We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical and beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Reid's Palace
Ranked #5 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Great stay! Everyone was more than attentive, service was excellent. Room had a fantastic view over the sea. Pool area is wonderful and you can perfectly relax with view over the ocean. A MUST if you stay in Madeira and well worth the price!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceManager, Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time for sharing you comments.

We have been really touched by the nice feedback you have shared, words like yours make us really really proud and, without any doubt give us the energy to continue to act with passion, trying to always do our utmost in order to satisfy our customers' needs.

I hope I will have the pleasure to welcoming you back to the Reid's Palace.

Best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
Hotel Manager
Reid's Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

840 - 846 of 1,528 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed December 17, 2013

My wife and I travel worldwide and have stayed at many top class hotels, but none meet the sheer elegance and opulence of Reid's Palace and its unique atmosphere redolent of "the 20's and 30's" high life!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceManager, Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time for sharing your feedback about your Reid's experience.

We have been thrilled by the nice comments you dedicate to us. It is indeed a pleasure receiving this words of votes, as they stimulate us to do our utmost to meet and try to exceed our valuable customers' expectations.

We would more than pleased to welcoming you back to the Reid's Palace.

Best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
Hotel Manager
Reid's Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Reid's Palace is THE place to stay in Madeira.

It doesn't look much from the road, (Estrada Monumental) but inside it is just beautiful. The staff are so very helpful, and the furnishings are immaculate. There are many Hotels in Madeira that would claim to be of an equal or greater rating than Reid's, but they are deluding themselves, and deceiving potential guests. The Government have allowed many new hotels to be built a few miles to the West of Reid's Palace, these new Hotels are truly dreadful places.

The gardens are superb, and are only available to Residents.

If you are staying somewhere else and are interested in returning to Madeira and want to stay at Reid's, then ask at Reception and they will happily show you around the building.

The Main Dining Room is closed in the Summer, when Brisa Do Mar, the outdoor Restaurant situated on the cliff top is open. The Main Dining room is absolutely beautiful, the Hotel ask that Men wear a Jacket & Tie when eating there, which is only right as it is such an August Room. There are other Restaurants in the hotel and adjacent to it, where the dress code is less formal,

We have Stayed at Reid's about 18 times, we don't go anywhere else.

The food is superb, and the Breakfasts have virtually all that any reasonable person could want. If there is though something you would like that isn't on the menu, then try asking, and the chefs will do all they can to help.

For those who like swimming, you can swim in the sea from the Reid's landing stage, there is also a sea-level pool, and two pools at hotel level, both heated.

We always hire a car and drive around the Island, the locals are very good and safe drivers, not mad like in mainland Europe.

If you like good and friendly service in lovely surroundings, then Reid's is for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a Room in the Garden Wing, with a view over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigTedHaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceManager, Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your kind feedback.

It is a great pleasure for us to understand that you once again had enjoyed your stay with us, and that you got back home with nice memories of your Reid's experience.

With much of my pleasure I will share your comments with all the Reid's Team, and I ma sure they will indeed feel proud and happy to read your words of vote.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Reid's Palace, I remain, with my kindest regards,

Ciriaco Campus
Hotel Manager
The Reid's Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This superb hotel lived up fully to expectations, but was also relaxing and friendly. The staff are efficient, while still being fully approachable. - Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was absolutely delicious with a huge selection of tasty food. We ate at Villa Cipriani twice, and although expensive, the food and service were extremely - more vegetarian options would make it even better. The afternoon tea was just out of this world, with again nothing too much trouble for the staff. The complimentary Garden Tour and Cocktail reception were excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cymru-Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceManager, Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Valuable Customer,

Thank you very much for taking the time for sharing your feedback about your Reid's Experience.

We have all been flattered by your kind words. Is indeed a great pleasure to receive these words of vote, and without any doubt they are the spring that pushes us all to do our utmost to please our valuable customers.

We all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back here to the Reid’s Palace, in not too far future.

Wishing you all the best, we remain, with our kindest regards,

Ciriaco Campus
Hotel Manager
Reids Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We booked 3 nights at this 5 star palace expecting the creme de la creme of hotels. Some mixed reviews highlighted below...

We were shown the large cocktail and tea rooms which had an opulent, formal character but as we made our way down to the 5th floor, it lost that feeling. The hallways became stale and dated and started to resemble a retirement home. There was an old musty smell that lingered in the 'billiards room'. Some people may like it that way - but we just felt it was sparse, the hotel stuck in a time warp with an urgent need of a facelift. Not a great start.

Our room was smaller than expected. The decor with a faint charm, but I felt it was chintzy. Was not expecting a room like this at the price we paid for. The room (and in fact most of the hotel spaces) had an unusual dusty layer which triggered my dust allergy. Also lots of noise above the room at 8.30am every morning. Tables and chairs were being scraped across the floor.

Bathroom was very good size - clean and well serviced. Mini bar soft drinks were free - although fridge needed defrosting. No tea and coffee making facilities in the room because it was a fire hazard and the hotel was mostly wooden apparently(?)! Room service was prompt, professional and food delicious. Wifi internet was really fast.

Prices were extortionate however - including the Afternoon Tea which a lot of people who visit the hotel come to experience. We have had Afternoon Tea in older establishments and paid a lot less. So unfortunately we missed out on this. The Cocktail bar was usually dead so we steered clear of this too.

Staff were extremely friendly, welcoming and very professional. The spa area was clean and very pleasant to use. Spectacular views of the city and sea throughout the hotel. Lots of beauty spots and gardens to explore within the hotel grounds. Breakfast was fresh and fantastic variety of foods.

Each night costing €295 for a standard double room. We were surprised to find it didn't actually meet all of our expectations at this price (and we have stayed in many fab 4 and 5 star hotels). Unfortunately not quite the 'palace' we were expecting. Few improvements to be made, otherwise a very welcoming, historic and charming stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jules8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceManager, Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Valuable Customer,

Thanks a lot for taking the time for sharing your constructive feedback.

With much of my regret I understood that your experience with us was not up to your expectations. It is our mission to exceed our customers' expectations, but despite all our efforts, sometimes we do not succeed in it.

It is anyway always a pleasure to understand where we do not succeed, so we can work in order to improve the quality of our product and services.

I would like once again thank you for your comments, which have already been discussed so that we can address them.

Best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
Hotel Manager
Reid's Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stay every year at the Savoy and see the famous Reid's Palace on the cliff just along the coast but until this year we have never been inside. First impressions are of an old family run hotel in the small reception area, then the rather sumptuous public rooms leading to the restaurant. We went for a drink in the cocktail bar. It was underwhelming, rather sad and empty at 9pm and had a vey starchy formal feel to it. The drinks were fairly expensive. The view over the harbour to Funchal was spectacular. The bar sitting area was truly dismal and we will not be bothered to go back for a drink but next year we promise ourselves to have dinner. We were surprised to see that dress for dinner was extremely informal!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank smithwolviston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

One night stay. The hotel is great. The afternoon tea is a must. We dinned at Les Faunes, no desert because of late afternoon tea – good, but not wow (a New Year Eve dinner some time ago at Villa Cipriani was memorable). Staff is a good blend of experienced Portuguese people and overseas trainees, all very helpful and attentive.
Breakfast is great, with emphasis on local produce. Even the beer at the mini bar is made in Madeira.
All the pools are great, especially the big one with heated sea water. And if one doesn’t like pools, basking in the sun in November will suffice – there aren’t many places in Europe like that.
The large and intimate garden really makes you forget that you are only a kilometre or so away from the city centre.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chiips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceManager, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Valued Customer,

Thanks a lot for sharing your comments.

We are so glad that despite your short visit you left us with great memories about your Reid's experience, and I would like to pass you our appreciation for your nice words, which are for us the fuel to walk everyday the extra mile in order to meet our customers needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Reid's Palace soon,

Ciriaco Campus
Hotel Manager
Reid's Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
3,031 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
942 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
1.3 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Reid's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Reid's Palace

Address: Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Funchal
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#3 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#5 Family Hotel in Funchal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $336 - $711 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Reid's Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on cliff tops overlooking the Bay of Funchal and the Atlantic Ocean, this legendary hotel has, for over a century, been a standard-bearer for excellence. The hotel is located on 10 acres of subtropical gardens, boasts enviable access to the sea and is within walking distance of Funchal's shops, restaurants and night-life. With its reputation for excellence and discreet service, Belmond Reid's Palace is the ideal place at which to relax and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belmond Reid's Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reid`s Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Funchal
Reids Palace Funchal
Reids Palace Hotel Funchal
Belmond Reid's Palace Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing