We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriage celebration.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Reid's Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Reid's Palace
Ranked #5 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Marine on Saint Croix, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Marriage celebration.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The perfect place to celebrate our marriage. Just what we love, hiking during the day, black tie dancing in the evening. Understated elegance with scenery and weather to die for. Funchal is a Throwback to the British Empire with many customs and way of life intact. Plenty to do in the city yet secluded enough to miss out on the noise. The gardens are spectacular, semi tropical with attention to detail. If you are looking for an out of the beaten path experience to call your own, this is the place.

Room Tip: The suites with a sitting room are perfect, get one overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melinda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    969
    111
    41
    4
    5
See reviews for
189
743
34
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

It's truly 5-star luxury hotel, but it's also a very traditional 5-star.

The service was very good and almost perfect, swimming area with gorgeous view and relaxing area by the cliffs which are to die for. Breakfast was lavish, did not try their afternoon tea, it does not seem to offer anything special. Hotel offered you 4 selections of pillow, but it doesn't seem to offer the features it say tho, still it's nice to have something different than flat standard pillow. The housekeeping was top notch, every day we come back we feel like home cause they tidy the place so well.

However, it's just that the guests staying there could be quite unfriendly. Some folks seemed to have some sort of entitlement and definitely give looks to you when you don't fit into their "profile"
We are late 20's, definitely would be considered the young crowd. Every morning at breakfast, the guy next to us with his wife give us very bad look, and stared at us in unfriendly. One particular gentlemen in the concierge was quite like this, and show unwillingness to help me (as an Asian) yet was very helpful to my husband (Caucasian) on the exact same issue. But this was very exceptional case, everyone in the hotel was actually very very nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank emmiedustie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andorra la Vella, Andorra
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

What more can you say - The Best High Tea in Madeira. Delicious sandwiches, lovely cakes, multiple choice of teas. Just perfect. Waiters all very smart and guests all dressed up. Simply perfect and a nice view from the 'tea terrace'. Only problem if you arrive too early you are restricted where you can go. But read the English newspapers in the lounge to pass the time. Advance booking required!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnccsifin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at Reid's Palace in April and it was a wonderful experience from afternoon tea on the terrace, cocktail parties and sumptuous dinners to the opulent Flower Ball. Expensive but well worth every penny!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harr0gategirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Great services, food and ambience. The two pools were warm or warmer and the wind was blocked from where you sat. The spa was terrific and my husband and I were able to have some private time in our own outdoor hot tub.

Room Tip: We were situated (5th floor) so that we could walk right out our back door to two chaises (that were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shari C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, England
Level Contributor
275 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had a ten day holiday in Madeira and stayed the last three days at Reid's Palace.
What a wonderful occasion - we had a top (9th) floor room in the old part of the hotel, overlooking the pool and Funchal.
Everything magical about such well known and historic hotels comes true at Reid's. Elegant, friendly service, great food, lovely pool and rock swimming area, delightful gardens - we even managed a couple of games of snooker.
Afternoon tea on the Terrace is a definite must.
Couldn't be better. Here's hoping for that Premium Bond to come up so we can go again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank malawi40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

I went to reid's to celebrate my 50th birthday following a recommendation from a relative so I had extremely high expectations of the hotel, staff and service. Everything about the hotel surpassed even my high expectstions. From the moment we arrived at the hotel we were treated like royalty and as though we were the only people in the hotel and the most important. There is nothing at all i could criticise about the hotel. It was spotlessly clean, the staff were the most curteous you could ever meet and genuinly nice. From the booking they clearly noticed my birthday so on the Saturday I had champagne and flowers delivered to the room. The flowers were beautiful. Then, following our dinner the most delicious cake arrived along with the band playing happy birthday. Such a lovely gesture.
The food was outstanding with an excellent variety to chose from and with very satisfying portions.
You simply cannot as for more from any hotel. I would recommend everybody visits Reid's at least once within their lifetime!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sayital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 2,292 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Quinta Jardins do Lago
#2 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 971 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#7 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 944 reviews
0.6 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#13 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Reid's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Reid's Palace

Property: Belmond Reid's Palace
Address: Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Funchal
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#3 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#6 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Reid's Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on cliff tops overlooking the Bay of Funchal and the Atlantic Ocean, this legendary hotel has, for over a century, been a standard-bearer for excellence. The hotel is located on 10 acres of subtropical gardens, boasts enviable access to the sea and is within walking distance of Funchal's shops, restaurants and night-life. With its reputation for excellence and discreet service, Belmond Reid's Palace is the ideal place at which to relax and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Belmond, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Reid's Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reid`s Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Funchal
Reids Palace Funchal
Reids Palace Hotel Funchal
Belmond Reid's Palace Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing