We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“Small” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sacred Art Museum

Sacred Art Museum
Ranked #38 of 126 things to do in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Housed in a former bishop's palace, this museum houses an extensive collection of masterpieces by Flemish artists from the 15th and 16th centuries.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Some interesting pieces but nothing world-class - ok for price (3 EUR) - 2 floors - can be done in 30 minutes - recommendable as there is not much else to see in Funchal

Thank MichaelLondon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A nice surprise to run across”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

This museum was just the right size not to be boring, but suffered from a distinct lack of seating. The art was gorgeous and absorbing but frankly after walking my tush off for 3 weeks all over the island the last thing my back had patience for was standing for 2 hours through a museum. The second issue I had was that very few of the placards next to pieces had a YEAR listed on them, so without seeking out the English packet of info (which I didn't do because my back was killing me and there was no place to sit and peruse it) I couldn't gauge how old the pieces were. Just a bench or two down the center of each room would make it a lovely place to sit and really engage with the art. Otherwise the pieces were truly beautiful.

Visited October 2012
Thank A I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
370 reviews
218 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“Don't buy the leaflet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Takes about an hour to visit. Situated in a palace with stone stairs and cobbled hall. Don't buy the leaflet as it doesn't give much information. I loved the ornate wood-carings in particular a relief of the Last Supper. The restaurant attached is excellent.

Visited October 2012
1 Thank welaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Worth a look if you're at a loose end”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Only 3 Euro entry over two floors. Predictably, very catholic in content. Lots of silver, some sculpture and quite a few paintings. The processional cross of Funchal is housed here. The items are labelled in Portugese only. The additional leaflet offered on entry for 1 Euro is only a history of the collection and does not refer to the individual exhibits.

Visited October 2012
1 Thank Supertr1pper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“The silver is a feast for your eyes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

OK 3 euros to get in but the staff outnumbered the visitors when I was there! Instead of one handout describing the artifacts, each room had separate ones which was confusing at first and frustrating. That said some of the silverware was awesome including a large chest which really took my eye. As it's under-lit to save damage and you can't use a flash the only way to keep a record is with video and whilst my camera has the facility the quality isn't brilliant so a good low lux camcorder is best. The Flemish artists never could paint "young faces", cherubs and the like in the same way the Italian masters did so the paintings were a little unrealistic in some cases with children/cherubs depicted. It's worth a visit to see everything plus the wooden carvings, some have aged better than others ( dreaded worm has struck some!) but when you consider how old they are some have remained remarkably intact.

Visited October 2012
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sacred Art Museum also viewed


Been to Sacred Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing