We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch at the pool restuarant-Reid Palace Hotel Funchal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Belmond Reid's Palace
Ranked #5 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We had a delightful lunch at the pool restuarant. The restuarant is beautifully decorated and the view over the p[ool is stunning.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BDRRichmond_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

980 - 986 of 1,509 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2012

Me and my other half stayed here for a long weekend, and I can honestly say I've never stayed anywhere like it - and I've travelled a lot!

Yes, it's an old hotel and there are a few bits that need updating, but that's all forgotten when you start to explore the hotel. This is proper old school luxury - think waiters in tux's, a ballroom and a grand piano.

Our room was beautiful, and our bed was so comfortable I never wanted to leave it! The hotel also sent a cake and a bottle of champagne for my boyfriend's birthday which was a nice touch,

We went in February when the weather was pretty poor, but the pool and sundeck looked fantastic too - maybe next time....

Reid's is a proper grand old dame - if you want high-tech and flashy don't bother, but if you want to feel like you've been transported back to 1920's decadence then book it now!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank SophCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

An old grand lady getting old and loosing its glamour of the old days. Tourists of all over the world (with and without taste and manners) are now populating this gem of a lost century. Nevertheless the Reid's seems still to be the first address of Funchal - if you are lucky to get an old nice room to the garden and west-side with ocean view. The East view on an ugly hotel tower really is not worth coming here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank DemandingNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceManager, Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your contribution and honest feedback, which is much appreciated.

Definitely the grand dame of the Atlantic Ocean, keeping its charm and character. A good example would be the tea lounge that was recently refurbished, being refreshed, but keeping the soul of it, and making the wringles even nicer. Also all the investment made year on year on the property and on the training, helps to maintain and strive for more, never seating on laurels of the past.

I regret if you have encountered any situation that was not properly addressed from our side, as for sure we have a great focus on the service and hospitality we deliver.

Once again many thanks for your support.

Look forward to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Visited Reid's Palace for a wedding. Beautiful Hotel and stunning view from the garden area. Everything was well organized. The food was great.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 20Dream12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Reids Palace is the ultimate in warm , human, efficiency.
You will find no Phillipe Stark designer wear. It is not cool or trendy.
Although the public rooms are beautifully maintained, they have probably changed little in appearance in decades.
But from the moment that you walk through the door you are embraced by friendly and helpful and polite professionalism.
From the restaurant mangers to the domestic staff all is suffused with correctness tempered by warmth and a palpable desire to please.
Our bedroom was of a good size, with a balcony which looked down through date palms and banana trees to a cove, with glimpses of an antique sailing ship. of fishing boats and the occasional cruise ship.
The rooms are maintained to a high standard. Sheets changed daily and towels twice a day...
all done with great diplomacy and tact.
Reids is a well oiled machine, but one with no suggestion of impersonality,
The restaurants offer food of a very high order of culinary skill. Eaten to the sound of a skilled pianist.
The gardens are beautiful. As are the swimming pools. Here and there are alcoves and spots for sunbathing...some of the latter are just above sea level.
The view is of the very attractive town of Funchal. At night its lights twinkle along the margin of the bay and stretch up to the hills above the town..
We intend returning.

Room Tip: There are rooms with sea views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PeterBSurreyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceManager, Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2012

Dear Guest,

Really appreciate your feedback and I am glad to read that you have enjoyed our hospitality, facilities and services.

Your kind comment will serve as an incentive and make the team strive for more and better.

Once again many thanks and look forward to welcome you back at the pearl of the Atlantic.

Best regards from the island of the flowers and eternal Spring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Just returned from our first visit to Reid’s Palace Hotel Madeira, it far exceeded our expectations. The room was lovely full of character with great views of the Atlantic & Funchal. The food for both breakfast & evening dinner lived up to Reid’s five star rating. I doubt a finer hotel for all round excellence would be found!!!

Room Tip: A room on the east side of the hotel gets the sun first thing, but it's gone by midday
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maf605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Did not stay at Reids but went for dinner, cannot recommend enough, stunning views, amazing service, gorgeous food, and not too expensive ! 10/10

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Matt33333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
0.2 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
3,008 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.3 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
9.2 mi away
Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Reid's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Reid's Palace

Address: Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Funchal
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#3 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#5 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $327 - $606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Reid's Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on cliff tops overlooking the Bay of Funchal and the Atlantic Ocean, this legendary hotel has, for over a century, been a standard-bearer for excellence. The hotel is located on 10 acres of subtropical gardens, boasts enviable access to the sea and is within walking distance of Funchal's shops, restaurants and night-life. With its reputation for excellence and discreet service, Belmond Reid's Palace is the ideal place at which to relax and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Splitty, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Belmond Reid's Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reid`s Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Funchal
Reids Palace Funchal
Reids Palace Hotel Funchal
Belmond Reid's Palace Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing