We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dissapointment after change in ownership.”
Review of A Casa do Vizinho

A Casa do Vizinho
Ranked #102 of 619 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Great restaurant, regional cuisine, romantic atmosphere, outside garden.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A dissapointment after change in ownership.”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The restaurant used to provide excellent food, with that special touch and excellent and intersting vegetables.
The menu remains the same but a new chef sidelined the original chef. The vegetables were watery and uninteresting. The price was the same making a very ordinary meal expensive.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardL971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    77
    28
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sidcup, Kent
Level Contributor
185 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Service”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Visited this place a few years back and liked it. We were staying at the nearby Casino Park Hotel.
The place has been renovated and we believe has new owners. Was a very pleasant meal in nice surroundings. Service was excellent and friendly. Not cheap, but worth it for a special night out. It's down a hidden away little road beside the Casino Park Hotel.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foxycreature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Will eat here again”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Tried this restaurant on our last trip in Feb. Was very happy with the food, value and service - I know because I got the dessert as well! The Creme Brulee being excellent. This was a great spot near to our hotel and the area we like to stay when in Funchal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank locationspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food off the beaten track”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This restaurant is tucked away down a side street (Rua Imperatriz Dona Amelia 74) next to the Pestana Casino Park Hotel in Funchal. It provides both Madeiran and Italian food to a high quality for a reasonalbe price. The staff are helpfull and friendly, even if the service is a bit slow, but you're on holiday so it doesn't matter much. Try the Madeiran pork with chestnuts, their roast fish or pasta dishes; all were excellent and good sized portions. Other diners' plates looked equally good. They included chicken with walnuts and a skewered beef dish which is presented hanging for you to remove and eat as you wish. Vegetables, rice and potatoes are paid for on top but these were only 1 Euro each when we were there as opposed to the 2.5 Euro shown on the website menu. Worth giving it a try; if you are not in the area, any local bus that takes you to the Casino will get you there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dornoch
Level Contributor
95 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“good staff,food disappointing”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had a couple of meals here in August. Expensive, but good. Returning in December, we were really disappointed. Though the welcome was as warm, the price as dear, the standard of the food had deteriorated. The vegetables were dry, as was the meat. For the price we paid (64 euroes) for two coursesand a half bottle of wine, we could have eaten a lot better for a lot less elsewhere. Shame and a waste of good staff.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Willowrowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Casa do Vizinho also viewed

Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to A Casa do Vizinho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing