We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good service”
Review of L'osteria

L'osteria
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
L'osteria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #140 of 628 Restaurants in Funchal
Price range: $12 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Uttoxeter
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good service”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Excellent food very friendly service and good value. Particularly speedy in service.Try the panacotta very good.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank UttoxeterEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    167
    65
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
skipton
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“DINED HERE TWO NIGHTS IN SUCCESSION - CANT BE BAD!!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We have been going to Funchal for many years and each time we have walked past this restaurant with only a glance at the menu. We decided to try it for our dinner last Saturday and WOW what a delight. We chose the mix and match menu which was a choice of each of starter, main course and dessert plus wine, water and coffee and a few more little "extras". The waiters were pleasant, chatty and friendly. We chose the red house wine which was excellent. We commented on the quality of the wine and we were told that a good restaurant should serve good wine. (I am not normally a red wine drinker but this was very drinkable). Perfect starters beautifully presented, delicious main courses of beef tenderloin and stuffed breast of chicken served with perfectly cooked veggies in plentiful proportions (the must know the Brits like their veg!). The desserts were yummy. All in all, an excellent meal in delightful surroundings, so much so we booked a table for last Sunday, the last night of our holiday. Take my advice and don't leave Madeira without dining at this superb restaurant, you won't regret it and we are looking forward to returning on our next holiday. Don't worry if the restaurant is full, there are plenty of tables outside in the delightful courtyard setting.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank omiha1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Return Visit with Friends”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I have visited this charming place before, it still give a very special atmosphere, most enjoyable evening out, in a very special city. This may be difficult to find, but you will not regret it!!!!!
Along with friends from our resort we had the managers special offer, first the bread and then any 3 courses from the main menu. This was one of the most special evenings of out holiday.
The choice is excellent, and all 4 of us had something different, and it was all special.
The spring offer included water and wine, one of us asked for beer and they were only to please to oblige us.
Well worth a visit, do look for the location or have one of the every so cheap taxis on the island.
I will return, and plan to hold my birthday there on my next visit, when the head waiter said he will bake a cake, what service, something very special, we will return for sure.
Ask if the Managers special offer is still on, as it is second to none!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KeithB579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another triumph”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We've visited this Restaurant on many previous occasions as it is one our favourites on the Island. Food and service always of a high standard. The recent introduction of Mix and Match off A La carte , with amuse bouche , 3 courses, full bottle of excellent house wine and water all for 26.50 Euros was fabulous value . Such is the breadth of menu on offer we shall return again this holiday.

No trip to Madeira is truly complete without a visit here. We cannot speak too highly of food and service. The staff are very welcoming

Colin P

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is the second year we have visited Funchal and once again returned to this restaurant five times over our two week holiday, beating last years visit by one. You are always warmly welcomed on arrival and the food is of excellent quality and cooked fresh. The house red is really good value for money along with the extensive menu. Although not the easiest place to find, you just have to try this at least once, and then I'm sure, you will return. Should be ranked much higher than it is, I can only believe the location is holding it back. If there is just one restaurant you must try when on holiday, this is the one. If you just want the set menu at 17 euros, what good value.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'osteria also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to L'osteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing