We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very spacious, very comfortable and convenient...”
other travelers have booked this property
Big doors directly to the two (2) huge balconies.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Big doors directly to the two (2) huge balconies.
Building front of the sea down to Doca Cavacas natural swimming pool and Praia Formosa (beach)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Big doors directly to the two (2) huge balconies.
Building front of the sea down to Doca Cavacas natural swimming pool and Praia Formosa (beach)
HUGE balcony view front ocean
Huge balcony front Ocean view
Huge rear balcony, Cabo Girão sea and montain view. Back yard and garden of the condo
View front balcony. All  doors of apartment give way  directly to  huge balconies for the OCEAN
View from front balcony
From out buiding down to Doca Cavacas natural swimming pool and Praia Formosa (beach)
Complete family bathroom also with shower
En-suite complete bathroom with jaccuzi also with shower
Hug balcony 24 sq meters only sea in front and Promenade
Promenade - Zarco statue just out of the buiding and view from balcony
Spacious main bedroom with big door to balcony
Second double bedroom with big door to balcony
Ample cupboard space
Stunning view of Cabo Girão from balcony
Portuguese Caravela passing by in front of balcony
Along the Promenade
Natural Swimming pools along the Promenade few minutes from apartment
Cabo Girão sun rising view from balcony
Esplanades with cafes along the Promenade
Doca cavacas natural swiming pool and way down from the building
view from varanda
Funchal  the building is in cape just after the Bay
View from Cabo Girão the building is just in front of the ocean rigth in the first cape
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Zzeuss
Zzeuss
1 review
“Very spacious, very comfortable and convenient for all amenities”
Reviewed November 25, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

There were only two of us staying, so we found the apartment more than adequate for our needs. The views from the balcony over the sea and to Cabo Girao were stunning at times, particularly at sunset, and the apartment building is perfectly located for buses (although very noisy at times) and for walks along the promenade and along the beach to Camara de Lobos.
The apartment has all the facilities you would need, including a comprehensive television set-up, but would perhaps benefit from a mirror or two in the bedrooms. It is also in an excellent location for restaurants and shops.
All in all, it was a very enjoyable stay, and we would definitely stay again if Madeira and its wonderful climate are in our plans for next year.
Thank you again to our hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 10, 2017
Dear guest, Thank you for your decisiton of staying at my apart. I am sure you were happy there.
Regards
Gracinda de Abreu
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Reviewed October 15, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good location with a great and convenient bus route in Funchal
Liked least: Bathroom too dark needed more lighting especially for drying hair and makeup, just a lady thing !!
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Guy A
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous, spacious apartment.”
Reviewed September 13, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Lovely apartment, very spacious, great views from front and rear. As described. Our hosts on WhatsApp if we needed them. Great WiFi, new 42" LCD TV, loads of towels, sheets, etc. There were 6 of us for the first few days and it was still very spacious. Great, quieter location very close to sea pools and lidos. Pizzas next door were a staple diet for our boys, and when we cooked, utensils were ample. We got bus cards charged in the supermarket next door for cheaper transport and a family card for the local swimming facilities at the first lido to the left (5 Euros per adult, we thought, was a bit steep). If you can, hire a car, skywalk and teleferico (cablecar) at Capo Girao and the caves at Sao Vicente and pools at Porto Moniz were well worth a visit . Thoroughly recommend this area and apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Balconies, kitchen and secure parking.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2016
Dear Guy A,
Thank you for chose my apart It was very nice to have you as guest and I hope you come agian as many other of our guests.
Regards
Gracinda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travel623...
1 review
“Exceeded Expectations”
Reviewed August 18, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The Bonimar condo exceeded expectations: check-in after hours was prompt and efficient, the condo is very well equipped, and the views are outstanding! The condo is immaculately clean and it was easy to prepare meals in the well-equipped kitchen during our three-week stay in mid-summer. I appreciated that everything worked well - the Internet connection never faltered, and we had access to a good variety of TV channels. The location is very good and I enjoyed daily swimming in the tidal pools just below the condo and at the black pebble beach nearby. There are very good restaurants located within 2 - 5 minutes of the condo, a grocery store is located within the adjoining complex, a tourism office to buy tours is nearby, and the local bus stops in front of the building. I highly recommend Bonimar and appreciate the owner's dedication to offering an excellent product. My only reservation is that people with mobility issues may find the area challenging - there are steep inclines and stairs. However, this is the terrain of the island and the majority of people will enjoy the walks in the area. I give this property a 10 out of 10!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious, well-equipped, and good location!
Liked least: Mattress in main bedroom.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2016
Dear Lorraine,
I am happy you enjoyed your saty. Thank you for informing other guests. We have many requests for long stays and with your review you gave us a help. It was nice to have you there and hope you retur, as many others. Gracinda de Abreu
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geoffreyb...
Billericay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment with great views”
Reviewed April 9, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment was very clean , comfortable and well equiped. Great views from the balconies and just a few paces away from the promenade walk into Funchal. Convenient for walking along the beach to the pretty village of Camara de Lobos. Bus stop right outside for Funchal- buses cheap. We had a great time and would go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views from balcony
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J0llies
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Apartment - check location though”
Reviewed January 29, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
6
people found this review helpful

Just had a lovely week at this Bonimar apartment. Before I mention all the positives, just want to point out that the location shown on the map isn't accurate. It's actually on Rue da Ponta da Cruz which is a good mile or so west of where it is indicated on the map. This means it is still possible to walk into Funchal but to get to the old town would be a good 45 minutes. Having said that, the regular bus service stops right outside the door and costs a couple of euros to be in the old town in 10 minutes. Also this end of Funchal we found quieter and had the benefit of the lovely promenade walk both ways - into Funchal or the lovely walk to the fishing village Camara de Lobos. There are plenty of good restaurants within comfortable walking distance (Cris's we would particularly recommend), without having to go into the centre, although the Old Town offers something different so worth a bus in a couple of nights at least. The apartment itself was beautifully clean and spacious and equipped with everything you need for a comfortable stay. The main selling point is the big balcony which gets the sun all day and is a lovely place to eat, drink, people watch or just gaze out over the ocean which seems a stone's throw away. The supermarket 1 min walk away is an added bonus. We hired a car as wanted to get out and about under our own steam so the secure parking space with the apartment was really convenient. Overall I would definitely recommend this apartment as an excellent base to visit the beautiful island of Madeira.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The balcony and view
Liked least: Mattresses a bit hard
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 26, 2016
Dearest guest,

Thank you very much for your review. I am very happy you enjoyed nyour stay at Madeira and you felt well in my apartment.

I will check out about the LOCATION IN THE MAP as I was sure that it was correct having in mind that the exact location - down Rua da Ponta da Cruz, Edificio Bonimar, 3º W, just in front of the sea, is a better location to be averted than the one you referred.

I hope to have you again at my apartment, as so many guests that have been repeating their stay.

Kind regards
Gracinda de Abreu
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
5
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and location
Liked least: having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing