We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A place to cherish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of X Tonel Restaurante

X Tonel Restaurante
Ranked #71 of 548 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: On the road out of Funchal towards the former Football Ground
Attleborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A place to cherish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This restaurant is one that we keep for special when we visit Madeira each year, and so do many other people in our experience. We are recognized and welcomed. It is not a place to rush (though we had to once this year to make a School of Arts concert and the staff were due an apology when we did). Great care is taken with service. We really recommend the "Chef's Octopus Salad" but everything we have eaten there has been 1st rate. A reservation is a must with only 24 covers at a time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    59
    13
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Small but nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Well situated opposite Reids Palace this little restaurant is quite a find. We were unable to get in for an evening meal as it was always full , however we were lucky at lunch time. The menu is quite unusual in its mix of local and "British" fare and is reasonably priced.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DrPlmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

You need to book to get a table in this tiny restaurant and for a very good reason - the food is excellent and good value too.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank janet123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmes Chapel
Level Contributor
92 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“The food is good if you are prepared to wait”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Went with some friends. Admittedly the place was busy but an hour's wait for the main course after giving the order was too much. The fish was good when it came ( I think we all had fish) but by that time all of us were beginning to lose interest. Perhaps a little more explanation for the delay would have helped the hungry diners or was it a ruse to increase the bar bill!
Am I being too critical? Try the place and judge for yourself

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ancienttrveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous birthday meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Recommended by travel rep we were lucky they had a table that evening on my birthday. We opted for a mixture of local and British cuisine and the assorted vegetables were cooked perfectly. Great service added to the whole experience. We were only there for a short break but will be back if we ever visit Madeira again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed X Tonel Restaurante also viewed

Madeira, Madeira Islands
 

Been to X Tonel Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing