We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Barbaric Avery”

Madeira Botanical Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
$221.95*
and up
Best of Funchal Private Tour
Ranked #18 of 144 things to do in Funchal
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A visit to the Botanical gardens provides visitors with the names and origins of the splendid variety of exotic flowers, vegetables, herbs and other useful plants found on Madeira.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Barbaric Avery”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Good views of Funchal, nice gardens, below average food, poorly presented museum, appalling Avery. Lovely creatures kept in bare concrete, wire cages. Boycott this at all costs.

Helpful?
3 Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,462
    1,513
    810
    267
    146
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
123 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“They didn't miss a trick”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

This garden was over the top. More flora and fauna than you can imagine existing... The setting was very beautiful and you don't stop seeing beautiful rare plants from all around the world. A must see.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ParisGlenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

The Jardim Botânico is really beautiful, and very well kept. The view from the garden is breathtaking. There is a new project for this garden which will make it more accessible for people with mobility problems.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Natasha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
234 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A perfectly timed visit”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We visited the Botanical gardens in early May, the flowers were at their peak and it was an absolutely worthwhile experience. We took a tour arranged by Norwegian Cruise Lines and lucked out with a very knowledgeable tour guide. My only complaint was not enough time was given to really relax and experience this place..there is a whole area devoted to birds much of which we had to skip due to the tour schedule. Try to allow 1/2 a day for your visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roadrat1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The formal gardens were impressive but the rest of the gardens we found disappointing. They did not appear to be well tended as you would expect gardens to be in this country. We felt they did not compare well with the beautiful gardens at Monte which we visited during previous visits to this island.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diane I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madeira Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Madeira Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing