We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Funchal

“Beautiful indoor and outdoor ( Delicious Food ) 😋”
Review of O Dragoeiro

O Dragoeiro
Ranked #58 of 828 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $85
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful indoor and outdoor setting.

On the tourist menu €17.90
For starter, I had fish soup ( very delicious )
For Main, I had Swordfish which I never had before and it was delicious)
For Dessert, I had passion fruit cheese cake which was also delicious.

Myself and my friend was offered alcoholic complimentary drink on the house.

It’s a fabulous restaurant with very attentive, friendly and passionate staff. The food was very good and I even consider before leaving Madeira to come back for another meal.

If you are ever in Madeira and want to try Portuguese food please come and try O Dragoeiro

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank Southamericanboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 1,408 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The three course deal here is excellent and great value. The food and the staff were wonderful. Even the deal menu has some excellent dishes on it and all for less than 18Euro when we visited in January 2020. It was a very nice touch to be invited to choose an after dinner complimentary drink from a list! Very good restaurant indeed.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank yorkieg2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Cannot fault this place. We've been visiting now every year for ten years and have never been disappointed. The ambiance in the garden is perfect, the staff are attentive without being intrusive and the food is excellent, especially steak on stone. When you walk in after a year has gone by and are greeted with 'welcome back' you know you're somewhere special. Very highly recommended.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank horacethefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2020

I cant speak hightly enough about our dining experience at this beautiful restaurant.
The patio is beautiful and at night with the illuminated trees and orchids, it really does feel very special. A nice white table cloth is always welcome too!
The staff were friendly and attentive and we found the food to be outstanding - our best dining experience of three weeks in Funchal by far. Sadly, we only found O Dragoeiro on our last day but we'll be back!
My swordfish was exquisite and my partners filet mignon with giant prawn was wonderful and cooked perfectly to order.
Our starters and desserts were excellent also and we found the house red wine (shiraz) to be very good value at 14 euros.
Considering the complimentary glass of madeira upon arrival and the liquer on the house after dinner, we found the experience and value to be excellent.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank craig p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2020 via mobile

Two visits in two nights because we enjoyed it so much, excellent value having the tourist menu.
There are cheaper in the area but at the price I doubt it can be beaten. Madeira wine on the way in , three excellent courses and complimentary drink at the end.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Trek798229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Dragoeiro also viewed

 

Been to O Dragoeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing