We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aparthotel Imperatriz
Ranked #56 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Reviewed August 27, 2014

I stayed here as I needed to catch the 08.00 ferry in the morning to Porto Santo. This hotel is very convenient indeed for this purpose as it is only a 5 min walk downhill to the ferry.
I stayed in room 202 and could not fault it. The bathroom was nice and the shower great with plenty of power and lots of hot water. The room itself had two twin beds together and the one I slept in was very comfortable. Bed linen etc was perfect. No AC in the hotel so don't try to stay in the room in the afternoon! My room had a small balcony and was at the back of the hotel.Very quiet although being at the back no sea view.Temperature cools quickly at night so sleeping then was no problem.

The very small and old kitchenette was a surprise as was the fridge. Both very handy for a longer stay. Allows for an early morning breakfast on the balcony!

Very friendly staff , hotel is a bit old but everything was clean and worked. Nice pool area where they make the most out of the limited space. Good views.

Not ideally suited to the centre of town although ask for the best way into town. About 15 mins with a reasonably steep climb on the way back.


WiFi didn't work but there is free and surprisingly strong WiFi in the middle of town.

The restaurant BERNINI underneath the hotel was recommended and the grilled fish was excellent. Obviously very popular as it was full a bit later in the evening.

Definitely worth staying again if in Funchal.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank andrewsjohn863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte_Sousa, Manager at Aparthotel Imperatriz, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2014

Dear TripAdvisor Member,

On behalf of our team, it’s a great honor to receive such encouraging compliments that encourage us to keep striving to serve you better! We look forward to welcome you again at ApartHotel Imperatriz.

With our kindest regards,

ApartHotel Imperatriz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 162 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2014

We stayed here for 14 nights in August 2014. The hotel is quite small (27 studios) but very well run and impeccably clean. Reception and housekeeping services could not be faulted. The rooftop pool is fairly small but very well maintained and always clean. Perhaps the only criticism would be the lack of air-conditioning in the rooms, which meant that windows had to be left open overnight and on a couple of occasions there was a fair bit of noise during the night which made sleeping a little difficult. Other than that, no complaints at all and for €48 per night for a large double room with a sea view you really would have to be very critical to complain!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidC00k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte_Sousa, Manager at Aparthotel Imperatriz, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Dear TripAdvisor member,

First of all, please accept our kindest regards and our appreciation towards your review.
It's very nice to know our guest's oppinions and sugestions in order to keep getting better.

We are looking forward to welcome you once again and we will certainly do our utmost to continue to meet and preferably exceed your expectations.

Warmest regards,

ApartHotel Imperatriz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 6 days. Great location, close to the center. Staff were always helpful. Nice roof-top terrace with a small swimming pool. Rooms are spacious, and have a small kitchenette (which provides a good alternative for eating out - and lets you keep your stuff cold).
Good price-quality value!

Only downside: wifi didn't work during our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side can be quite noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Yotam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte_Sousa, Manager at Aparthotel Imperatriz, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear TripAdvisor member,

First of all, please accept our kindest regards and our appreciation towards your review.
It's very nice to know our guest's oppinions and sugestions in order to keep getting better.

However, we were very sorry to know that Imperatriz was not able to exceed your expectations in terms of wi-fi connection and also about room on the street side.

Due to this and in order to avoid that “bad taste in your mouth”, we hope to have the opportunity to personally welcome you back in the near future and make up for your previous visit.
We will certainly do our utmost to continue to meet and preferably exceed your expectations.

Warmest regards,

Aparthotel Imperatriz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Room was simple but OK, excellent beds, toilet and balcony fine.
BUT:
We had to wait until 2;00 p.m. before we could enter our room.

Bath was rusty and the kitchen very minimal.

The parking is a real disaster, a narrow dark hole under the ground and every time parked cars that blocked the entrance / exit. A shame that guests have to pay for this so called service!

There were two very friendly gentlemen at the reception, but the third guy was completely incompetent. Saying hello or good morning was too much, when we came in, he threw our key to us.

There was / should be Wi-Fi but it did not work in the two weeks we spent here.

Room Tip: Hotel is ok, but don't expect too much and if possible park your car elsewere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Hans d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte_Sousa, Manager at Aparthotel Imperatriz, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Please accept our deepest apologies as we were no able to exceed your expectations. We struggle ourselves to improve constantly, so please be assured that many changes will be made as soon as possible.

We would be delighted to have another chance to please you and if possible, to exceed your expectations in a not too distant future.

Kindest regards,

ApartHotel Imperatriz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I have never experienced anything quite like it. Filthy room, "kitchenette" bathroom and balcony. Tried to clean up where the cooking area was and found a 2009 pornographic magazine on a shelf!!! Totally unacceptable.
After a lot of remonstrations was finally moved to a different room which although a lot cleaner was still very worn and in desperate need of a total makeover. There was a dog barking all the time so sleep deprived as well. The "swimming pool" has obviously been condemned, no water in it.
Could never get to speak to the non-existent manager, not surprised as the staff must be embarrassed with what they are supposed to be looking after. This place needs razing not a refurbishment. Anything done to it now if far too late

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte_Sousa, Manager at Aparthotel Imperatriz, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of ApartHotel Imperatriz, please let me take this opportunity to thank you for submitting this review. We do value our guest feedback, and I can assure you that we monitor each review to praise our staff and adjust our services accordingly.

Please accept our deepest apologies as we were no able to exceed your expectations. We struggle ourselves to improve (both our service and our food quality as well as its presentation), so please be assured that many changes will be made from now on.

The magazine pointed by you, was no where to be find and about the pool, it was out of service at the time. Due to that and in order to avoid affecting our guests stay, we have suggested the one located on Hotel Quinta Penha de França, with no associated costs.
Since you have enjoyed this possibility on this Hotel, we do not understand your remark about our own pool.

However, and allow us to say that if this remark and observations were made at the time of your stay at the reception, we would have made everything to change you to provide you an enjoyable stay.

We would be delighted to have another chance to please you and if possible, to exceed your expectations in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,

ApartHotel Imperatriz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed in this aparthotel in Feb. and it was a big desapointment! The place needs to close for refurbishing and lots of other work...,bathrooms are in terrible condition, bathtubs full of rust, room completly outdated, very unconfortable and very depressing! While prices look reasonable, its still too expensive for what they offer. For a litlle more money we could have stayed in a much better place and same good location.
Staff nice and even the main entrance still acceptable, for a simple hotel, but the rooms are ready to be completly demolished. A very unpleasant accommodation and in some way ruined my trip!

Room Tip: There could be rooms with better views but probably will be just as old and runned down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fornalha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte_Sousa, Manager at Aparthotel Imperatriz, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your contribution. At ApartHotel Imperatriz, we really appreciate all the feed back from our guests, as it enable us to continuously striving for more and better.

Let us start but apologizing for not having received our feed back until now. However, we were very sorry to know that we were not able to exceed your expectations generally speaking.

Allow us to say that the ApartHotel was refurbished some years ago, improving our facilities, keeping in mind periodic maintenances in order to preserve and maintain general conditions.

If ​​this remark and observations were made at the time of your stay at the reception, we would have made everything to change you to another room and provide you an enjoyable stay.

Due to this and in order to avoid that "bad taste in your mouth", we hope to have the opportunity to personally welcome you back in the near future and make up for your previous visit.

Kindest regards,

ApartHotel Imperatriz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Stayed for a week before Xmas. Just what we wanted. Very clean. Large room big enough for fishing gear as well as usual stuff. Large bathroom with hair dryer and lots of hot water and clean towels. TV had news and English entertainment but we didnot go to watch TV! Xmas decorations amazing. Great atmosphere. Breakfast fine for us - lots of bread ham cheese yoghurt fruit and lashings of coffee. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room was dark as it was at the back of the hotel but the roof terrace was great. Sun all day and just us to enjoy it. Pool was too cold to enjoy but it is December. Would not hesitate to go there again - perhaps for the wonderful fireworks on New Years Eve. Fantastic value for money.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Irene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte_Sousa, Manager at Aparthotel Imperatriz, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear TripAdvisor member,

First of all, please accept our kindest regards and our appreciation towards your review.
It's very nice to know our guest's oppinions and sugestions in order to keep getting better.

However, we were very sorry to know that the room didn't exceed your expectations in terms of being dark and at the back of the hotel, however and being in consideration that at this time of year we were fully booked, the occupation didn't allowed us to move you to another lighter room.

In order to avoid that “bad taste in your mouth”, we hope to have the opportunity to personally welcome you back to Imperatriz in the near future and make up for your previous visit.

We are looking forward to welcome you once again and we will certainly do our utmost to continue to meet and preferably exceed your expectations.

Warmest regards,

ApartHotel Imperatriz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria
1.1 mi away
Residencial Parque
Residencial Parque
#62 of 88 in Funchal
90 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Monte Carlo
Hotel Monte Carlo
#66 of 88 in Funchal
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Residencial Colombo
Residencial Colombo
#86 of 88 in Funchal
96 reviews
5.3 mi away
Eira do Serrado Hotel & SPA
0.7 mi away
Dorisol Buganvilia
Dorisol Buganvilia
#76 of 88 in Funchal
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Imperatriz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Imperatriz

Address: Rua Imperatriz Dona Amelia 72, Funchal, Madeira 9000-018, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $33 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Imperatriz 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aparthotel Imperatriz is a small family-run establishment conveniently situated in the most upmarket district of Funchal, adjacent to the famous Madeira Casino and Congress Centre, close to some of the city's finest restaurants and bars, about 5 minutes walk from Funchal's harbour and CR7 (Cristiano Ronaldo) museum. The hotel has 27 comfortable studios, each with free wireless internet, private bathroom, hair dryer, balcony, kitchenette, mini-bar, cable TV, direct-dial telephone and a safe-deposit box. Facilities include a snack bar, restaurant, games room, business centre, small library, winter garden, freshwater swimming pool with a sun terrace affording breathtaking views over the ocean, private garage, 24-hour reception and a rent-a-car service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aparthotel Imperatriz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Imperatriz Funchal
Aparthotel Imperatriz Hotel Funchal
Aparthotel Imperatriz Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing