We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best fruit / vegetable / fish market” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Workers' Market (Mercado dos Lavradores)

Workers' Market (Mercado dos Lavradores)
Book In Advance
$60.03*
and up
Wine and Food Walking Tour in Funchal
Ranked #36 of 126 things to do in Funchal
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This open market is a hive of activity, noise, color and high-energy, where you can buy any of Madeira's specialties from fresh fish and vegetables to exotic flowers and local crafts. Purchase tropical fruits, vegetables and spices on the upper floor; fish and meat are for sale on the lower floor.
Dufftown
Level Contributor
335 reviews
159 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Best fruit / vegetable / fish market”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We visited the market twice and we were not disappointed with what we bought. First time was more like charity market with stalls from over the island with tasty cakes and sweets. The second time we bought the best ever big chestnuts around. We also bought large garlic bulbs which we now have planted in our garden in Scotland. The different fruits on the ground level of the market tasted very nice too. We stayed away from the top floor.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank René R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    442
    250
    116
    124
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kidlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fruit sellers upstairs are con artists”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

many people have already said this but the fruit sellers upstairs are extremely dishonest and will charge you way way over the odds for their fruit and will sometimes give you something different to what you tasted. The key is to make sure you get them to tell you up front what the cost of the fruit is before you buy it. Also if they get you to try a small cherry like fruit which will be sweet and tasty be careful you don't end up with another small red fruit that is different and tastes sour. Avoid unless you have your wits about you!

Helpful?
10 Thank Spencer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very interesting, colorful but be careful for the prices!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We loved this market, however, be careful, the fruit sellers on the second floor invite you to taste their fruit and although it is delicious, it is very expensive (we bought two mangoes, some passion fruit type things that are local and a few other fruit) and the total came to 33 euros! The fruit was however so lovely when we got to our apartment and we enjoyed it for a couple of days. The rest of the market if very colorful, loud and what I imagine a market should be.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Engela001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Horrible!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had to taste every fruit, the sellers in the second floor are very pushy and the take all your money with a smile, knowing that you as a stupid tourist pay far too much. So be prepared, don't taste the fruits and just walk through.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Ichhabekeinelustmehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Bursting with colour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

The market is a bustling hub of colour from flowers, fruit, spices etc. There is also a fascinating fish market next door, and some souvenir stalls. Refused free samples so did not get hassled by touts.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank lance f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Workers' Market (Mercado dos Lavradores) also viewed

 

Been to Workers' Market (Mercado dos Lavradores)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing