We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable way of seeing Funchal”

Yellow Bus Tours Funchal
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.65*
and up
Funchal Hop-On Hop-Off Tour 3 in 1
Ranked #25 of 99 Tours in Funchal
Type: Bus Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Let Yellow Bus Tours be your guide to the best that Funchal has to offer. Travel to all of the most interesting tourist sights by open-top bus and discover the city at your speed with our 24-hour passes. Our tours are hop-on, hop-off which means you can take any bus you want whenever you want for the duration of your ticket.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Enjoyable way of seeing Funchal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Getting around Funchal is quite easy - it's a small city and it's not worth having a car.

There are two bus companies operating open top buses - our hotel just happened to sell tickets for the yellow bus. At 12 euros for a two day pass this hop-on, hop-off service is decent value and enables you to get everywhere you are likely to want to go.

There are two routes - one sticks to a circular fairly central route, the other goes out to Doros, a local fishing village and takes in the local farmers market in addition. One ticket covers both routes..

You are given a set of headphones when first boarding to plug into a multi-lingual port by each seat and the commentary gives basic information as to where you are. Not exactly detailed - but helpful to the first time visitor. Watch out for some slight route variations due to major road works being carried out in Funchal. The commentary does not allow for this.

The central route buses run every twenty minutes or so (so can be used simply to get from hotel to town) but stop at six o'clock so are not available for evening use.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    168
    84
    45
    22
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire Cyclist
Level Contributor
101 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“very friendly and helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We boarded the yellow bus at the main stop #1. The driver & the lady were very helpful and clearly explained that the ticket was valid 48 hours from time of purchase, & that it was for both the yellow and blue buses. There are some fantastic views and you can use to hop around town once you have done your tour. Headphones are provided to keep. We paid 12€ each.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ubhank3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Better than you might think!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We wanted a quick way to have a look around Funchal, and this was so good we spent two days travelling around the city on it!
By planning our stops, we saw loads; visited the Lido and Camara De Lobos, swam in the sea, and visited more shops than we could otherwise have done without spending a fortune on cabs.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Because the ticket is valid for 48hours (the red only lasts for 24),we used the ticket on the blue route day 1 to visit Camara de Lobos for lunch and the following day to transport us down to the cable car for our trip to Monte. On our return we just jumped on another yellow bus, completed the tour and got off close to our hotel near the Lido. Much cheaper than using taxi costing only 12 euro for the 2 days including the headphones. The staff near the Lido selling the tickets were very friendly and full of information. Will definitely use this service again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JGV_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Level Contributor
88 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“yellow versus blue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We decided to explore Funchal one cloudy day via the buses. The choice is quite confusing, yellow red or blue? Our hotel receptionist kindly explained the difference so we decided to choose the yellow bus format of 12 euros for two days trips (being able to get on and off the buses) via different routes. Day one we toured on the yellow bus from our hotel through to funchal and then to the Forum shoppng centre. Hopped on the bus again to the door of our hotel. Great. Day two we caught the blue line (not as frequent) but they go the a fishing village nearby called Camara do Lobos - very quaint and interesting and again hopped on a bus back to the hotel. Well run and on time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Revitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yellow Bus Tours Funchal also viewed

 

Been to Yellow Bus Tours Funchal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing