We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful music by a wonderful family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sabor a Fado

Sabor a Fado
Ranked #205 of 598 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $27
Cuisines: European, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a family that sings Fado do a little of everything cook, serve the table and played instruments and sang fado come visit us we will be open arms for allso if you come to drink consumer pays minimum of 7€.5 per person with a right to drink
Newhall, California
Level Contributor
331 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Wonderful music by a wonderful family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was our favorite entertainment/dining experience during our 6 days in Funchal. We enjoyed it so much that we returned a second time. With a great location in the center of the old town plus fantastic fado music and delicious food, visitors to Funchal should not miss this place. We got to know and treasure this wonderfully musical and talented family. They make you feel so welcome as they take orders and deliver dinners while singing passionate fado. Silvia was our server each time and made excellent food and wine recommendations. Pedro, her brother, is a very talented fado guitarist and the rest of the family, including Silvia's mom (Alexandra) and sister-in law plus Susanna Andrade were the singers we so enjoyed listening to. Thirty years ago we visited Lisbon and really didn't enjoy fado. However, this marvelous family made us fans and we now love to listen to their CD's since we have arrived home to L.A.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JoanJ77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    74
    41
    17
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Great food and excellent ambience.Small restaurant .Family run establishment.Staff including the waitress provide lovely music as they present fado, traditional Portuguese songs of life and love.Guitar accompaniment.Really enjoyable.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duluth mn
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

My wife and I recently returned from a two week holiday in lisbon and funchal. In the the old town in funchal we discovered an absolute jewel. Sabor a fado is a family affair.Silvia was our favorite singer,her voice has a wonderful quality much like Nathalie Pires. The mother and aunt have the power and passion of Amalia Ronrigues .The son, his wife and the dad have very mellow pleasing voices.The guitar playing was superb. Food was excellent and prices reasonable.The two evenings we spent at Sabor a fado was the highlight of our vacation. I'am already planning a return visit. Pat and Joyce Mckune Duluth Mn. USA

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank labDuluthMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Evening!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Similar experience to other reviewers. I was interested in hearing some Fado so when we walked past the restaurant one evening we stopped to talk to the ladies on the door. We booked for 8 o'clock but were the first customers to arrive; nevertheless the music started as soon as we had ordered drinks. We enjoyed being entertained, as well as fed - the dishes were fairly basic, good but straightforward, and good value for money. We did buy a CD, but I'm not sure the music will sound the same back in England. Altogether a very enjoyable evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank andy o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Large portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Nice meal, very busy. Large portions, we had a mix meat kebab and a mix fish kebab - very nice. Staff very helpful also explaining menu to us.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank WLK133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabor a Fado also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to Sabor a Fado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing