We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Restaurant”
Review of A Casa do Vizinho

A Casa do Vizinho
Ranked #99 of 628 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Great restaurant, regional cuisine, romantic atmosphere, outside garden.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Visited this restaurant twice during a recent visit to Funchal (it was our favourite in an area of excellent restaurants. Staff are very friendly, prices maybe one or two euros up on other establishments but in our opinion are well worth it. will certainly visit again when we are next in Madeira.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    78
    30
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We visited this restaurant on our third evening in Funchal, having passed it on previous occasions. We were delighted by the friendly service and especially the food - we were intrigued by the "piglet roll" on the board outside!. It was a delicious, cold surprise, as was Jan's cod wrapped in courgette and my scabbard fish and banana. The wine was a little more expensive than other places, but you're stupid if you're going to compare wine prices with supermarkets. Our meal came to 65 Euros including wine, which we thought very reasonable. We'll be back!

Helpful?
5 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

The food was very poor quality. The house wine tasted like vinegar. The staff overacted. I can't recommend this place at all.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Guido G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Looe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Classically Madeiran.”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

You probably would'nt come across this restaurant while strolling around Funchal, as it's on a side street behind the Regency Club, where we're staying.
We enjoyed a lovely evening there yesterday and sat outside in the courtyard for our meal. The service was very friendly and attentive, the fish soup and the tomato soup both delightful, and the beef espetada main course, which we both had, excellent....and it's not expensive.
We'll definitely return for another meal before we leave the Island.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The new owners must doing something right as this restaurant is much busier than in previous years.

Limited choices on menu, particularly of starters. The chateaubriand is excellent.

Service is friendly and efficient without being overpowering. It is a nice room to dine in or there is a nice enclosed garden for those who like to eat outside.

We visited twice the week we were in Madeira so is must be OK.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BernardSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Casa do Vizinho also viewed

Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to A Casa do Vizinho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing