We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house in great location”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Local swimming pool, Reid's Hotel + access to the sea
View/outlook from top terrace
Mountain view from top terrace
Golden Shower plant on afternoon terrace
Corner of patio garden
Main bedroom
Sitting room(upper level)
Lovely view from nearby
Santa Catarina Park nearby
Funchal Flower festival
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Jeremy W
1 review
“Lovely house in great location”
Reviewed April 12, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

The house is exactly as shown - although its not clear from the description and photos that its also set back along a narrow private lane, which makes for extra privacy. Inside it is spacious and well set up and equipped. Outside a well kept and lovely small garden along with two balconies provide plenty of choice for eating and following the sun. Views from the upper balcony are nice - including a good view of nesting Kestrels for our stay.

You can't get away from hills in Madeira, so the house is ideally located at the top of modest climbs from both the old town one one side and the newer commercial and lido areas on the other. Nearby shops, cafes and restaurants are good, and a walk (or taxi or bus) in either direction provides many more. We loved it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patriciab...
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place”
Reviewed October 22, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Many thanks to Richard & Elaine for allowing us to stay at your wonderful villa Quinta Elena with all its excellent facilities and so central to Funchal town centre. It had all that we required, spacious rooms in traditional style, comfortable beds and the private garden. There was a very good bakery, shops and eating places nearby, especially the Le Bistros which is highly recommended, where we dined on a couple of occasions served by Nico with his friendly manner and wonderful charm and Philippe the French chef for his tasty cuisine. We thoroughly enjoyed our 10 days in Madeira and it all seems to have been so short and brief now that we have had to return home. Our taxi driver and tour guide Manuel was very informative about the history and culture of the island and took us on absolutely breathtaking trips to amazing viewpoints and places of interest around Madeira. Manuel was very knowledgable, spoke very good English, was kind and considerate in his manner and an absolute gentleman and a pleasure to have as a guide. Would certainly recommend this property and its location to Funchal town centre as a place to stay.
We would certainly love to return to this property.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1966Darre...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed July 2, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This is a great place to stay, we have stayed here twice now it's so Central to the town and lido bars and shops.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kath042
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spacious and traditional”
Reviewed June 8, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The Location was very good for walking into Funchal, and there was a small supermarket and bakery within 5 minutes of the villa. The garden was very private and well tended. The bedrooms were a good size and the beds were firm but comfortable. It was traditionally furnished with plenty of chairs and it was great to have 3 different outdoor spaces for different times of the day.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1966Darre...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Place Great Location.”
Reviewed August 15, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is a great place to stay great location. Great views from the middle and top level. Very clean plenty off room. Great gardens.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2016
Dear Darren,

Thank you for doing us a nice review.

Best wishes.

Yours sincerely,

Richard T S Harris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgethe...
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Character, Comfort and Great Hospitality”
Reviewed May 20, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked Quinta Elena for a week in May and were not disappointed. The place has great character and, unlike some "character" places we have been in was also modern and comfortable. We were met at the airport (part of the rental!) and shown round the [place straight away. The back yard is adorable and clearly they are very keen gardeners (cuttings supplied!). It is within 10-15 minutes walk of the very centre of Funchal but there are many excellent restaurants a patisserie with cakes to die for just round the corner.
All in all a thoroughly enjoyable stay and we wish we had booked two weeks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 26, 2016
Dear George,

Many thanks for your nice review. I am sure it will help us to get more bookings. Richard T S Harris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LordBelve...
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No plastic windows here”
Reviewed January 25, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Spacious old house furnished with antique furniture. 2 balconies to sit out on, as well as a private walled garden. Well equipped, although the provision of bins to enable the recycling of rubbish would be a useful and environmentally positive addition. Comfy beds! The house was well run by the housekeeper, Emilia. Only a 10 minute walk from the town centre, (15 minutes coming back!), with good access to buses, and yet quietly situated. Not often that we'd consider renting a property twice, but we would do with this one.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing