We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Funchal”

Yellow Bus Tours Funchal
Book In Advance
More Info
$9.11*
and up
Cabo Girão Hop-On Hop-Off Shuttle Tour
Ranked #27 of 103 Tours in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Bus Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Let Yellow Bus Tours be your guide to the best that Funchal has to offer. Travel to all of the most interesting tourist sights by open-top bus and discover the city at your speed with our 24-hour passes. Our tours are hop-on, hop-off which means you can take any bus you want whenever you want for the duration of your ticket.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“First time in Funchal”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Pretty cheap if you use both days and also avoids the hills! However if you want a history lesson forget it, once you move from stop one there are about half dozen references to culture including the 'Beatles' and that is it, I kept thinking my earphones had broken.
Using it to get your bearings though it's quite good value for money.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GOG69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    177
    86
    45
    23
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A reasonable way to get the layout”
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Not nearly as informative as most city tours, but a reasonable way to get around and feel the layout of funchal. We did not manage the blue part of the tour, but this with the two day ticket makes it a resonable price. Well worty getting off at the far end and walking back to town along the coastal path - one or two quiet cafes for lunch.

Helpful?
1 Thank A_Hotel_Visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“getting around”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

ideal for hop on hop off with a 2 day ticket also you do the Funchal city tour

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An expensive uninformative bus trip”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

There are 2 bus companies, the Yellow and Red, offering open top bus rides around the sights in Funchal. We randomly opted for the Yellow bus.
The Yellow bus operates 2 different routes which overlap each other in areas. The more frequent yellow route bus has 20 minute intervals and concentrates on Funchal whereas the blue route bus is less frequent and follows the R101 up to Cabo Girao, the highest cliff in Europe. The last bus on the blue route is about 4pm because it takes longer to navigate the route than the yellow route. I think the last yellow bus leaves the harbour road about 530pm and takes about 45-60 minutes
A 12 Euro ticket gives you access to both routes over a consecutive 2 day period.

We only travelled on the yellow route which started along the harbour road, going past the old town, through the city centre and then onto the west end of Funchal and then back along the coast/harbour road past all the hotels back into town.
We were provided with earphones for the pre-recorded guided tour.
We found it difficult to correlate which attraction we were being told about because the talk often started before the attraction came into view.
We skipped the blue route and drove up to Cabo Girao a few days after.

Funchal is a small city so I suppose there isn't that much to be shown.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank nosharpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“excellent value”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Very good service with hop on hop off available. Headphones for audio guide quite basic.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzieBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yellow Bus Tours Funchal also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to Yellow Bus Tours Funchal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing