We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Reid's Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Reid's Palace
Ranked #5 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Reid's is simply beautiful in every respect. A lovely, elegant, comfortable hotel, beautiful gardens, spacious rooms, outstanding service and a perfect setting. Certainly one of the very best hotels I have ever experienced.

Room Tip: The ninth floor rooms have wonderful views over Funchal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DBUK2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,028
    118
    42
    5
    6
See reviews for
205
787
35
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I went at the begining of October with my mother. The staff are as usual so kind and courtious. Reids is really a place where every day troubles simply melt away. A real retreat when life is busy, and frenetic.

Room Tip: Get a room in the old wing, much more atmospheric, with charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon0965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceManager, Gerente geral at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your contribution to this forum.

I am delighted to read that year after year, we have been able to deliver the expected service and hospitality, from a grand dame hotel. For sure your kind words would reinforce our desire of always doing more and better, never sitting on laurels of the past.

With best regards from the island of flowers and eternal Spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have stayed in many wonderful hotels all over the world, but Reid's has to be in the top 3. The sevice, all the faclities, the gardens all make this a very special place to stay. We should have spent less time on the Portugal mainland and more time at Reid's on Madeira Island.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank craig b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My wife and I visited Reid's Palace in late September for vacation. We stayed at the hotel three nights before departing to Porto. Overall, the property is beautiful and the majority of employees are polite and attentive. A few things that stood out (both good and bad):

The Good
- The saltwater pool at the the base of the cliff is amazing. I've never experienced or seen anything like it. We only had one good day of weather, but this was the highlight of the visit.
- Everyone we met at reception was outstanding. They are informative, welcoming and a pleasure to be around. LIkewise, the bartender and piano player were both great.

The Bad
- Our room (and our floor for that matter) were warm compared to other areas of the hotel. Our bed was two Temperpedic twins pushed together rather than one king or queen. The two twin beds coupled with a warm room made for sleepless nights.
- A few Reid's employees were less than friendly. One pool attendant and one restaurant server were standoffish. These were exceptions to the rule overall.

Reid's is a large property with a good bit of history. We were lucky to stay there. Not good or bad (more of an FYI), the crowd skews a bit older and the hotel can be very formal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DonnieKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceManager, Gerente geral at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience in this forum. Your feedback is much appreciated.

I was glad to read that you have enjoyed our pool area and the great team we have in general.

We also have king size beds in the hotel and once we would be informed in advance we could have allocated such a type of room and mattress. The quality of sleep is of high importance for our us and our guests, reason why we do have sealy matresses specially designed for Orient - Express.

Reid's is definitely a multigenerational hotel, with space for all the ages. The demographics would vary on the time of the year. The only formal venue we have is the two events on the main dining room that we reinforce jacket and tie, or tuxedo, for the gentlemen, although it is not compulsory and you will have another 3 options to dine in the hotel. All the rest is smart casual.

Once again many thanks for your visit in a nice place to stay.

With best regards from the Pearl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme
Level Contributor
143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Most of the Cruise Ship tourists elbow for space for "tea at Reid's" but a very good light lunch with one of the best views in Funchal can be obtained on the terrace of the Cocktail Lounge without prior booking. This is very good value for a luxury hotel - better than the more substantial meal at the poolside.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We arrived at Reid's following an exhausting few weeks. It is a grander hotel than we usually pick but it was everything we wanted -- service was exceptional. We found the restaurant a bit too formal but that was no probelm as there were lots of good pleaces to eat just a cock's stride away. Breakfast was to die for! A remarkable place and strongly recommended for rejuvenation!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank james6554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The most marvelous hotel at the outstanding part of this amazing island . Exciting views from the room balconies. Very helpful staff, smiling, friendly and sincere. Strong Housekeeping team: the room was perfectly cleaned and tightly groomed. Absolutely nothing to complain on. Take a chance to visit this miracle!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sasha0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 2,412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 723 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#7 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 974 reviews
0.6 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Reid's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Reid's Palace

Property: Belmond Reid's Palace
Address: Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Funchal
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#3 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#6 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Reid's Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on cliff tops overlooking the Bay of Funchal and the Atlantic Ocean, this legendary hotel has, for over a century, been a standard-bearer for excellence. The hotel is located on 10 acres of subtropical gardens, boasts enviable access to the sea and is within walking distance of Funchal's shops, restaurants and night-life. With its reputation for excellence and discreet service, Belmond Reid's Palace is the ideal place at which to relax and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Reid's Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reid`s Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Funchal
Reids Palace Funchal
Reids Palace Hotel Funchal
Belmond Reid's Palace Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing