We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic seafood”

Akua by Chefe Julio Pereira
Reserve a Table
2
Sat, 10/19
8:00 PM
Ranked #1 of 808 Restaurants in Funchal
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Last night in Funchal we wanted seafood - especially Espada (Scabbard fish) - we found Akua - what a choice.
We wanted to taste Espada (Scabbard Fish) - and even as they only had it as starter on the menu - the food and service turned out to be absolutely excellent.
This is truly a restaurant that you must visit when in Funchal - very very delicious food - from starter to dessert.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lauritsk2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited Akua having ate at Kampo a few days before and it was equally as good. Great food, friendly service and a lovely atmosphere. Great value for money too! We will definitely be going back.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank Esme252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great imaginative food. Have the tuna starter! Young friendly staff who were welcoming and knew their stuff

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank Alice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Fancied some fish and this place had the best reviews, it didn't disappoint. We started with the olives and bread to share. The orange marinade was a pleasure to taste and so unusual for olives yet accompanied them perfectly. The braised tuna melted in the mouth and beautifully paired with a seafood risotto. The desserts are so unusual yet everything has been so well thought out and matched so that the flavours really compliment each other. Finally the staff are so friendly and genuinely want you to have a good time and enjoy your meal. Definitely go, you'd be crazy not to!

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank lauratL6217QH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were 8 people and loved that restaurant and went twice in a week! Everything was delicious - -loved the seafood and the extraordinary deserts .

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akua by Chefe Julio Pereira also viewed

 

Been to Akua by Chefe Julio Pereira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing