upon our arrival.
The appartment is more like a small home with a private entrance and with excellent security.
Since we no longer carry our lap top when we travel, the owner went the extra mile and installed WiFi, so i could easily monitor my own vacation rental business back in the states.
The property has a clean well equiped kitchen, a bath with a large tub, which always is not the case, a cloths washer, and living area, and a bed room, with a small room to iron or prepare your cloths. A pull out couch in the living room is also present.
A bottle of wine, with maderia cake was a nice welcoming gift.
This was a GREAT value!
The staff and myself were well conected with the owners, elaine and Richard.
So final analysis...if you like saving money, want a clean safe place to stay, don' necessarily want to rent a car, this is the place for you.
Oh yes, there is a casino 3 minuters away by foot as is the funchal coast.
It was my good fortune to have discovered this property.
Thank you Elaine and Richard,

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilde L
Oslo
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Quiet place - perfect location”
Reviewed February 18, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We spent one week in Funchal, and wanted to live somewhere convenient for bustransport around the Island. It is in short walkingdistance to all buses, restaurants both good "local" ones and downtown the old city. The flat is perfect for two, clean and well equipped. Both the owners and the driver who picked us up at the airport were very friendly and helpful. We would definately recommend staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and value
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie...
Sannois, France
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing