We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dolphin Viewing on a Sea the Best catamaran”

VMT Madeira - Catamaran Trips
Book In Advance
More Info
$38.22*
and up
Dolphin and Whale Watching Catamaran Cruise from Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Madeira Catamaran, is one of the most popular boat trips on Madeira island and have been operating since 2003, taking clients out to sea to watch dolphins, whales and turtles in their natural habitat.
Dartmouth
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dolphin Viewing on a Sea the Best catamaran”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

A fantastic three-hour trip. Just as we thought we weren't going to be lucky and see any dolphins, the pilots (who'd been watching through binoculars for signs of them throughout the trip), suddenly killed the engines and told us all where to look. And there they were - a couple, first, leaping out of the water in perfect synchronisation, right by the boat, and then popping up again a little further away, and joined by a juvenile.

The English speaking, friendly crew gave an informative but unobtrusive commentary, which added to the pleasure of the trip. Even if we'd seen no dolphins we had wonderful views of the islands, but in fact we would have been invited to make a second trip free of charge another day for a second chance to see. Highly recommended.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Celia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    646
    245
    30
    17
    6
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The highlight of our holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have been out with this boat before back in September and saw a whale and that was excellent but this trip was amazing.
The sea was very calm which may have helped. We saw spotted dolphins which came around the boat and clearly had fun in the bow waves, the crew thought there could have been up to one hundred or so of them in the area which we could easily believe as us and the other boats were surrounded by them! There were also two Fin whales, probably a mother and calf. The crew were very knowledgeable and gave us information about the whales & dolphins and kept a respectful distance from the whales not staying too long. On our way back we also saw about 6 bottle-nosed dolphins.
There were only a few people on this trip so it almost felt as if we had the boat to ourselves and had an excellent view. We took photographs mainly from the netting at the front of the catamaran where you can get very close to the dolphins who seem as curious about us as we are about them.
The views of Funchal and the mountains is amazing from the sea so worth the trip even if no whales were around. It's a 3 hour trip so very good value for money.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff on Sea, England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“All the other boats followed Sea the best around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

They found the Whales before the other boats out, then the Dolphins first. No Loud Music, plenty of shade, cold beer on tap. A great way to spend new years day or any other day.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek_Rides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very comfy - great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

went on the Sea the Best catamaran end of December - saw plenty of dolphins and a few whales. Staff is very friendly, interesting comments about the animals and views. Boat is quite big and stable so I could hardly feel the waves.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Basia_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What if you see nothing...?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Easy, they obviously do their best to ensure you see something every time you go out, but in the event you see nothing they invite you to come back and try again.

This is such a relaxing 3 hours it is a real pleasure, when you add the excitement of a seeing dolphins and whales the whole mood of the boat lifts.

4 whale and dolphin trips now and 3 out of 4 have been lucky, they claim over 90% success rate and with the offer of a second trip you are almost guaranteed to be lucky.

Give it a try, I am sure you will be delighted.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank micknjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed VMT Madeira - Catamaran Trips also viewed

 
Calheta, Madeira
 

Been to VMT Madeira - Catamaran Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing