We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“English Afternoon Tea at it's best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Reid's Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belmond Reid's Palace
Ranked #5 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Andorra la Vella, Andorra
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“English Afternoon Tea at it's best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

What more can you say - The Best High Tea in Madeira. Delicious sandwiches, lovely cakes, multiple choice of teas. Just perfect. Waiters all very smart and guests all dressed up. Simply perfect and a nice view from the 'tea terrace'. Only problem if you arrive too early you are restricted where you can go. But read the English newspapers in the lounge to pass the time. Advance booking required!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnccsifin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,082
    125
    42
    6
    8
See reviews for
211
832
35
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at Reid's Palace in April and it was a wonderful experience from afternoon tea on the terrace, cocktail parties and sumptuous dinners to the opulent Flower Ball. Expensive but well worth every penny!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harr0gategirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Great services, food and ambience. The two pools were warm or warmer and the wind was blocked from where you sat. The spa was terrific and my husband and I were able to have some private time in our own outdoor hot tub.

Room Tip: We were situated (5th floor) so that we could walk right out our back door to two chaises (that were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shari C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, England
Level Contributor
289 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had a ten day holiday in Madeira and stayed the last three days at Reid's Palace.
What a wonderful occasion - we had a top (9th) floor room in the old part of the hotel, overlooking the pool and Funchal.
Everything magical about such well known and historic hotels comes true at Reid's. Elegant, friendly service, great food, lovely pool and rock swimming area, delightful gardens - we even managed a couple of games of snooker.
Afternoon tea on the Terrace is a definite must.
Couldn't be better. Here's hoping for that Premium Bond to come up so we can go again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank malawi40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

I went to reid's to celebrate my 50th birthday following a recommendation from a relative so I had extremely high expectations of the hotel, staff and service. Everything about the hotel surpassed even my high expectstions. From the moment we arrived at the hotel we were treated like royalty and as though we were the only people in the hotel and the most important. There is nothing at all i could criticise about the hotel. It was spotlessly clean, the staff were the most curteous you could ever meet and genuinly nice. From the booking they clearly noticed my birthday so on the Saturday I had champagne and flowers delivered to the room. The flowers were beautiful. Then, following our dinner the most delicious cake arrived along with the band playing happy birthday. Such a lovely gesture.
The food was outstanding with an excellent variety to chose from and with very satisfying portions.
You simply cannot as for more from any hotel. I would recommend everybody visits Reid's at least once within their lifetime!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sayital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Reid's is definitely THE place to stay in Funchal. We spent Easter there and coming from the freezing weather in London, Funchal was lovely and warm (21 and 22C) and Reid's was so wonderful. We were welcomed and looked after so well the whole time we were there. The location of the breakfast area overlooking the pools was wonderful and the gardens provided a great escape into tranquility. We utilised the Spa (couples facilities), the lovely restaurants, (Cipriani was the winner there) and had a lovely afternoon tea in the special area set aside which is beautiful and overlooks the bay. I was also pleased that there was an in-hotel hairdresser. Our room was a beautiful junior suite with a lovely balcony (big enough to sit out on) with views over the bay and to the cruise ship docking area. We took the opportunity to do a 1/2 day chauffer driven tour of the island of Madeira in a vintage Mercedes which was great to do and a lovely way to travel. Reid's is also in a great location to access the shopping area - just a short walk - of Funchal and we stopped off at some beautiful gardens on the way. We ate at a local cafe in the street with the painted doors. The staff at the hotel couldn't have been nicer - everyone was so friendly and helpful. We have since recommended Reid's to friends who stayed there just a couple of weeks ago. Although we didn't use the pools (Aussies don't swim til it is at least 30C), they looked great and 1 was heated. We did however play table tennis and would have played tennis if I wasn't recovering from ankle surgery. So lots of things to do if you want.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the old part facing the bay - especially if you are a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luabandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State of Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
126 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

As a traditional hotel, Reids Palace still a very good choice in Funchal. It's very comfortable and staff is very attentive. Elsa, the manager offered us lots of amenities, so we felt very pampered. Must go to The Cipriani Restaurant.

Room Tip: We had an upgrade to the deluxe, and it's excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cintiafarhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,514 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#7 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Reid's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Reid's Palace

Property: Belmond Reid's Palace
Address: Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Funchal
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#3 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#5 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Reid's Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on cliff tops overlooking the Bay of Funchal and the Atlantic Ocean, this legendary hotel has, for over a century, been a standard-bearer for excellence. The hotel is located on 10 acres of subtropical gardens, boasts enviable access to the sea and is within walking distance of Funchal's shops, restaurants and night-life. With its reputation for excellence and discreet service, Belmond Reid's Palace is the ideal place at which to relax and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Reid's Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reid`s Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Funchal
Reids Palace Funchal
Reids Palace Hotel Funchal
Belmond Reid's Palace Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing