We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our favourite - do try”
Review of L'osteria

L'osteria
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
L'osteria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #144 of 628 Restaurants in Funchal
Price range: $12 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
leeds UK
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“our favourite - do try”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Liked it so much we went back during the same holiday, which is rare for us. A lovely small dining room, waiter and owner both have excellent English and look after you well. Bread, sparkling wine, a digestif and a home made chocolate are all included in the price, a la carte or E17 for two courses. That menu had a choice of five starters and five mains. Beautifully presented, with fresh vegetables. House wine is very good, and the bill less than E50. Much better than other well reviewed restaurants in the area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank leedsUKLesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    167
    65
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent food and service”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The quality of the food here was immeasurably better than the food on offer at the hotel we stayed at. ( It also cost considerably less!) The service was friendly and quietly professional. The welcoming glass of fizz and the chocolate truffle at the end were delightful touches.

Seek this restaurant out!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Good food, great service, good value.”
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Unprepossessing from the street but inside you get the comlimentary glass of cava followed by attentive service, a good menu and nice, simple, but well prepared and presented food. Straightforward, simple, good food and good value. Euros 50 for 2 including starters, maincourse and a bottle of the house white. Well done.

Helpful?
Thank Roland J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

L'Osteria is still our favourite restaurant in Funchal. The service is friendly and attentive. The food is beautifully cooked and presented. I especially enjoyed the sole followed by crepe suzette - delicious. The complimentary extras, like the glass of sparkling wine to begin the meal,
were very much appreciated. Good value for money. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Marshall48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Still as good as ever.”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We have visited L'Osteria a number of times over the last few years and went twice on our recent Madeira holiday. We had the same friendly welcome on both occasions, a glass of complimentary fizz and 'nice to see you again' even though it was a year since our previous visit. The interior is tasteful and intimate with relaxed but attentive service. We had the chef's selection menu on the first visit (17euro for 2 courses, 4 or 5 choices for each) and had a la carte on the second. Both times the food was excellent as was the house wine. The complimentary treats kept coming, first a small glass of homemade fruit liqueur after the main course (the rum,port and forest fruits one was delicious) and then truffles at the end of the meal. My partner declined hers as they were rolled in coconut which she dislikes, a few moments later the waiter brought her some plain ones instead. A nice touch. We've tried a number of different restaurants in Funchal and think this is one of the best. If you're staying in the Lido area give it a try.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mood64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'osteria also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to L'osteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing