We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service at Reid,s”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Reid's Palace
Ranked #5 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
lincolnshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic service at Reid,s”
Reviewed April 23, 2008

We had a week at the beginning of March staying at the the Reids Palace hotel Funchal Maderia.Having stayed at many 5 star hotels round the world,we found the service at Reids second to none,the staff treat all the guests like royalty,from the cleaning ladies upwards.The rooms are excellent,and a nice touch are the free soft drinks in the mini bar.Breakfast was a meal to truly look forward to.a wonderful buffet served in a delightful restaurant.The weather was very kind to us and we enjoyed several days by the pool,which is heated and has very comfortable sunbeds each with two towels!One to dry yourself with,and one to lay on,another nice touch.We will most certainly be returning

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzelincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CiriacoCampus, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, March 5, 2017
Dear Lizzelincolnshire,

Thanks a lot for your preference in Reid's Palace.

I would like to thank you very much for taking the time for sharing your review, and above all I would like to thank you, also on behalf of all the Belmond Reid's Palace Team for the words of vote you reserved to us. These type of comments are indeed the greatest motivation and payback for the efforts we undertake to walk the extra mile to satisfy our guests.

We all look forward to welcoming you back again one day.

Best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid’s Palace
Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,197
    144
    46
    6
    8
See reviews for
231
928
42
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2008

We have been visiting Reids for the past 10 years in late February and are pleased to see that the Hotel which is part of the Orient Express Group of Hotels has returned to its former glory.

We dined in Les Faunes, The Dining Room and the Cipriani and had several lunches in the beautiful setting overlooking the sea by the pool area. The standard of service and cuisine has been improved by the Food and Beverage Manager on a year by year basis until it is now of a quality to be expected from the Orient Express Group.

We have stayed at the Cipriani in Venice, the Hotel Splendido in Portofino and La Residencia in Deia, Majorca within the last few years and Reids foot outlets have been marginally disappointing in the past. However, this year they compare favourably with what is provided at their other establishments.

We hope to continue our visits there for many years to come, it is a wonderful Hotel, perfect location with great standards of old fashioned service and courtesy.

Roll on next February.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank R101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CiriacoCampus, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, March 5, 2017
Dear R101,

Thank you very much for taking the time for writing your review!

We are flattered by your comments. These type of feedback is indeed the fuel, that make us step up and walk the extra mile meet our customers' expectations.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back here to the Belmond Reid's Palace more and more years ahead too.

Many thanks and best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid’s Palace
Madeira 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2008

We have just come back from a magical 11days at what must be one of the world's best hotels. We specifically chose Reid's because of its location and its reputation for first class service and fine taste. We found we were entirely justified in our decision.

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel the most important people they had ever received. The staff, from the Hotel general manager down through to the chambermaid and the pool attendants were courtesy extraordinaire and no request, however trivial, was too much trouble for anyone. In addition everyone was so friendly and communicative that it was a pleasure to meet staff in various locations around the hotel.

There are five restaurants for guests and the food in the four restaurants we experienced was of the highest quality. The service ensured that what we ordered was always delivered at exactly the right time and in exactly the correct condition, whether this was hot or cold food. The weekly Manager's Cocktail Buffet was a wonderful opportunity to get to know the staff and other guests and evening meals were always accompanied by an accomplished piano player and ensemble whose range of music melted quietly into the ambience of a main restaurant whose decor would do justice to a Czar's palace in St Petersburg. Afternoon tea is a tradition at Reids and is something we would recommend that everyone experience. Nowhere else in the world have we been offered a choice of no less than 24 teas and infusions to accompany the selection of finger sandwiches, home made pastries and fresh baked scones that complete a most enjoyable experience on the tea terrace.

We had booked a superior room but were immediately upgraded on arrival and on the day of our Golden Wedding Celebration the hotel provided complimentary champagne and flowers, as well as a sincere greeting. This was in addition to private arrangements organised very efficiently by the hotel management on behalf of our family and via the Internet.

Reid's is located on a high promontory ,in a series of gardens, overlooking the bay and port of Funchal and gives a wide panorama of the city and mountains. These gardens provide the opportunity to wander around viewing the range of exotic plants and trees, and to find quiet spots where one can meditate, read, snooze or relax, with service just a telephone call away, even when one is at the farthest reaches from the main buildings. However if your desire is to sit by the pool and sunbathe, then Reid's has a wonderful outdoor pool with views across the bay and also a sea level pool reached by lift from the main level. For the very active the Hotel has excellent gym facilities,sauna and aromatherapy facilities. Children are also well catered for with their own large playhouse containing everything a child needs, including a paddling pool and lawn, and supervised at all times by younger staff who no doubt provide a sort of role model of older brothers and sisters.

We have visited and stayed in many hotels in Europe and the Rest of the World without encountering the level of service which we received at Reid's and it is one of the few locations where we have felt really happy and comfortable staying almost entirely within the hotel and the surrounding grounds. The hotel does have a programme of events to entice guests to experience the many pleasures of Madeira and a luxury courtesy coach operates into Funchal at regular intervals throughout the day. However my wife and I and, from our observations many other guests, were simply content to experience the quality and level of service for which Reid's Palace Hotel is justifiably famous.

  • Liked — The high quality of service
  • Disliked — Cannot think of anything we disliked
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bennetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CiriacoCampus, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, March 5, 2017
Dear Bennetto,

Thank you very much for visiting us, and for your valuable comments!

We are pleased to learn, that your time spent at Reid's Palace was a pleasant one, and we thank you for visiting us and for sharing your experience.

Receiving comments like yours, is the right payback for what we do, and motivates us to do our utmost to satisfy our valued customers.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Belmond Reid's Palace one day again.

Best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid’s Palace
Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2008

For the last two nights of a longer stay in Madeira, my wife and I decided to treat ourselves to a stay at the world-renowned Reids Palace. What a treat it turned out to be!

We've been regular visitors to Madeira at the same OK hotel for several years but Reids Palace is several leagues higher. From the moment of entry the service was immaculate and attentive and continued to be so throughout the stay and the room was extremely comfortable. The breakfasts were sumptuous (with champagne as a standard option). Our first evening was filled with a champagne reception before dinner which itself was a champagne buffet. Clearly, a taste for champagne is well catered for and we're glad to report that we came with one, Even without the champagne, the food was extremely good. Afternoon tea is a must!

The hotel's facilities are second to none and the gardens beautiful. We were only there for three days but felt no urge to leave the grounds. The setting, views and comfort conspire to keep the guest within its boundaries.

Obviously Reids Palace is expensive but worth every penny, euro or whatever else you carry.

  • Liked — General class
  • Disliked — Price (but worth it)
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brianUxbridge_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovetotravelwell, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, April 4, 2008
On behalf of the Reid's Palace, please let me take this opportunity to thank you for submitting this review. Your compliments are most gracious and well-received.
I take particular delight in your enjoyment of our bountiful champagne and will make sure that it continues to flow!

We look forward to welcoming you and yours back to Reid’s anytime.

Warmest Regards, Sandro Fabris, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
2,820 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 86 in Funchal
856 reviews
0.3 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
0.6 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Reid's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Reid's Palace

Property: Belmond Reid's Palace
Address: Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Funchal
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#3 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#5 Family Hotel in Funchal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Reid's Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on cliff tops overlooking the Bay of Funchal and the Atlantic Ocean, this legendary hotel has, for over a century, been a standard-bearer for excellence. The hotel is located on 10 acres of subtropical gardens, boasts enviable access to the sea and is within walking distance of Funchal's shops, restaurants and night-life. With its reputation for excellence and discreet service, Belmond Reid's Palace is the ideal place at which to relax and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Belmond Reid's Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reid`s Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Funchal
Reids Palace Funchal
Reids Palace Hotel Funchal
Belmond Reid's Palace Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing