We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All hotels should be like this”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Reid's Palace
Ranked #5 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We had wanted to stay at Reids for many years and having finally done so- all our expectations were met.It is a wonderful hotel service relaxation and fine cuisine.We had requested a room with ocean view but you really need to stay higher than the 5th floor to see over the trees to the harbour.Everywhere you go in the hotel there are photographs to remind you of the famous people who have stayed here over the years and also of times gone by.The buffet breakfast is very extensive and the service excellent. We also made great use of the coutesy bus which runs hourly to the town. We hope to return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rozbobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceManager, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you very much for taking the time for sharing you feedback.

It is a great pleasure for us to understand that you went back home with good memories about your experience with us, and I would like to express my personal, along with all Belmond Reid's Palace team appreciation for your nice words.

Comments like yours are the spring that pushes us everyday to walk the extra miles when it comes to meet our customers' expectations.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back to the Belmond Reid's Palace, and if in the meanwhile you think we might be of any assistance, please to not hesitate to contact us directly.

Wishing you all the best, we remain, with our kindest regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid's Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,546)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

801 - 807 of 1,546 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2014

I stayed for a weekend in the Reid's hotel and everything was excellent: the staff couldn't be nicer, always ready to help you with all your questions; the breakfast was delicious and the room was delightful. As our flight was only at the end of the day, we were allowed to stay in our room until 17.00, without any further costs. The only negative point was the bad smell that came from the bathroom. Furthermore, we were in a Portuguese hotel but the waitress in the pool bar didn't speak a word of Portuguese and I had to order the drinks in English

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Madalena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceManager, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014
Google Translation

Estimada Cliente,

Muito obrigado pelo seu comentário.

Obrigado para ter escolhido o Belmond Reid's Palace.

Com muito prazer aprendemos que gostou da sua estada no Belmond Reid's Palace e, agradecemos imenso as palavras com as quais descreveu a sua experiência connosco.

Queria no mesmo tempo agradecer pelos seus comentários construtivos, que partilhei de imediato com os meus colaboradores assim que sejam tomadas as devidas iniciativas para melhorar o nosso serviço.

Espero de ter o prazer de puder-la acolher novamente aqui no Belmond Reid's Palace.

Com os melhores cumprimentos,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid's Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We stayed here for 4 days, the start of our two week trip to Portugal and Spain. The hotel was beautiful, the room had everything we needed, the view was amazing, but the staff truly made the experience. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful, very professional. The daily breakfast was over the top, and the afternoon English Tea is a must do experience. Overall, a great start to our trip, enjoyed the annual Flower Festival that weekend.

Room Tip: Junior suite was amazing, had a balcony with a gorgeous view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marilyn e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceManager, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you very much for taking the time for sharing you feedback.

It is a great pleasure for us to understand that you went back home with good memories about your Reid's experience, and I would like to express my personal, along with all Reid's team appreciation for your nice words.

Comments like yours are the spring that pushes us everyday to walk the extra miles when it comes to meet our customers' expectations.

I hope I will have the pleasure to welcoming you back to the Reid's Palace, and if in the meanwhile you think I might be of any help, please to not hesitate to contact me directly.

Wishing you all the best, I remain, with my kindest regards,


Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid's Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We have just enjoyed a wonderful weeks holiday at Reids, Madeira.
It is a superb hotel with understated luxury. Every member of the staff were first class whether bringing early morning tea, turning bed's down,reception or food service.
The swimming pools are excellent with choice of 3, and the gardens are spectacular with comfortable seating and so tranquil with just the noise of blackbirds and the sea.
The 2 restaurants were super and we also loved having lights meals on the terrace, so for us it was a perfect holiday not often we can say that

Room Tip: We were in the old part floor 9 overlooking harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cowardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceManager, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear Valued Customer,

Thanks for sharing your review.

We have been really please to read that you had a delightful time at the Belmond Reid's Palace.

On behalf of the entire team, I wold like to pass you our appreciation for your nice words, and our gratitude for your preference.

We all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back to the Belmond Reid's Palace soon.

Many thanks and best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid's Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We arrived on Friday the 2nd of May for a weeks Holiday. After we'd checked in and with our cases delivered to the room, we found ourselves staring at each other in bewilderment. The concierge had been abrupt and unwelcoming, the receptionist had been efficient but not particularly friendly and first impressions of the room we're disappointing. Not at all the 5 star experience we had hoped for.

We apparently had a superior corner room with two windows on the 8th floor. But whilst being a reasonable size not at all opulent and apart from some basic reproduction furniture we found it sparse. The Bathroom was very small with an over-bath shower with the toilet being in a separate cubical across the small Hall. There wasn't even any tea / coffee making facilities.

The following morning after a restless night on the poor quality starched cotton sheets and squeaky floorboards from the room above, we were woken by what we thought was the gardeners mower. On the second day we realised it was actually the motors from the service lift next to our room. Refreshed after our hot then cold then hot again shower we went down for breakfast.

The breakfast room has beautiful views over the pool area into the endless sea but again the majority of the staff are efficient but not particularly friendly. The surroundings are in need of refurbishment and the breakfast was average. We asked if we could have our scrambled eggs cooked individually as the large terrine of scrambled eggs were undercooked for our taste . We were told quiet firmly NO.

The pool area is immaculate as are the gardens, there is also a marked improvement in the staff friendliness. No shortage of beds and some stunning secluded areas on the rocks to sunbathe . We were surprised at the number of children running around the pool, the hotel is obviously popular with families. Lunch at the poolside is acceptable but we felt not value for money.

I wouldn't recommend the Spa, the staff have the same unfriendly ness that blights the hotel and we were exceptionally diss appointed at our treatments, which is a a story in itself .

We had further bad experiences with the concierge service. They recommended a back street restaurant in the old town which was next a bar full of drunks and gave us the wrong directions to the Vine Hotel by drawing on a map to an area nowhere near the Vine Hotel.

The communal areas still have the period charm and the balcony and cocktail bar are exquisite, the perfect place to start and finish your evening. The staff in these areas are of the highest standard as are the housekeeping staff who always left are room immaculately clean with a cheerful greeting every time we met them.

The saddest and most upsetting part of our experience is I know how much planning let alone cost my partner put into what was my 50th birthday surprise present. She was devastated that the whole experience fell so short of what we had expected. It's unlikely that we will be visiting Madeira again but if we did we would stay at The Vine Hotel, it's well worth considering before you book into Reid's Palace.

Room Tip: Check on your Bathroom before booking, our bath was 60cm ( 24" ) high and difficult to get in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wardy359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceManager, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear valuable Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to give us your feedback about your recent stay at Belmond Reid’s Palace as we really appreciate your valuable comments.

I am so disheartened to have learned that you and your wife did not enjoyed your experience at Reid’s Palace and even more disappointed with the fact that we were not able to find out about your dissatisfactions while you were still in-house as this would give me the opportunity to rectify some of the unpleasant experiences you have stated and could have avoided spoiling your stay with us.

Referring to your comments about your room and all the faults you have kindly highlighted, I am very sorry to learn that you did not have a good impression. In what concerns the room allocation, the building is divided in two parts “Garden Wing and Main Building” and not knowing our guests likes or dislikes we try to accommodate them nearer the facilities more used by the guest’s such as pool, breakfast, easy access to the gardens. We will take this remark and should you ever return back to Madeira we will take this preference into consideration. Regarding the fact that the room has dated bathrooms, please understand that we are a centenary hotel with a different splendour of those built today. Nevertheless, we have passed your comments to our Maintenance Department to look into ways of improvement.

With regards to the tea/coffee please understand that Reid’s Palace’s base of construction is all in wood, hence for security reasons we are so strict in not allowing these facilities in the Old Building. We are obliged to follow our fire security plan and prevent and avoid any misfortune that can incidentally occur. Thank you for your understanding.

About the “starched cotton sheets”, I am sorry to read that you found these of poor quality, however please note that our sheets are 100% linen and here at Reid’s Palace we pride ourselves in excellence and do use the best quality 100% linen sheets available in the market from Sampedro brand and yet have not received any negative comments from other guests.

Concerning the lack of friendliness of our staff in most of the areas of the hotel, with the exception of the Cocktail Bar and Pool Bar, I am so disheartened to read that you found our staff "particularly not friendly and unwelcoming". This sort of attitude is certainly not our standards, as we always endeavor to maintain these. Our apologies! The Hotel has for sure a great reputation and we are constantly delivering adequate training and I cannot admit that in such a highly trained and skilled team we had the shortfalls you have mentioned. We are well known for our charming and warm Madeiran hospitality and human resources is really the biggest asset we have. We do not seat on laurels of the past being the training a must and something that we keep doing every year. I have addressed it to the Head of the Department so that actions are immediately taken and corrected.

All your other comments were taken very seriously and have been forwarded to the relative department head in order to review and solution. Our guests are the best judges of our service and, in this sense; we did take your letter as constructive and shall use it as a guideline for the future.
Dear valuable guest, once again I am really sorry that the shortfalls encountered during your stay with us affected your Reid's experience, surely it is neither Belmond Reid’s Palace image nor the way we welcome our guests. As I would not like that you keep a bad taste in your mouth, I would be more than glad to personally take care of your future reservation, should you give us a second opportunity to prove our true hospitality, and on that occasion you will see that your comments were given the attention they deserve.

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid's Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Everything about the hotel was just perfect - from the welcome we got through to the room we were given with a view to die for! Wonderful service throughout the week with delicious food in the most amazing settings - nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. And great weather as an added bonus!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Christopher+G. A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceManager, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you very much for taking the time for writing your review.

We are flattered by your comments. This type of feedback is indeed the fuel that make us step up and walk the extra mile meet our customers' expectations.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back here to the Belmond Reid's Palace in the near future.

Many thanks and best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid's Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We have just come back from Reid's Palace in Madeira. It is a fantastic hotel in every way. Nothing had been forgotten. The accommodation was very comfortable and clean and we had a wonderful view from our balcony. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank jevansx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceManager, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks you very much for you feedback.

It has been a great pleasure to read that we have been able to provide you a delightful experience. On behalf of all the Belmond Reid's palace Team, I would like to pass all our appreciation for your words of vote, and all our gratitude for your preference.

We all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back to the Belmond Reid's Palace soon.

Many thanks and best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid's Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,073 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.2 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#32 of 88 in Funchal
2,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Reid's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Reid's Palace

Address: Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Funchal
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#3 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $328 - $612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Reid's Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on cliff tops overlooking the Bay of Funchal and the Atlantic Ocean, this legendary hotel has, for over a century, been a standard-bearer for excellence. The hotel is located on 10 acres of subtropical gardens, boasts enviable access to the sea and is within walking distance of Funchal's shops, restaurants and night-life. With its reputation for excellence and discreet service, Belmond Reid's Palace is the ideal place at which to relax and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Belmond Reid's Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reid`s Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Funchal
Reids Palace Funchal
Reids Palace Hotel Funchal
Belmond Reid's Palace Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing