We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing garden”

Monte Palace Tropical Garden
Ranked #4 of 144 things to do in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Open to the public since 1991, the Monte Palace Tropical Garden occupies an area of 70.000 square meters and houses a huge exotic plant's collection, coming from all over the world, together with swans,duck's and Koi fish. The Monte Palace Museum is an ideal exhibition space nestled within the beautiful surroundings of a tropical garden. There are three floors, two of which are dedicated to sculptures and the third houses a unique mineral collection gathered from the four corners of the world. Monte Palace, also includes one of the most important tile collections in Portugal. The tiles exhibited amidst the tropical vegetation represent several ages, coming from palaces, churches, chapels and private houses throughout the former Portuguese empire. We are open everyday except 25th of December. Our prices are: Adults - 10€ Children younger than 15 years old: Free Entrance as long as they are accompanied by adults. Check our new facebook page montepalacetropicalgarden
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing garden”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

At the top of the chair lift this garden is not for the faint hearted - the walks are steep and very beautiful. Cafe at the bottom offered a free glass of Madeira wine to help you climb back up! Fantastic Japanese garden area and amazing waterfall..

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,819 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,428
    1,806
    461
    94
    30
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

A must see. The gardens and are inter woven with lovely paths meandering up and down the landscaped hillside. A lake and waterfalls at the bottom and a cafe with free Madeiran wine half way round.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxing”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I visited the garden after experiencing a bad bit of sunburn, because I was told that it would be shaded and cooler at altitude and they were't wrong! This garden was the perfect way to relax and let my body heal itself. The grounds you walk around are a lot larger than you would expect and you can easily lose yourself in an afternoon walking around each section. The main attraction here I would say is the fantastic ponds near the centre of the garden, which features a splendid waterfall and lovely views of Funchal below.

The gardens also house two exhibits, one all about African sculptures and the other a vast collection of precious stones and gems which are both excellent an well worth a look at.

I would recommend that if you visit here that you take your time to look around carefully as there are many smaller paths that lead to other parts of the garden which are easy to miss if you're not careful. There is a lot going on here and even with a map things can easily be missed, but then that's all the more reason to want to visit again another time!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheoTheTravellingCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great but lumpy pathways”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Loved the gardens overall, nice and cool under trees.

The African sculpture and gem stone exhibitions worth a look.

Free Maderia wine with the admission ticket.

The pathways are ancient and consist in the main of stones inserted into the ground at angles. Not for people with walking problems.

We found the walking there was ok, but when finished we were a the base of a hill, so paid for a trip back on an electric buggy.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank goingonagoodholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

On the side of the mountain I did wonder whether this would be a very hilly walk and we took the route to the right of the ticket office which is probably the way others come back (the very gentle climb) as the history plaques were designed to be read on the more hilly route down on the left hand side of the entrance. This is a lovely garden with plenty for everyone, Japanese elements, lovely waterfalls, plenty of plants and trees and great views. Overall a lovely day out.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara52_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monte Palace Tropical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Monte Palace Tropical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing