We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't change a thing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quinta Da Penha De Franca
Ranked #1 of 35 Funchal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We absolutely adore this hotel and, in particular, our room with a view to die for (the number of which we cannot possibly reveal lest it be booked the next time we visit!). However, we are sure that wherever one stays in this beautifully understated yet exotic little piece of heaven, will be wonderful. We like the tradition of this hotel, in contrast to the clinical 5* of those which could be literally anywhere in the world. We even like the slightly wobbly balcony rail in need of a paint - it all adds to the charm - whatever is the matter with those who complain? The receptionists are ALWAYS available and willing to help with local information or booking trips. And the staff in every area of the hotel are welcoming and courteous. We certainly plan to return to our room and view as soon as possible and to catch up on those levada walks not yet enjoyed. Many thanks to you all.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madeiratraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (765)
There are newer reviews for Quinta Da Penha De Franca
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 765 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

The rooms in the old main building are a little worn down, and the tv the smallest I have ever seen. The water has to run for 15 minutes to get warm ( a waste ) and there is not much pressure. The carpet is worn down. Besides that the room was cosy and clean. The area is beautiful and the pools very nice. The restaurant is good, but we prefer the Bernini restaurant up the street. At first we could not find our way down to the pool by the sea, but you take the green backdoor from above the small pool, go down the street 15 meters, across the street, put your finger between the bars of the door which is marked Private, and unlease the lock, cross the bridge to the elevator. You have to take a green towel either by the upper or lower pool. The white towels in the room is not to be used for that purpose.
Despite the above mentioned we would be happy to come again.

Room Tip: We would have preferred a room with a balcony/terrasse but they were sold out. We got a room in the...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

With a little more attention to detail, this hotel could be 5 star. The location is excellent. It has some really good restaurants nearby, and is not far to walk into the centre of town.

We stayed in the main part of the hotel, in the new block, which had a balcony and a sea view. The room was a good size, as was the bathroom.

We could not understand why some things were available, but only on request. We would not have known, unless we had seen on the reviews of the hotel that kettles and cups were provided if requested. The tea and coffee was not, but easily purchased fro the Spar shop nearby.

Bath robes were also available, but again, only on request. It was only when we saw that people had them around the pool that we knew we could ask for them.

Our only other complaint would be the pillows, and the bedding. The pillows were really hard, and there were blankets, rather than duvets (my pet hate, as I think they are very unhygienic ).

But, overall we enjoyed staying here and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The main hotel has more character and the new block overlooking the pool and the sea are the rooms t...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thedearmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Visited "joes bar" restaurant once again , after being there a few times on previous holidays.
We like sitting in the bar area having an aperatif before or meal which has always before been excellent,this time we were slightly disappointed, not with the food,but with what we considered to be an over enthusiastic desire to lay the tables for the following days breakfasts????There were four or five tables with clients still in the garden when the "marie celeste" time began, we tried in vain to politly catch someones eye to ask for the bill but flying eyes were not in vogue and we waited some ten minutes or more before eventually standing up appeared to have the desired effect.As I say food good but comment from one restaurant worker to another not briiliant sorry!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STEVE CLARK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Two years ago my wife and I stayed at this hotels adjacent subsidiary right by the sea,which was very acceptable, but this year we were in the main hotel which was rather better, both in the rooms and the range of facilities. The staff in both are very helpful, but there is much more of interest in the main hotel. Funchal is very hilly and while it is interesting to walk along the mile-long promenade the older hotel is better placed to either go into the City centre or to go to the many good restaurants nearby for dinner.Breakfast is either in the restaurant or on a lovely patio.
Our room was on the second floor on the main block, with large balcony and was well equipped and with plenty of hanging space. It should be noted that there appear to be few rooms with double beds, most are twins. A lot of rooms are in separate small buildings in the large grounds and appeared to be rather smaller without balconies, but a small patio.The gardens are a special feature, beautifully kept with a great many trees and magnificant flowers (in many cases labelled for those interested).There is a limited number of free internet terminals for guests use.
The reception is a rather weak feature and seemed rather understaffed. On more than once there was no one there at all, with the office door shut, which would have allowed an outsider on to the room floors without anyone being aware.
With only that reservation above, this is an excellent hotel for a weeks holiday to see Funchal and the area without being too far from the centre, and with beautiful surroundings

Room Tip: Main block appears to be best,rooms 60 to 80 Do not confuse with the Mar subsidiary
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FernWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We have just stayed here for 6 nights B&B. For about £40 per night (double) it was v. good value. We had room 20 in a small 'house' near a summerhouse, and part of the garden. The rooom was a twin bedded room, with TV, shower/bathroom. There was a minibar, but no kettles, but this was supplied quickly with cups when requested from reception the same day.

The hotel appears a mix of rooms in various buildings, set in tropical gardens with a pool. A little bit dated and eclectic in places, but it was welcoming. Wifi was only available in the foyer, and large sitting room area. A computer with internet access is provided for guests. There did seem olts of steps around, but that probably isn't different from many places.

There is also access to the Q. Le Mar hotel, via an overhead walkway. This was an added bonus and there there are 2 seaside pools and sitting area, next to a bar/cafe. It looks straight out onto the sea. Also access here to the sea, which was too rough for us.

We were very pleased with our find, and would return.

The hotel is next to the Pestana Casino, and is 20 minutes downhill walk into town, and about 30 coming back!

Hotel and restaurant staff were helpful, and came alive when they were subjected to our attempts at speaking Portuguese!

Breakfast was buffet and lots of food and a good range - cooked, or cereal or toast or meats etc.

The evening restaurant was OK, perhaps not as good as a couple of the other local restaurants, but reasonable value - £40 for 2 mains, sweets and a 1/2 bottle of wine. Although the sweets were rather 'shop bought'. Its location was good for choices of eating places, and there are two local Spar corner shops, which were good for bread, milk, wine, snacks etc.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank matthew l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Our taxi incorrectly dropped us off at the Penha de Franca Mar reception, but the receptionist at the Mar quickly arranged for a member of staff to lead us to our reception at the Quinta and sent our bags over to save us taking them. Once in the correct part of the Hotel we checked into room 71, which was large with a side sea view and had afternoon sun on the balcony , also could pick up wifi signal on the balcony as was just above the reception area. The decor is old style Madieran home and the hotel set in beautiful gardens, much prettier than some of the newer high rise concrete jungle style Hotels that have been built in recent years. The walk through the gardens out across the bridge to the Mar, down in the lift and then out to the road leading to town is the easiest, as it avoids the hills , and certainly the best hill less way back to the Quinta. The location of the Hotel is excellent, a pleasant 15 minute walk to town, past the cruise ships that have arrived for the day. Breakfast is serve your self, with ample choice of English style, or continental with various meats, cheese, fruits, juices, 7 or 8 different bread types, croissants and cake, served in the main building, or on the sun terrace, which we were lucky enough to do, with lovely sunny days, even in early November. Thoroughly recomend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Several different types available, choose carefully, ones in the old quinta do not have balconies...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lin09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.0 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
906 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
2,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 88 in Funchal
2,318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#33 of 88 in Funchal
2,873 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#28 of 88 in Funchal
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Da Penha De Franca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Da Penha De Franca

Address: Rua Imperatriz Dona Amelia 85-87, Funchal, Madeira 9000-018, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Funchal
Price Range: $87 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta Da Penha De Franca 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Quinta da Penha de França is situated in the best area of Funchal, with access tp the sea, 76 rooms , beautiful gardens, restaurants and bars. We wish you a very pleasant stay in one of the most traditional Madeira houses. Come visit us.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Quinta Da Penha De Franca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Penha De Franca Hotel Funchal
Quinta Penha Franca
Quinta Da Penha Franca
Quinta Da Penha De Franca Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing