We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old school, old style”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Reid's Palace
Ranked #5 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We have just returned from 6 days at the iconic Reid's in Madeira. Our first trip. What a special place! This is old style charm with old style service and attention to detail like no other. Absolutely nothing is too much trouble for the staff here, day or night. The hotel is absolutely spotlessly kept, beautiful fresh flowers everywhere. Housekeeping is fautless too: clean sheets every single day, even on the day before our departure. We were blessed with wonderful weather which of course helps but this place can deliver even without sun. Ambience is one of total relaxation and peace.Food was wonderful too! We will return!

Room Tip: we had a sea facing with a small terrace and it was perfectly adequate to take the air and admire th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patsy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceManager, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you very much for you review.
Receiving comments like yours is indeed a great pleasure and a huge honor. These type of feedback are for us the fuel for the passion in meeting our valued guests expectations.
We are so glad to understand that we have provided you a delightful experience, and that you went back home with nice memories about your experience with us.
We do thank you for your words of vote, and for your preference, and we hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid's Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

802 - 808 of 1,528 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

We are regular visitors to this wonderful iconic hotel. The staff, location, facilities and overall ambiance of Reid's Palace is in our opinion second to none! It is so relaxing and peaceful in total although we love the gardens in particular! Tranquillity personified!! We very much look forward to our next visit

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank AllanFelixstoweUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceManager, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear valued Client,

Thank you very much for sharing your review about your experience at the Belmond Reid's Palace.

It is always a great pleasure receiving such lovely comments which make us proud, and at the same time give us huge motivation to continue to walk everyday the extra mile and do everything we can to please and satisfy our valued customers.

We do thank you for your continuous preference and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Belmond Reid's Palace.

Best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid's Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

This is a true gem and a wonderful experience of pampering and history! The rooms and views are spectacular and unique and the fact of sleefing in real linnen sheets we truly enjoyed! The spa is very special, and the breakfast buffet is great. The kids club and teenagers club are also great. High Tea at the terrace is a must!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Angelina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceManager, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for sharing you experience at the Belmond Reid's Palace.

It has been a great pleasure to read that you had a delightful experience with us, and we do thank you for your words of appreciation, which are for us the right reward for all the efforts we make in order to meet and exceed our valued clients needs.

We all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back to the Belmond Reid's Palace.

Many thanks and best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid's Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

My husband and I plus two of our closest friends have just returned from this wonderful Hotel, we stayed for 5 days from the 5th April to celebrate our 6th Wedding Anniversary. I first visited this Hotel about 35 years ago and had the famous Reid’s tea, not knowing that I would ever come back to stay at this beautiful Hotel. I have stayed at some wonderful Hotel’s over the years, but I have to say this has to be the best, the staff made us feel so welcome right from the start, our rooms were fantastic with lovely sea views, beautifully decorated throughout with old world charm and not spoilt in any way with trying to be modern, for me it was like going back in time, the service and friendliness of the staff was exceptional, the food faultless, and the facilities exceptional, we shall certainly be going back to this Hotel next year hopefully to celebrate another wedding anniversary. Our thanks go to the Ciriaco Campus for making our Wedding Anniversary something to remember, and to let you know that the flowers survived the journey home, thank you. Linda & Ken Wills

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank loopylyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceManager, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Valued Client,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Belmond Reid's Palace.

We have been flattered by the nice words you have reserved to us. It is for us always a great pleasure to do our utmost to meet our valued customers' expectations, and reading comments like yours is indeed a great satisfaction and above all, is a stimulus to walk the extra mile when it come to satisfy our clients.

We thank you very much for your preference, and we do hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back to the Belmond Reid's Palace, soon.

Best Regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid's Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Four days of fine dining, luxurious comfort and thorough pampering. Panoramic view from our balcony was breathtaking. If you only do this once in a lifetime, it's worth it. A truly impressive experience!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
6  Thank Warren N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceManager, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Valuable Clients,

Thanks a lot for you review.

We have been flattered by your lovely feedback, and we are really pleased to understand that you had a delightful experience at the Belmond Reid's Palace.

We all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back here in a not too distant future.

Many thanks and best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid's Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

My experience (a weekend with my Wife) was great: top level service, very good location, upscale facilities but ... it could be improved as follows:
- even for a short stay avoid the "charming room" : it is very small and you have not so much room to store your belongings
- if you are willing to benefit from the SPA make your bookings prior to your stay

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
5  Thank Luis_Lisboa_Portugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceManager, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Valued Client,

Thanks a lot for sharing your feedback.

We are glad to understand that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and we take this opportunity to pass you our gratitude for your nice words, along with our appreciation for your constructive comments.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back to the Belmond Reid's Palace soon, and whilst thanking you in advance for your preference, we remain, with our kindest regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid's Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. The old part of the hotel is very beautiful and outstanding but the new ish part not so.

We stayed in the new end and the rooms are small, room for a big bed dressing table and small table, and we had view of sea but couldnt see it because of the trees.
If you booking, ask for higher rooms (over 5 and you get good view) and ask for the older part of the hotel as it better feel and more room.
The breakfast is wonderful and the service very good.
Front desk service ---- mmmm abit grumpy and need to smile more.
The maid on our floor was lovely and friendly, maybe front desk could learn something from her!
The gardens are well kept and well worth a walk round.
It is like a maze and we got lost in the building as it a bit confusing.

It costs alot to eat, drink and stay here.

Room Tip: Higher the better and the old part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LesleyJonze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceManager, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Valued Clients,

Thank you very much for taking the time for writing your review about your experience with us.

I would like to pass my personal along with all Reid's Team appreciation for your constructive feedback.

Here at the Belmond Reid’s Palace we do take our clients’ comments into the highest consideration as they are a great tool to improve our service, and as we do not like to live out of our reputation, your notes have been discussed with all the Executive Team, so that the needed corrective actions will be taken.

I hope that, in case of another trip to Madeira, you will give us another opportunity to prove our hospitality, and please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you think that my intervention will be necessary.

Many thanks and best regards

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid's Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
3,031 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
942 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
1.3 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Reid's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Reid's Palace

Address: Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Funchal
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#3 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#5 Family Hotel in Funchal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $336 - $711 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Reid's Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on cliff tops overlooking the Bay of Funchal and the Atlantic Ocean, this legendary hotel has, for over a century, been a standard-bearer for excellence. The hotel is located on 10 acres of subtropical gardens, boasts enviable access to the sea and is within walking distance of Funchal's shops, restaurants and night-life. With its reputation for excellence and discreet service, Belmond Reid's Palace is the ideal place at which to relax and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belmond Reid's Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reid`s Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Funchal
Reids Palace Funchal
Reids Palace Hotel Funchal
Belmond Reid's Palace Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing