We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Belmond Reid's Palace
Nearby Hotels
$280
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$203
$197
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel The Cliff Bay(Funchal)
$286
$237
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
$134
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$263
$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$142
$121
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$451
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa(Funchal)
$145
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$164
$140
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,609)
Filter reviews
1,609 results
Traveler rating
1,375
162
55
8
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,375
162
55
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvilla ciprianiafternoon tea on the terracechampagne buffetcharming roomcocktail barbest hotels in the worlddinner dancefree soft drinksjacket and tiewinston churchilldeluxe roomcliff toptennis courtsdress codebreakfast roomluxury hotelthe general manager
Filter
Updating list...
941 - 946 of 1,609 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Just returned from a week at Reids Palace Maderia. What an absolutely fabulous place!!! Food was fantastic as was the setting of the hotel and its restaurants. The staff were exceptional and without fail most polite. The delivery of service was very professional but also very friendly which gave it that personal touch which is so often absent. Everywhere was spotless and immaculately maintained. We thoroughly enjoyed the afternoon tea and could have eaten as much as we liked. The sandwiches were fresh and tasty as were the scones and pastries - no complaints there. We were upgraded on arrival and on my wife's birthday receive birthday wishes from various staff, a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine(which we were able to enjoy on the tea terrace with friends before our meal) During our meal my wife received a home made chocolate cake from the chef (To die for) and finally when we returned to our room there was a bunch of flowers. My wife's birthday was truly made. The Villa Cipriani set high on the cliff is a most romantic and peaceful setting with panoramic views a great place to eat. Tony, Susana and the rest of the staff were lovely people and added to the whole experience. The breakfast fare was sumptuous to say the least if you could possibly think of something they didn't it would have been provided. In short a truly wonderful place to stay especially for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 79RobertJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My family and I enjoyed cocktails and canapés in this lovely hotel on the beautiful island of Madeira. The hotel has a quiet old fashioned feel about it. The piano/cocktail bar is lovely with floor to ceiling windows allowing a fabulous view of the beautiful sub tropical gardens and the ocean beyond. The service was excellent, as you would expect from such a high class establishment. The gardens surrounding the hotel are stunning with flora and fauna in colourful abundance . ( we did not visit in 2012 but this site would not allow me to put the correct date )

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank jushim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We have just returned from 7 nights at Reid's Palace. This was our third holiday at Reid's, the last visit was in 2010.
Prior to arrival we thought 'Would anything have changed'

The answer was No, just a couple of slight changes. The hotel is magnificent, service and standards are always high. The only slight disappointment is that in the summer the only restaurants open are Brisa Do Mar and Villa Cipriani. We always enjoyed the gala dinner when we could really get dressed up. My dinner suit and my wife's evening dress never left the wardrobe.
We dined once at Brisa Do Mar and found the service very slow. We complained and the matter was dealt with by Mr Rodrigues the Food & Beverage manager. We dined in Villa Cipriani on three occasions and found it to be excellent.
The outdoor buffet on Tuesday or Saturday was nice but sorry Reid's not worth 78 euros.

There are many nationalities who visit the hotel everyone is very friendly, even the majority of Russians.

We booked a 7 night affordable package, direct with the hotel and our booking and room request was dealt with by Monica in reservations very professionally. Having experienced some excellent restaurants outside the hotel we would consider Bed & Breakfast on our next visit.

We were upgraded to a superior room in the garden wing, this had a beautiful view over Funchal. The room was one of the refurbished rooms and was excellent, clean linen sheets every day, towels changed twice a day, and complimentary soft drinks from the mini bar, a nice touch. A minor issue was that we had to ask several times for the bar to be stocked up but this was always dealt with speedily. The housekeeping of our room was superb throughout our stay.
During our stay it was our wedding anniversary and a bottle of champagne and flowers were in our room when we returned from dinner on the night of our special day.
Breakfast was superb, something to suit all tastes. Includes hot and a full continental spread with cheeses, fruit , pastries etc.
Afternoon tea not to be missed, you are supplied with copious amounts of sandwiches, cakes and scones whilst sat on the terrace with the tranquil sound of a piano playing in the background, this is the life.
The pools are lovely, plenty of towels, both to lay on and after swiming. Pool drinks and food are a little expensive, but that is what you have to expect for a hotel of this class. We visited a small restaurant (X Tonel) opposite to the hotel, the food was excellent, salads, sandwiches and very cheap. It gave us a good excuse to get off the sunbeds?
All staff are very friendly, many have served the hotel for many years. Special mention to Mr Rodrigues, Nelson, Magno and Cindy plus numerous others too many to mention.
They always have a smile that is geniune.
One small point, dress code. Smart casual was allowed in all the restaurants.
I am pleased to say that we did see people being turned away from afternoon tea because of inappropriate dress code. Smart casual is the norm.
Overall I would say this is still the best hotel we have ever stayed in on holiday and we are extremely fussy!
Value for money, yes a litle pricey, but all hotels in this class are, but go on treat yourself to pure 5 star class. My wife and I are all ready planning for 2014. It makes a holiday when you know that everything will go well and you don't want to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Birdie2boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I was afraid before attending to find a false. But Reid's palace combines two ingredients that make a real palace : the quality of services provided by an exquisite personnel and a kind of undefinable magic coming from the mind-blowing views , the sweet life .
A delightful stay

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amina778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I really can't rate Reid's highly enough. Old world charm with all the modern-day comforts you'd ever need. The staff are incredible, very friendly and helpful (yet not overbearing in any way). We stayed at Reid's for a week but could easily have stayed for two without getting restless. The hotel's location is wonderful, perched on a cliff overlooking the sea and just a short stroll from the city centre, which seemed to be full of great seafood restaurants. We spent most days swapping between their pools and swimming in the sea along the hotel's private coastline. There's no sandy beaches, but some terrific diving boards into the ocean where you can swim across to a floating pontoon to soak up more rays. I'd recommend taking advantage of their snorkeling equipment to get a great view of the small shoals of fish that hang about close to the cliffs. We wanted to explore the island during our stay, so the hotel arranged a driver for us for the day. We'd been recommended taking the mountain road to the north coast and taking a stroll along one of their famous Levadas along the way. The scenery above the clouds was stunning. We broke the day by swimming at the sea pools at Porto Moniz - it was quite a choppy day at sea, so was quite bracing, but a great experience. Anyhow for fear of waffling on - I totally recommend a visit to the island. Reid's is wonderful and is reason enough for making the journey to Madeira.

Room Tip: Think they all have sea views, but do check before booking.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LonRev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews