We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fonte do Mar 4 - wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fonte do Mar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Funchal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fonte do Mar
Save
You added Fonte do Mar to your Saves list
Ranked #21 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Funchal
south east
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fonte do Mar 4 - wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful 2 weeks in Madeira staying at this villa ( 2 adults, 2 teenage boys). We chose the villa very carefully and were not disappointed. It had everything we needed to make it the perfect "home from home" which allowed us all to relax and unwind away from the busy corporate world which we usually inhabit. We cannot fault the villa at all (athough the teenagers were frustrated the wifi only worked in the downstairs area) & thoroughly enjoyed many lazy days and BBQ's by the pool, interspersed with some exploring of different parts of the island & sea .. the catamaran trip where we followed pods of dolphins was fantastic.

Overall the location was quiet, and the views out to see were spectacular but the local dogs did like to bark a lot at night! We found a great use for the lift in the villa - to use it to take all the supermarket shopping to the kitchen. 2 supermakets are very nearby and we found everything we wanted; and there are also some good restaurants nearby.. including one which also did take aways that was always busy ... we chose the take away option a couple of times.

We dont usually holiday in the same place twice because there are so many places to see in the world, but if we were to return to Madeira we would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j00lz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The photographs do not do this place justice.
Spacious, modern and beautifully appointed. Extremely well equiped, including the kitchen.
A perfect relaxing family holiday location and we ended up eating in most days (utilising the gas BBQ).
Well located close to the main Highway but a quiet location and only 10 minutes from Funchal.
Nearby supermarket with all your needs including lots of fresh fish.
Only slight criticism is that noise carries internally and one of the twin bedrooms (located above the fireplace) is poorly insulated (noise wise) and can hear any noise from the min living area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We have just returned from a week at Villa 1 Fonte do Mar and it was amazing. There was 8 of us staying all together (2 families) and we had a fantastic time. The villa really does have the wow factor - on entering through the front door you have an amazing view of the sea. (this is just the start of many oohs, aahs and wows! The rooms are all so beautifully designed and each room has a sea view. The furnishings, fittings and decor are all of an incredibly high standard. It is impossible to do this villa justice by looking at photos - it really will blow you away. The owners have thought of everything from DVDs to play station games, blender, coffee machine, BBQ, Docking stations and even fresh flowers in the lift! Our children have now said that they never want to stay at a villa without a lift again! (could be difficult)
When you are by the pool it is so quiet and with the glass screening around the pool, it made you think you were on a very posh cruise liner! We paid extra to have the pool heated which was worth it as the children spent so much time in it.
We had good weather, but did have one day of rain. However, we enjoyed a trip to Funchal.
Marcia (the lady who looks after the villa) is so helpful and efficient. She met us at the agreed time and was so friendly. The villa was spotless and there was a very generous selection of food and drinks that had been left for us.
We went to the Reid's Palace hotel for cocktails one evening and it was worth every penny.
We did not bother to hire a car as there was at least 10 restaurants within 5 mins walk (beware as uphill on the way back)
A truly relaxing holiday in the most amazing surroundings - thank you.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovesangria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

We were the first guests to stay in Fonte do Mar and after a busy school term and an eventful flight over we were all a little stressed by the time we arrived. Not for long though, in our sons words 'it was totally awesome' when we walked into the villa. Ultra contemporary with all the kit we felt like someone had stopped the world and we had got off. Bedrooms are stylishly decorated and comfortable with gorgeous bathrooms, the living area is spacious and sociable with access to the kitchen and the decking which made holiday living with three children extremely easy. We spent most of the time lounging on the wonderful outside sofa listening to music and reading - heaven! When our extended family arrived a few days later to join us, the villa absorbed them brilliantly providing a second en-suite for the adults and a cosy sofa bed in the den for the boys. We found a great Italian within walking distance and hardly scatched the surface of fabulous restaurants in Funchal. There is so much to do in Maderia and not just for the over 60's! it's a well kept secret and Fonte do Mar is the perfect base, thats if you can bring yourself to leave the villa!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

As soon as I walked in through the front door, I was astounded by the sea views from the window. This theme carried on throughout the property with incredible views from every window. The villa is spacious and light with every home comfort provided from flat screen TVs, Playstation, DVDs, a superbly equipped kitchen, games room and even a bar area. I loved the master bedroom suite with its private terrace and amazing sea views, big dressing area with sofa that led into a large ensuite with both shower and bath. The outside space is equally impressive with a large decked terrace, swimming pool, dining area, sofas and sunloungers. Great entertaining space or for just soaking up some rays with a chilled glass of wine!

Within just 2 minutes' walk there is a large selection of great restaurants, hair salon, gift shop, supermarket, greengrocer, dry cleaners, everything is close by! Should you wish to venture into Funchal itself, it's only a few minutes by car.

Loved my stay here and would thoroughly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonicaDoherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Stayed at Fonte Do Mar and were immediately blown away by the stunning view over the Atlantic from the deck and the opulence of the décor and interior.
The main bedroom has an en-suite and private dressing area is extremely spacious, has a large flat screen tv and excellent i-pod docking station, perfect for further relaxation after a hard day lounging on the deck by the pool !!!!
Ideal property for both couples to chill out together, however groups would have ample room to socialise and chat over dinner and a glass of wine.
The property has everything you would need to make you feel at home, from the “snug room” with its large tv and games console to the extremely well equipped kitchen, and we certainly did!
The location is perfect for the both the local supermarkets ( 5 minute walk) and bars and restaurants in the local town. We chose not to hire a car however did not feel that we missed out on doing anything in the surrounding area and you get to appreciate more by walking to the nearby attractions. If you want to venture further afield taxis are inexpensive and English speaking, together with a regular bus service into Funchal itself.
Certainly comes highly recommended by us and would definitely go back at the drop of a hat!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weed30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

We went to Fonte do Mar mid July 2010 for the first time, recommended by friends of ours. This is the first villa holiday we have ever been on, so were not sure what to expect!
When you go into the villa, the first thing you see is a skyline view of the ocean, which is such a great start to your holiday.
The size of the villa was extraordinary, the pictures do not do it justice! It felt like you were in a hotel, but it was all for you!
All of the rooms, which are on the first floor, were all finished to a very high spec and felt very luxurious. The master room has a flat screen TV, Ipod docking station and even its own dressing room with balcony looking over the pool and across to Funchal. All of the rooms were very spacious, had good storage for clothes etc and all had great views.
There was also a snug/games room on the first floor which had a PS3 in, which went down great with the men with a beer when us girls were getting ready for the evening!
On the first floor, was the kitchen, the utility area, and then the main living area. This is nice and open plan, with a seating area, dining area, bar and then lounge with a flat screen TV, Blue Ray player and amazing Ipod docking station to listen to when you are relaxing by the pool! All of downstairs had sliding doors which opens right out onto the pool area.
The pool area is very spacious, has loads of seating/sun bathing space (handy as we had great weather!!) The pool is the perfect size, and was used a lot to cool down in the day, we even used it in the evenings when staying in having BBQs and watching the sunset!
It is a short walk down to the town, where there are supermarkets, and a few restaturants and bars if you want to wander out of an evening. Also Funchal is only a short drive, which has a lovely harbour and promenade, and good restaurants.
All in all, we had a fantastic week staying here and would definitely recommend to anybody, be it a group of friends, couples or families, as it has something for everyone.
Would definitely go back to this villa again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M_Oswin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.0 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#15 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,620 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#13 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,018 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 2,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 736 reviews
0.8 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#10 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,227 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fonte do Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fonte do Mar

Property: Fonte do Mar
Address: Rua Ponta da Cruz | Edifício Centromar, Bloco C, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Funchal
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fonte do Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Fonte Do Mar Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing