We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and good food”

Pizzaria Italiana Xarambhina
Ranked #236 of 615 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great value and good food”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We were looking for a taste of Italian food and didn't want to go far from the hotel. We quickly came across this pizzeria on the end of the restaurant-run on the Old Town end of the Rua de Santa Maria. We liked the fact that we weren't pestered by the 'greeters', fancied the decent sized menu, and asked to be seated. Staff were friendly and helpful when asked about the food enabling us to make the right choices. Service was very good. The pizza was hand-made (unlike some we'd seen whilst out looking) and the pasta dish was very tasty and substantial. The food was just what we wanted, as was the tasty house wine. We enjoyed our experience so much we ate there three times in the week. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    33
    15
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely service”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Walk past the touts in the old town, and enter Xarambhina, where they know that good food and great service trumphs the nagging. It's a pleasant, informal place, great for lunch. Nice pizza, faboulous soup. We had lunch here three times, and were always happy. Best poncha in town - a cool guy that works there makes it himself.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wakefield64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Reasonable meal, nice staff.”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I ate here one evening whilst recently on holiday in Funchal. We sat outside in the cobbled square which was very pleasant. Staff were friendly and particularly helpful with the wine list, refreshingly they recommended their house wine against several more expensive options and it was good. They were also flexible with the menu, we had a main course of tagliatelle which we shared as a starter and then a house pizza which again we shared for our main. The pizza had plenty of toppings but lacked an authentic pizza taste, perhaps a few more herbs would have been better, the tagliatelle by comparison was much better. For desert we shared a home made tiramisu, desert menu consisted largely of ice cream dishes. Prices were reasonable, in fact the cheapest meal out we had in Funchal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Not particularly authentic Italian but food OK”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We visited this restaurant during a recent fortnight’s holiday in Madeira. It’s more café than restaurant but it is in a pleasant location in a small square. We ordered spaghetti bolognese and a tuna pizza. The spaghetti bolognese was a generous serving and homemade but there was no offer of parmesan (or any other cheese) to go on top. The pizza was good although the base was a little thick. It was nice to see Italian wines on offer and we enjoyed the Chianti. Customer service was fine with most of the waiters being friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cringebythecurtains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely people and food”
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We needed to drop mother off whilst we walked around old town and guy said she could sit outside his restaurant and no purchase required.

When we picked her up we felt obliged to buy something and the plates of food passing buy made our decision to have lunch which was no hardship.

I had half portion of king prawn no hardship, 6 enormous prawns were a filing lunch. Mother had Shrimp cocktail which had about 30 prawns in and wife had pasta dish with bolo do caco (garlic bread). Couple of drinks each and all for €25. Lovely stuff nice people and hundreds of pizza leaviing by motorbike in period we were there suggest its a popular place for locals too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cornwallgas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzaria Italiana Xarambhina also viewed

 

Been to Pizzaria Italiana Xarambhina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing