We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Party to remember”
Review of L'osteria

L'osteria
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
L'osteria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #140 of 628 Restaurants in Funchal
Price range: $12 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Birthday Party to remember”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We booked for the wife's birthday last month, 10 of us, the tables was set up to the side of the restaurant, and for a small charge we had flowers on the table plus a bouquet for the wife. Then as we had booked for 10 people, yes, a birthday cake to finish the evening. We all had different meals, wine, water, tea and coffee, only problem some of the family had to much to eat and were unable to finish their main course! Wonderful evening excellent food, a lasting memory.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithB579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    167
    65
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Skipton
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“I only wish it was more busy”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We returned to L'Osteria (16/08) after several visits in 2013. The service and food was just as good as ever. The 3 course menu at 20 euros per person was excellent value. We will return again during this holiday. The only disappointing thing is that the restaurant is never very busy. This is a shame. If in Madeira we would recommend this restaurant for fresh well coked food unlike some other restaurants in Madeira that serve up processed food and charge high prices.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Birdie2boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Brilliant Deal”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

This place was so good the first time we tried it that we went back a second time to try some of the rest of the menu. The service was excellent and most of the staff spoke very good English. They also do a brilliant deal for a 3 course meal with a bottle of wine and a bottle of water. As not all of the dishes are included in the deal you can still pay a few Euros to upgrade to something more expensive you fancy. We would go back there if we are in Funchal again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank THE_WILLUM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“A pleasant and mellow dining experience”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

A very pleasant mellow dining experience on the patio.The food was high quality and it is good value particularly if you go for the three course meal with drinks included. The pace of the service allows you to savour each course and enjoy a memorable evening. The local fish dish was very ordinary and the onion soup was poor but the sweet dishes were exquisite.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Favourite restaurant in Madeira!”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Top review for l'osteria due to its relaxed atmosphere and if I may... The polvo (octopus) is absolutely out of this world. If I had to choose a last execution supper this would be in my
top 3. Staff very nice and have never had a bad meal here. Wish the food in the UK was this good! Rarely a bad meal in Madeira. This one tops the taste buds chart though and fairly priced. I purposely don't eat octopus anywhere else all week to save myself for this one :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mattb0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'osteria also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to L'osteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing