We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Company”

Madeira Happy Tours - Day Excursions
Ranked #20 of 99 Tours in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Madeira Happy Tours is an official tour operator agency based in Madeira island - Portugal - specialized in Madeira island excursions & levada walks.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Good Company”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Used Marco for a couple of jeep trips excellent uses best companies but at a fair price.Have been on some of his tours before very good. same for jeeps. He also happens to be very friendly same for his staff will use him again all going well when i go back to Madeira next year.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank bobbarclay44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    90
    28
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“North -West Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We changed our booking from a far more expensive tour with another tour company and were glad we did. We had a lady callled Patrice-sorry is spelling incorrect. She has done tours for about 12 years but made every stop so interesting and really did seem to find the area very exciting and beautiful as indeed it was. She was we both felt she was a very skilled driver and needed to be with the height to which we travellled! The company was close to our hotel-Porte Mare but they said they would collect us although we offered to walk to the company outlet. The small van/bus was clean and comfy and was kept as cool aspossible despite the very high temperatiures-30.There were quite a few stops for drinks and toilet and we were always well informed of what was happeing.

When we return which may be in the next few months we will certainly use this company again-thank you

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank NeilYoungForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We went on 5 tours with Happy Tours. They were 1/2 the price of those provided by the tour operators. We had 4 different drivers/guides. Three of these were excellant - they spoke excellant English, were helpful and friendly. The other driver was ok but although this one spoke great Englist in respect of the guiding, they did not seem as comfortable conversing in English as they did other languages. Using Happy Tours we got to cover the whole Island of Madeira at a very good price.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Beth1186478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundrerland, England
Level Contributor
114 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good value for money!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Really enjoyed trip to " Nun's Valley " good half day trip, with pleasent english speaking driver/guide ! bonus was that we were picked up at the hotel & dropped off back at the hotel. The views from the mountain top viewing point ( right at the very top, you have to walk the last part ) were absolutely fantastic, and well worth the money for that alone !!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank keithsunley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford Essex
Level Contributor
187 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Based on previous reviews we went on 2 trips with Happy tours. Nuns Valley plus the North and West tours.
Much better value than the tour operator (Which in our case was Thomson) We made a saving of €60. They pick you up from your hotel in a mini bus no bigger than 16 seats.
If your lucky enough to get Sergio as your guide you will find him very professional and knowledgeable. He told us names of all the plants and flowers etc as well as the history of the island. He also had an excellent sense of humour.
On full day trips they offer an optional lunch at €12 a person for a 3 course meal with drinks included which if you opt out is an even bigger saving than we made!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank holidayfan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madeira Happy Tours - Day Excursions also viewed

 

Been to Madeira Happy Tours - Day Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing